We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant ambience”
Review of Coal Grill and Bar

Coal Grill and Bar
Ranked #695 of 1,440 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: Bar, Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Pleasant ambience”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Sat inside away from mall crowds, near the balcony, it was sunny outside so was very pleasant. Decided on the 2 course menu, I chose bruschetta for starter which was one piece of toast and topping with lettuce on the side, very tasty but could have eaten more. Main was cod and pancetta fish cakes, Served with plain lettuce leaves and chips. Fishcakes overcooked but were nice inside, shame there wasn't a few more ingredients to the salad, Also got tartar sauce. My partner had taco with pulled pork, he liked it, very tasty. He had chicken, again with salad leaves and chips. Overall good value. Service was ok, waited a fair time between courses. Would go again but would pick from main menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    107
    73
    70
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“disappointing poor service”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Having eaten here numerous times I decided to have lunch here with my daughter, how I wish I'd not bothered! We waited 15 minutes for our drinks then we we given large flat diet coke, we ordered the yorkshire pudding with slow cooked braised steak, the meat was fatty the frozen peas were hard and how someone can burn a frozen yorkshire pudding is beyond me! The waitress who used to work there was always friendly, the one who served us never smiled never asked if everything was ok, never again it was overpriced they have lost a valued customer

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coal C, Guest Relations Manager at Coal Grill and Bar, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
We are all extremely sorry to hear that this particular visit, having enjoyed Coal, Meadowhall many times before, did not meet your expectations.

We have a very experienced and friendly team who have been with the company for many years and are passionate about what they do.

As a loyal customer we would love to have you back. Please pop in or phone ahead and let us know you are coming and Jo, the branch manager, will make sure your faith in the restaurant is restored.

Kind regards
Customer Service Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
261 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Drinks”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Called in coal for a nice chilled catch up with my friend,we sat in the bar area and had a lovely comfy sofa,a very pleasant atmosphere and nice music,the staff are very friendly and helpfull,my only complaint is the price of the drinks, a bottle of rose Zinfandel was £20!! Although it was delicious and we had another bottle I found this was a little expensive for meadow hall.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
278 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Good food after a long day shopping”
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Great place to take a load off and have a decent meal after a long day shopping. We visited on a Sunday evening and took advantage of the very reasonable 3 course menu for less than £15 per head. Good, fresh tasting food but service could have been a little quicker, but overall a good time was had

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well Worth It!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Visited on a Sunday evening before the cinema. The service was fast and friendly, very attentive - nothing was too much trouble for them.
The food came out in faster time than we were expecting, and it was delicious food & presented so beautifully.
Loved the fact you could see the kitchen & the staff actively cleaning when they didn't have food to cook.
Will definitely be coming again!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank JoBS70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coal Grill and Bar also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Coal Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing