We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disturbing experience” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montgomery Hotel

Montgomery Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sheffield
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Montgomery Hotel
Ranked #26 of 33 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Disturbing experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2011

My single room was not the one shown on the hotel website. It had a very small, high window which compelled the use of artificial light at all times; the shower stall opened directly into the room and had no little shelf for toiletries nor nearby rail or hook for towels; similarly there was nowhere for a towel by the basin (on the other side of the bedroom); the WC was in a separate cubical. Basic toiletries were provided but the towels were (as is all too usual in hotels at all grades) far too small.

The full English breakfast was cooked to order and much better than I expected after seeing the room.

On my second, and final, night, I was woken at around 3 am by the noise of people knocking on doors (not mine!) and talking in the corridor. I got the impression of a group having to rise early to catch a plane or meet some other early morning appointment. When I told the receptionist she seemed surprised but did not seem at all concerned and did not feel an expression of regret was appropriate. All the staff I dealt with were friendly enough but seemed very new and inexperienced.

The hotel manager told me the hotel had been undergoing upgrading and re-branding since he took over. He was very helpful to me with information related to my business in the city and took me out in his car to explain its geography. It is this exceptional action by the manager which saved what was otherwise a rather unpleasant stay in the Montgomery Hotel.

Room Tip: I was in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CliffWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    20
    3
    4
    10
See reviews for
8
16
10
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2011

Stayed for a Saturday night. The new owners have done a good job of refurbishing what was by all accounts a very run-down place. Rooms not huge but intelligent use of space, so ours didn't feel cramped. Nice old stone house in a leafy quiet road in Sheffield, friendly staff, much more character than a Travelodge. Newly decorated double room en suite with full English breakfast for just under £50 (via bookdirectrooms.com). Would certainly book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSarah75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2011

We had stayed here several years ago when it was the Nether Edge & it was OK, but the decor was very tired & the comfy seats in the bar were the type that "ate you up" as you sat down in them!!
What a lovely change- the seating has been replaced in the bar & breakfast room; the bedrooms have had a make-over, such a big improvement:-)
What really made it for us was the care & attention to detail, by Frank the chef/barman. Having been unable to find a suitable restaurant in town we decided to eat at the hotel & try the "bar meals". Frank set us a table in the bay window of the breakfast room so it was like having our own private space for our anniversary/birthday celebration. Our friends were as impressed with the service as we were so well done to the Montgomery & we hope to make a return visit before too long.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank catkin1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We had our wedding reception here in June after the work to redo the hotel was under way. Our guests who stayed in the hotel all commented on the lovely little touches in the rooms , with nice pictures and flowers. The food was excellent, all home made. We cannot fault it in any way . Sarah and Tyrone made our special day perfect and we cannot thank them enough. Nothing was too much trouble and they are very organised and professional.We would recommend it to any one, for parties, weddings or just an overnight stay. Good food, pub prices for drinks, not the usual rip off rates, close to the city centre, what more do you need !! Disregard any of the previous reviews on the hotel. The new management have made this a pleasure to stay in.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Salvati_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

Would like to thank staff at the Montgomery hotel for making my daughter's birthday party such a successful occasion. Many family members and friends have commented on how much they enjoyed it and how comfortable the venue was. Good atmosphere, friendly helpful staff, excellent food. Will definitely use again and recommend. Thank you Sarah and best wishes with the developments ahead. Jill

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Jill186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, East Yorks
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Stayed at this hotel over the weekend as somewhere close to the city centre whilst attending a gig in Sheffield. Staff very helpful, attempting to re-let an overbooked room for us and arranging taxis (aprox £5 fare into city) etc...Was informed that is now under new ownership and has been fully refurbished. Will definitely stay again should I require a good value B&B for an overnight stay in Sheffield. Many thanks to the staff!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank njw78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2011

We booked this hotel last year for our wedding in September 2011, as we are on a tight budget we decided we would make do as it didn't seem as bad as the reviews stated but we warned people it was run down and didn't advise people to stay. We went last night to confirm details and met the new management. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!! Within 6 weeks of taking over it looks like a new hotel, there is still work to do but if what has already been done is anything to go by this will be a fantastic hotel. The efficiency, enthusiasm and understanding of Sarah was a breath of fresh air. The bedrooms are now clean and more modern, the bar is having new drinks introduced including real ales and the place in general looks bright and welcoming. We can't wait for our wedding reception now and are definately recommending the hotel for people staying overnight.

Room Tip: Tell them exactly what you're looking for
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank happynow46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
1.6 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#33 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montgomery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montgomery Hotel

Property: Montgomery Hotel
Address: 21-23 Montgomery Road | Nether Edge, Sheffield S7 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Hotel Class:3 star — Montgomery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing