We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wasnt as good as i had hoped”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wasnt as good as i had hoped”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

visited last weekend lovely looking building with loads of character but front of house staff could have been more pleasant, but any how the rooms wasn't to bad although tired and had to laugh when removing the towels for a shower when the towel rad wasn't actually plumbed in at all nor wired in ha ho perhaps they over looked that when they refitted the bath rooms. And couldn't use the main bars all weekend as they had private events taking place witch seemed to take priority over us normal guests. over all wasn't to bad but wouldn't rush to return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carl h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Carl H
Thank you very much for your review. We were sorry to learn that although you liked our characterful hotel, you had been a little disappointed with some aspects of your stay. We apologise that the Grand Lounge was not available for you to use during your stay. On occasions when we have a large function in the Ballroom the Grand Lounge area is used by the function guests and we provide the Cocktail Bar for our residents to ensure that that they still receive good service. We do hope that you will stay at the hotel again if you are in the Sheffield area. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    360
    175
    78
    34
See reviews for
174
316
50
299
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marsascala, Malta
Level Contributor
63 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a 2 night stay here, love the history of the building. The room had a big comfy bed and nice big towels. We didn't realise that there are still smoking rooms in hotels! We booked one by accident so needless to say our room had a stale smoke smell which wasn't very pleasant so bear this in mind when booking! The doors in the hotel are a nightmare! They must be fire doors so whenever someone on your corridor enters or leaves their rooms the door slams with an almighty boom! There was about 20-25 rooms in our corridor so we didn't get much sleep Sunday morning! There was a function going on in the main bar so we had drinks in the "Cocktail bar" it was a nice room but very cold! Breakfast isn't included but can be purchased for £12.50pp. The staff were friendly but I wouldn't stay here again simply because of the noisy corridors and earthshaking doors!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Emma W
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased that you liked our historic old hotel and found your bed comfy. We do still have 6 smoking rooms left in the hotel and we are sorry that you booked one in error, however, we are sure that if you had mentioned this to reception they would have done their best to find you an alternative non-smoking room. We also apologise if you were disturbed by noise from a fire door. This certainly should not have been the case and we have already asked our Property Manager to investigate and take any remedial action necessary. We do hope that you will take the opportunity to stay with us again the next time you are in the area and when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

We arrived very early on Saturday morning....10.15a.m. went to reception to enquire about car parking arrangements, to our surprise there was a room available & we were booked in immediately excellent service. Apart from the very rowdy drunken idiots who attempted to wake the entire floor up at 4.00 a.m.,5.00a.m,& 6.00a.m. on Sunday morning we had a very good stay (Sunday night was peaceful!). Standard Holiday Inn room etc, spotlessly clean all the facilities you would expect.Hotel is quite central just a short walk past the market into the city centre.Easy parking £5/night don't like paying to park at a hotel but i suppose it's a reasonable charge.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ishywoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Ishywood
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel and its facilities. Please accept our apologies for the inconsiderate behaviour of a few of our other guests and we hope it did not detract too much from your enjoyment. We do hope you will get the opportunity to stay with us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
150 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We weren't resident but came for afternoon tea. Beautiful building with high ceilings and stunning stained glass. We were served most efficiently by Borys who served us with a lovely G and T with cucumber to start. Next came an action packed cake stand with lovely crust less egg mayo, smoked salmon and cheese and cucumber sandwiches. All lovely and fresh with generous fillings. Then large scones with jam, butter and cream. Top layer was chocolate brownie, Bakewell tart and Victoria sponge. I would have liked my scone warm (but that's because I am a scone addict!). We chose earl grey tea which was loose leaf and from a teapot that actually poured. Very good effort indeed. Great value for money. Definitely genteel enough surroundings for a special occasion. Go on spoil yourself! ;)

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shefftrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Shefftrip
Thank you very much for your review and your kind comments about your recent visit to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria, Sheffield. We were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed having afternoon tea in our historic old building and we do hope that you get the chance to 'spoil yourself' again and that we can welcome you back in the near future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

Grand, imposing building, in a prominent position. Stayed here for 3 nights, 2 of which were classed as Chatsworth Break. Given room in annexe, overlooking entrance to hotel. Spacious twin room with 2 double beds and choice of pillows. Buffet breakfast was good - wide choice. Evening meal (as part of the break) was very good, well presented and flavoursome. All staff were friendly and attentive. Ideal location for walking into Sheffield city centre (5 minutes) or driving into Peak District only a few miles away. Car parking charge of £5 per day for hotel guests. Vehicular access to the hotel is confusing, first time round - after that it is quite simple!

Room Tip: The annexe rooms overlooking the hotel entrance are quieter. First floor rooms in the annexe are sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aldo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Dear Aldo17
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay,liked the hotel and your visit to the nearby Peak District. We do hope that if you are staying in the area again you will choose our hotel. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

This is a excellent holiday inn for having day trips to peak district national park. We stayed for 3 nights and the overall experience was wonderful. Comfy beds and there are some good takeaways nearby if you would like to eat outside.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Priyanka V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Priyanka V
Thank you very much for your review. We were so pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay and found your bedroom comfortable and the breakfast good. We do hope that if you visit the area again you will choose to stay at the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

Staff friendly, bit tired in places but currently getting renovated, nice and central, nice to stay somewhere old, but I booked it through hotwire secret hotels and what a complete rip off they are could have got a better deal booked direct from hotel, would stay again although hard to find the entrance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue5EastYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Sue5eastyorkshire
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you found the staff friendly and helpful and you liked the hotel. It is an historic old building which is currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment to the bedrooms and public areas. We do hope that you will choose to stay with us again when we can assure you of our best attention at all times.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,091 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing