We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just round the corner”

The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #14 of 1,608 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$35
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Stag Restaurant is a bright and spacious dining area located within the Devonshire Arms. The Bar brings together the comfort of a country pub with barista-class coffee, premium beers & ales, a fine selection of wines & champagnes, a premium spirit and gin menu and bespoke cocktails – a characteristic pub with a warm and cosy environment. The whole venue showcases exclusive furniture from PugiiPug a local reclaimed furniture company. With a newly built children's play ground and ample seating for up to 80 people, this area is delightful to eat and drink in, whether you are relaxing after a long walk in the countryside, or just here to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere. Newly refurbished terraced areas to the front and side of the building providing an area to relax and unwind on summer days. With ample seating for up to 80 people, this area is delightful to eat and drink in, whether you are relaxing after a long walk in the countryside, or just here to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere.
Reviewed 2 February 2018

We had not visited the Devonshire for a long time. I checked out reviews on trip advisor and realised it had been under new ownership since August 2017. The reviews were excellent so we decided to return as it within a mile of where we live.This last week we have visited three times . We dined in the restaurant on the first occasion., lovely ambience. We chose to dine in the bar on the second occasion , relaxing and warm feel . Then last night we were in the cosy room with the log fire for the pub quiz. Add to this a warm welcome on each occasion and excellent food , what more could you want from your local . I note the comments made by the previous reviewer that they were not disturbed by the pub quiz, so I think it may have been a blessing that the microphone system failed and the questions were read out without the use of a microphone. It made for a more intimate experience for us quizzers without affecting the other diners in the restaurant. Yes we did have fun and everyone was very friendly. Looking forward to our first Sunday lunch since new owners took over which we have already booked.

Thank CAROLT139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Hi carol glad you enjoyed your 3 visits and really glad you enjoyed the quiz night (it was our first attempt) we will certainly upping our game for the next one

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

161 - 165 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2018

Utterly brilliant!

I've been here since the new management took over for drinks previously but tonight we decided to order food. We only shared a pizza but I cannot wait to come for the Tuesday pizza night as it was fantastic fresh, homemade pizza, served quickly. u to Beth and Charlotte for the great service. We had wine with our food which was chosen from a large selection of all wine types in which we really enjoyed.
In the bar there was a quiz happening which I wish we were apart of!! It looked fun, popular and even had people up on there feet! The noise couldn't be heard from the restaurant which was nice for us and other diners.

Not a fault, can't wait to return once again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank c1j4h09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

We tried the sharing plates, WOW the flavors and presentation were to die for, never knew that even 3 Yorkshire puddings could have so many different tastes and textures to this meal. Would say the Black pudding Bon Bons was Favorite. Service was great and the atmosphere was very warm and welcoming, which is all i could ask for. well done to team there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank mckevitt401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2018

Tucked away down a country lane this is a proper old English pub/restaurant, great atmosphere the food is amazing and staff are very pleasant.
well worth a five star rating

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ianwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

Absoutley amazing

Visited this pub on the Saturday lunchtime in between Christmas and New Year to catch up with friends. Variety of food was great and so much choice. Staff were very attentive and service spot on.

We visited again on New Years Eve. What a great evening. Again the food, staff and entertainment was sublime. Can't wait for the rooms to be refurbished so we can back to visit.

All in all we could not fault our visits and will definitely be returning. Thanks to all the staff for their hard work and for making our visits so special.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joannewatmough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire Arms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing