We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain, but sufficient with friendly staff.”
Review of Montgomery Hotel

Montgomery Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Montgomery Hotel
Ranked #25 of 32 Sheffield B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 September 2011

This is not a luxurious hotel, rather a conveniently located rest stop in a pleasant part of the city. The facilities are simple but fine for the needs of many. The staff were all very friendly and attentive. The room was nice and comfortable.

Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyMcGonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2011

I was satisfied with our stay here. Rooms lovely and clean. Staff really helpful/friendly. Breakfast superb The only complaint is the room was a bit hot & stuffy. Only one of the sash windows would open. Could do with a fan in the room. I would and will stay here again

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lizmulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We enjoyed a very leisurely stay in a lovely hotel set in a good location, not far from main attractions. The staff were very friendly and helpful, making you feel part of their family. Our room was excellent and the food was good too! Very good value for money. If we are in Sheffield again, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonandJennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

On arrival at the Hotel the staff were friendly and very helpful. I had been booked into a single room but was immediately upgraded to larger double at no extra cost. The room was a decent size, clean and comfortable. The full english breakfast with a choice of cereals, yoghurt and fruit was served promptly and of a good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smithy1844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

For once the room looked like the picture on the website! Newly decorated and spotlessly clean with nice touches like matching cushions and a throw, bedding was good quality cotton.
The breakfast was the full English Monty - it really did keep us going 'til lunchtime.
The staff were very professional, knowledgeable and helpful.
It was much better value for money than the chain hotels, a place we really will come back to again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LCAS04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

This hotel is in a pleasant area within walking distance of the city- (about half an hour) Our room was clean and comfortable but not as trendy as some on the website. However the staff were outstandingly helpful and friendly. It was good value at £49 for b and b.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annadale0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2011

My single room was not the one shown on the hotel website. It had a very small, high window which compelled the use of artificial light at all times; the shower stall opened directly into the room and had no little shelf for toiletries nor nearby rail or hook for towels; similarly there was nowhere for a towel by the basin (on the other side of the bedroom); the WC was in a separate cubical. Basic toiletries were provided but the towels were (as is all too usual in hotels at all grades) far too small.

The full English breakfast was cooked to order and much better than I expected after seeing the room.

On my second, and final, night, I was woken at around 3 am by the noise of people knocking on doors (not mine!) and talking in the corridor. I got the impression of a group having to rise early to catch a plane or meet some other early morning appointment. When I told the receptionist she seemed surprised but did not seem at all concerned and did not feel an expression of regret was appropriate. All the staff I dealt with were friendly enough but seemed very new and inexperienced.

The hotel manager told me the hotel had been undergoing upgrading and re-branding since he took over. He was very helpful to me with information related to my business in the city and took me out in his car to explain its geography. It is this exceptional action by the manager which saved what was otherwise a rather unpleasant stay in the Montgomery Hotel.

Room Tip: I was in room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CliffWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.8 mi away
Brocco on the Park
Brocco on the Park
#1 of 32 in Sheffield
227 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
9.0 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#32 of 53 in Sheffield
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montgomery Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montgomery Hotel

Address: 21-23 Montgomery Road | Nether Edge, Sheffield S7 1LN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 B&Bs / Inns in Sheffield
Hotel Class:3 star — Montgomery Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Montgomery Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing