We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmosphere and decor a winner!🏆”

The Devonshire Arms
Ranked #16 of 1,619 Restaurants in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$35
Cuisines: British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Stag Restaurant is a bright and spacious dining area located within the Devonshire Arms. The Bar brings together the comfort of a country pub with barista-class coffee, premium beers & ales, a fine selection of wines & champagnes, a premium spirit and gin menu and bespoke cocktails – a characteristic pub with a warm and cosy environment. The whole venue showcases exclusive furniture from PugiiPug a local reclaimed furniture company. With a newly built children's play ground and ample seating for up to 80 people, this area is delightful to eat and drink in, whether you are relaxing after a long walk in the countryside, or just here to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere. Newly refurbished terraced areas to the front and side of the building providing an area to relax and unwind on summer days. With ample seating for up to 80 people, this area is delightful to eat and drink in, whether you are relaxing after a long walk in the countryside, or just here to enjoy the beautiful atmosphere.
Reviewed 22 April 2018 via mobile

As you enter the place you are welcomed by a magnificent setting. Sitting at our table we had a wonderful view of the bar and kitchen where you can see the chefs.

Great price for the food and drinks and the attentive service. We had a pleasant dining experience. For this reason I highly recommend going to The Devonshire Arms.

Thanks to the ownerand staff for the wonderful dining experience. The four of us all had an amazing time. The restaurant and bar area was so comfortable, ✅the food delicious absolutely spectacular. Our waitress was just wonderful. Looking forward to the hotel. What a great place!

Anthony

1  Thank ace01142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 79 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Super service, Kate was the hostess with the mostest!
Lovely food, great atmosphere, will certainly return.

Thank you team.

Thank stainless083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

Lovely decor and well lit. Sat in the private room for a family meal. We enjoyed being able to use the Alexa. Food was okay. I had the chilli which was a small portion and didn't have much flavour I was happy when someone else on the table didn't finish their food so I could eat theirs. My partner really enjoyed his steak though we realised half way through they'd mixed the steaks up and given them to the wrong people, we carried on as it was so yummy anyway. We were given a side we didn't order then they forgot the olives and peppercorn sauce, we decided to leave it and just ask for it off the bill which wasn't a problem. We also had a side of mushrooms on the bill that were never ordered, when we tried to contest it they argued we had and left it on the bill. We weren't checked on during the meal til we had finished except one. Nobody asked if we needed any sauces so when they finished bringing the food we didn't realise and were still expecting more sides. The hollumi fries were delicious and bread plentiful. Dissapointed with amount of hummus given. Burger was very plain but actually the meat tasted very good. Basically a mixed bag. Could be better to match up to the lovely enviroment and more attention to detail from the staff who were still absolutly lovely and friendly.

12  Thank Ali v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Good Morning Ali

Thank you for your review

We are all disappointed with your obvious poor experience Sorry the chilli was not up to your expectations and sorry the steaks were mixed up The side you didn't order was a complete mix up (the mushrooms and olives were our mistake) equally sorry you dont feel the humus was enough Really not sure of "Burger very plain" ???

However my staff are absolutely insistent you were asked if you required sauces As for your comment "we were not checked on during the meal" our CCTV clearly shows staff visited your party several times during your meal

My staff and I do our utmost to please, we clearly let you down please accept our apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2018

There was a time when the "Devonshire Arms" was right at the very top of restaurants in the Sheffield area. Then it changed hands and nose dived; "crashed" was probably more accurate. However time marches on and friends recommended that we should go back so we did.
A grim, wet, miserable night but the car park was full and so was the "Devonshire" - the place was packed, always a good sign. Service was friendly but slow; a couple who arrived after we did were served well before us. Ah well! Hummus starter that we'd asked to serve three but only enough for one. Main courses were mixed - salmon was bland and the serving on gnocchi just didn't work for us. Excellent steak, cooked to perfection but accompanied by leaves which we'd specifically asked that it should not.
All told not a bad evening by any means and the "Devonshire" is clearly very popular but a bit more attention to detail would help.
Sunday lunches are reckoned to be first rate so perhaps one for the future.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
14  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Good Morning Richard

Thank you for taking time to leave me a review So sorry you thought the service was slow and equally very sorry you were Q jumped in the service of food
Really sorry re the Humous and obviously disappointed you didn't enjoy the salmon dish (it is a very popular dish and my wife's favourite)
Glad you enjoyed your Steak and again apologies on the serving of leaves

Hope you return and enjoy our Sunday lunch

My team and I work tirelessly to ensure every customer leaves happy and appreciate feed back so we can learn from our mistakes

If you wish to send me an email with a bit more detail on slow service i would appreciate that

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2018 via mobile

Just turned up with a friend so hadn’t booked. Even though it was busy the staff made us very welcome. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The surroundings are beautiful and relaxing. Service was excellent. The food delightful. Very good portions so unable to manage dessert. Will definitely return but will book as I would hate to be disappointed .

Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
topowl54, Owner at The Devonshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your experience. Hope to see you again soon. Please check out our facebook page for updates

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Devonshire Arms also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Devonshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing