We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely building.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Lovely building.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed here one night only with a coach tour. My room was comfortable, roomy and clean. The bed had a choice of soft or firm pillows, there was plenty of towels, a fan, safe, ice-bucket and trouser press. Tissues and toiletries in the bathroom, shower over bath. I had a double bed to myself and some friends in a twin room each had a double bed!! The evening meal had various choices for us and was well cooked and presented and breakfast seemed to cater for all tastes! The only drawback that many of us commented upon was the dining room was tooooo hot, radiators were far too high even for December. I have stayed in Sheffield before and I would judge that the Crucible is about 20min walk awy.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank silcof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear Silcof

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and liked your room and the facilities. We are sorry if you found it a little warm in the restaurant for your liking. We do hope you will choose to stay again when you are next in Sheffield. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    356
    174
    78
    33
See reviews for
174
307
50
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liversedge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

stayed here for a works xmas party and the overall experience was very good. Hotel is old, original and classic keeping some great features and decor to recall the days when Queen Victoria and QEII stayed here themselves. My room was an exec room and had great facilities and spotles clean but was very cramped and some of the furniture could do with upgrading. The stair case is lovely and was worth using as the lift was a fright to use with bangs and bumps and even stopped mid floor.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jenashbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear Jenashbel
Thank you very much for your review, we were pleased to read that you liked staying in our historic old hotel and we hope you enjoyed your works Christmas party. We were sorry hear you didn't like using the lift but we can assure that it is regularly serviced and well looked after. We hope you will get the chance to stay again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

Great value for money, clean and located in a good part of sheffield. Would recommend this to anyone going fora brief visit to sheffield. Bar area was well presented and fairly priced. Breakfast was also good value for money. Room was spacious and well presented.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jhanley8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear jhanley8

Thanks vey much for your review. We were really pleased to read that your had enjoyed your stay and that you liked the hotel. We hope we can welcome you back soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

I have stayed in this hotel on several occasions. As an IHG Platinum Card holder I generally get a room upgrade - I wasn't able to last time, but the reception staff advised me email enquiring if I could and this seemed to do the trick - I think they allocated me one of the best rooms they have!
Check was slick and very professional. The room was superb - it had it's own entrance hall/dressing room - a very large bathroom with superb double ended spa bath - just what was needed after a long drive from London! The fittings were excellent quality, the furniture in the bedroom was excellent as were the soft furnishings - everything very clean!
The breakfast was good and service also good. Checkout also slick. Just make sure you give in your car reg number when you check in as they have one of those parking eye systems in the car park.
This stay was one of my better here and I have chosen to give them a good grading - however, based on previous stays, they would not have received such a glowing review - well done on the improvement.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Mark R

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your most stay and liked your bedroom and the service you encountered. We would like to assure you that we try to upgrade our Platinum Reward guests whenever possible, but on occasions if we have do not have an executive room available this is not possible.
Once again thank you very much for your comments and we do hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria the next time you are in Sheffield. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford
Level Contributor
75 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a two night break deal which included one night dinner and entrance to Chatsworth House to see the Christmas decorations.

We had a very good experience. Firstly, I received a location map from the hotel which enabled us to drive directly to the hotel - no problem!

Every member of staff was friendly and helpful. We did have to pay for parking - but only £10 for the duration of our stay.

Our room was in the new block which I think has recently been refurbished. The décor looked new and the bathroom was really lovely. The towels were thick and large - the shower was efficient.

The wall mounted flat screen TV had a great picture and many choices of channels.

The dinner was reasonable and the rose wine we ordered was reasonably priced and very drinkable.

Both breakfasts were fine - all the food was hot and there was plenty of choice.

We would definitely go again if another offer came up. And the Chatsworth Christmas decorations were really great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigtrippertoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear bigtrippertoo

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel. We hope you get the opportunity to stay with us again in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

We got married at the Royal Victoria Hotel in October of this year. The Wedding was small, but I wanted it to be special too. I could not have asked for a better day. The staff were wonderful, especially Mark who looked after me beautifully, and their attention to detail was exceptional.
The period rooms were beautiful and really suited to a wedding - we had everything we wanted, and more - free champagne in the room was a bonus, and the room itself was lovely. We will be returning for our first wedding anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Wendy M

Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed holding your wedding at the hotel and we will certainly pass on your kind comments to Mark and the rest of the staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for your first anniversary. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

Went to this hotel with a deal from Great Little Breaks and it was a great little break. Fine hotel with attentive staff and good rooms. Meals were really good value and breakfast was to die for.
The only fly in the ointment is location. Think I went round Sheffield five times before arriving. And to make matters worse I could see the hotel but not drive to it. Dredding how many tickets Ive picked up for driving in bus lanes!That aside could not fault hotel for value and dedicated staff

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank joecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear joecassandra

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel. We were sorry to read that you experienced some difficulty finding the hotel. Unfortunately the local council will not allow us to erect signage on the public roads to assist our guests and although we have asked Streetforce on a number of occasions, they have not helped us with signage. We do hope that now you know where we are you will visit us again. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing