We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Experience of a Bygone age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Experience of a Bygone age”
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Absolutley stunning hotel. We spent our wedding anniversary in an executive room no.206 The Chatsworth. The decor was stunning and regal with modern touches. We picked the hottest night of the year to stay so did miss air con. Breakfast in the ornate restaurant was a pleasurable experience. The staff were very polite and professional. The bar area has real charecter but was very quiet for a friday night. take the stairs instead of the lift and you will marvel at victorian decor at its best. The doors on the landing need a coat of paint but other than that its a very good hotel. We stayed at the Ritz in january, and for me this was just as good. All for £99 via late rooms. We were eating in Sheffield , by all means walk there but get a taxi back, the castlemarket area has loads of dodgy chavs when the sun goes down.

Room Tip: chatsworth room 206
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dave n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 26 July 2013
Dear dave n

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria and to read your comments that you found our hotel stunning.

As a hotel we have the benefit of begin a Grade II listed property and still maintain all the period features but offer all modern conveniences.

Thank you once again for your review.

I hope we can welcome you back to Sheffield in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    362
    175
    78
    38
See reviews for
175
319
51
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Thanks for a really great response when my company booked me in for the wrong night. The front desk didn't bat an eyelash and just rearranged the booking for the correct night and then gave me a great room. No fuss despite being very busy. It really made my stay in Sheffield that bit better - which always helps when you're away on business. I made sure I completed the survey to acknowledge such good service and even received a thank you email from the manager.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 481SoJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear 481SoJ

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that our reception team corrected any errors with your booking; we appreciate the circumstances that can occur with making reservations.

I shall be passing your comments onto the reception team, which I am sure they will be excited to hear.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Sheffield on your next visit.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

All of the staff were really helpful and friendly, its a grand building from a bygone age with a lot of history, its a shame that some of the wonderful photos of its connections with the old station are hidden behind plants and a TV screen. We stayed on a really hot weekend and the lack of air conditioning was very obvious, but we did have a fan in the bedroom. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, served by very attentive staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IainD355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear IainD

Thank you for taking the time out to review our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff very friendly and helpful. I shall be passing your comments onto the staff.

We do realize the current temperatures can be uncomfortable at times but we do provide fans in all bedrooms and our housekeeping team ensure curtains are drawn to keep the rooms as cool as possible.

I do hope we can welcome you back in the near future on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We checked in quite late on a Saturday and the receptionist told us we had been upgraded as there was a wedding on, this was great news to us! We went up to our room (301) and it was a lovely room with a HUGE bed, there was no view but this didn't bother us. The room was lovely but it was a hot sunny day but there was a floor fan which turned out to be a godsend.
We had booked to eat in the restaurant and we arrived and were greeted by a lovely waitress called Nicole. We ordered some wine which was very nice and the service of the staff was exceptional. We ordered our food and I had asparagus starter and salmon for my main, unfortunately as we eat out a lot I was expecting the food to be of a higher standard. My salmon was very bland as was the asparagus, I did mention this to Nicole who then passed my comments onto the manager Tom who came straight over to chat to me. I told him that I had not really enjoyed the food and he stood chatting it over with me and was clearly concerned and was very keen to rectify the problem. He said he would pass all my comments onto the chef and they would look into this further. We ordered a dessert and Tom sent us 3 mini puddings so we could try a few out as we couldn't decide on which to have, they were gorgeous! The overall presentation of all the meals were lovely and when we came to pay Tom had waiver-ed the cost of my meal and the desserts which we thought was very good of him to do! The staff in the restaurant were great and very attentive, I really couldn't fault them. As an extra we received a letter from the manager of the hotel this morning saying all my comments had been taken on board and they have addressed this with the chef, they said they will strive to continue to serve exceptional food at the hotel! It was a lovely letter and nice to see how serious they take customers comments!
We had a lovely nights sleep, the hotel was lovely and quiet even though a wedding was on. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: 301, no view but lovely big big and lovely bathroom. Nice and quiet too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KarenDowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear KarenDowns

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Your comments were excellent and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria.

It is always an extras pleasure when guests single of employees and I shall pass your comments onto Nicole and Tom.

I am pleased that our staff were efficient and solved any issues that you had with your evening meal.

Thank you once again for your review, I do hope we can welcome you back to our hotel on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
122 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

The whole experience from start to finish was very enjoyable. The reception staff we met were very friendly and the check-in process was very quick and efficient. The room was lovely, spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was very large and spacious, with only one small niggle that there was not enough hanging rails for towels.
We had a wonderful meal on our first night in the restaurant, it took us ages to choose as there was so much we wanted to try. We were not disappointed as everything was excellent. The staff in the dining room both for evening meal and breakfasts were very polite, friendly and knowledgably. We had afternoon tea on the second day which was very scrumptious. On the second night after having afternoon tea we only had a bar snack in the cocktail lounge, this was very tasty and in pleasant surroundings.
We left feeling that we would want to come back to stay. Only small grumble, nothing on website says about parking charges, this should be pointed out so not a shock.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear patsytlandin

Thank for your review of our hotel.

I was delighted to read that you found your stay enjoyable. I have noted your excellent comments about dinner and shall be passing this onto the chefs and restaurant staff.

I took extra pleasure in seeing the pictures of the afternoon tea and that you felt it was scrumptious.

Thank you once again, and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hexham
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

A good hotel for a short stay and good value for money. Staff were excellent, friendly, helpful, thoroughly professional. The hotel looked a bit careworn in places. Our room had chips out of the plaster board by one of the beds and the windo was difficult to open on a baking hot day and night. Had it not been for the fan we would have had a very unpleasant night's sleep. Otherwise the beds were very comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolsoriginalprints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear carolsoriginalprints

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I am glad to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria.

I have noted your comments, and we have plans of refurbishment in the public areas and bedrooms beginning with new furniture in the grand lounge bar.

Thank you once again for taking the time to review our hotel.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed in this hotel a couple of weeks ago and couldnt believe how wonderful the staff were. I was upgraded to a better room on arrival and the receptionist Paige went out of her way to help with my enquiries. The room was lovely and the shower was fab! I stay in hotels all the time as part of my job, but this has been the best ever, very impressed indeed, The breakfast was second to none, absolutely outstanding service, just hope I get to vcisit Sheffield again, so I can book this hotel once more. Well Done Holiday Inn Sheffield Keep up the amazing service!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 19 July 2013
Dear Al174

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. I was so pleased to read that you found our hotel the best ever.

Your comments are exceptional and I shall be passing all you have said onto the team, I am sure they will be delighted to hear your thoughts especially Paige.

I do hope we can welcome you back on your next visit to Sheffield.

Best wishes

Hermann Beck
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,549 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing