We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Local”

The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #13 of 1,605 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$36
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Stag Restaurant is a bright and spacious dining area located within the Devonshire Arms. The Bar brings together the comfort of a country pub with barista-class coffee, premium beers & ales, a fine selection of wines & champagnes, a premium spirit and gin menu and bespoke cocktails – a characteristic pub with a warm and cosy environment. The whole venue showcases exclusive furniture from PugiiPug a local reclaimed furniture company. With a newly built children's play ground and ample seating for up to 80 people, this area is delightful to eat and drink in, whether you are relaxing after a long walk in the countryside, or just here to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere. Newly refurbished terraced areas to the front and side of the building providing an area to relax and unwind on summer days. With ample seating for up to 80 people, this area is delightful to eat and drink in, whether you are relaxing after a long walk in the countryside, or just here to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere.
Reviewed 30 January 2018

The Dev..... Our new local that is such a little gem! Cocktails are amazing and carefully crafted, very good selection of wine also, the food is top notch (especially the homemade pizzas and new sharing plates), service is always efficient and the ambience is lovely. The wood burner and cosy seats are the best!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank amckay93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (268)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 170 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2018

I think I've lost count of the amount of times I've gone to a pub that does food, ordered something and been bitterly disappointed. As well as out of pocket!

So it was great to finally go to a place that not only looks the part but can deliver on it's promise of serving great food.

The food menu choice was excellent (I was struggling to make a choice) as was the drinks menu. Fantastic reds on offer as well as a great lager and beer selection on tap.

Staff were friendly, place was spotless, great atmosphere and great food. Can't go wrong at that! Would definitely recommend this place!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank skav84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Each year I invite a few selected clients and friends for a meal, usually in January.
The Devonshire Arms filled my venue choice criteria for a number of reasons -

- a cosy retreat in the winter (I can imagine the outside areas are gorgeous for summer food and drink as well).
- home cooked food.
- friendly staff.
- great drink selection.
- reasuringley not cheap, plus not too pricey either.

The Devonshire Arms ticked all the above boxes - and more.
Thank you to everyone there - my guests and I had a magnificent time!
Roop Mullins - Doub7e Seven Events

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Roop M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018 via mobile

We visited in a large party for a friends birthday celebrations.The staff were really accommodating from booking right through to the day including a last minute date change due to ill health!The food is delicious,all of us throughly enjoyed it and will certainly be visiting again soon!

1  Thank Leanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2018

Had a great time service was very good .

friendly atmosphere

good food

large wine list

competitive prices

    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank j0hnpr0udf00t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire Arms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing