We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
St Helens, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Still the same excellent service”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I last stayed at this hotel in 2008 and I am pleased to say that it has the same excellent standard of customer service as it had then. I used to stay at this hotel on a regular basis due to work, and as I will be staying in Sheffield every few months from now. I will be delighted to stay here. The welcome you receive is excellent and as this is my 1st nights stay in 3 nights I know I will receive the same standard of service I must point out the team who have looked after me tonight, James, Ally, Vishal and Maja were fantastic, also well done Maja I believe this was her first shift, she was lovely.
I can highly recommend the team at this hotel. Also the food and rooms lovely.

Sue Lloyd

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Sue 1
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and hope it will be the first on many occasions. We were delighted to read how much you liked staying here and found the service friendly and helpful. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    360
    362
    175
    78
    38
See reviews for
175
319
51
302
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
175 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has great character nothing like you would normally expect for a Holiday Inn. A five minute walk into the town centre therefore perfectly placed for shopping, dining and the wide range of bars on hand. Stayed in the main building with an upgrade to a suite. Bed wonderfully comfortable, creaking floorboards and great food. Staff very helpful. All in all a great hotel to stay at. Definitely going back!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PhilLDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Dear Phil.Darwen
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and found the location was great for your needs. We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We used a Travelzoo voucher and booked afternoon tea for 2 in the restaurant. The decor was lovely, lots of white linen tablecloths and napkins. We began with a very large G & T followed by a 3 tier cakestand of sandwiches with lovely fillings, after which we feasted on cream cakes, carrot cake, choc cake and scone with clotted cream and jam. All finished with a never-ending teapot and lots of cups of tea. Decor was 10/10 as was the service. Better afternoon tea event than Betty's restaurants and never felt rushed. Excellent!

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not overnight there - this is just a review of the restaurant!
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank loljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Loljo
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed having afternoon tea and delighted that you thought it was even better than the afternoon tea served at the famous Betty's! We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed overnight on a room only basis so can't comment on the breakfast. The room we were allocated was small but adequate and had everything one could need, apart from a wish to return unfortunately. The window frame rattled all night and the traffic noise proved to be a nuisance when trying to sleep. We must have had one of the worst rooms ( facing the ring road) and given that the hotel wasn't full we were surprised at it being allocated to anyone when presumably it wasn't necessary. Sorry we can't be more complimentary.

Room Tip: Room 348 was noisy and the windows rattled in the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 February 2014
Dear Margaret S

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Unfortunately, due to the age and layout of our historic old building, all our rooms are indeed different shapes and sizes and we are sorry if the room you were allocated on this occasion was not one of our larger ones. We were also perturbed to learn that you were disturbed by traffic noise from the nearby road. Should you stay with us again, we will do our best to try and locate you in a quieter part of the hotel. We hope that this did not detract too much from your enjoyment of your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria again at some point in the future when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It's a Holiday Inn, but not that you'd know it!
I've stayed in LOTS of Holiday Inns all over the UK, but this is my favourite.
It was a Victorian Station hotel that is now the Holiday Inn, but thankfully all the character you'd expect is retained in what is a beautiful building.
Ask for a room in the original building, climb one of the two ornate stair cases, listen to the creaking of the floors - love it.
Favourite room - 210.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear Gary B
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read how much you loved our historic old building which is as you quite rightly point out different to most other Holiday Inns. We do hope that you get the opportunity to stay again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

A very historic building with excellent decor and rooms, very different than the normal modern Holiday Inn. The location is good just out of town away from the noisy City Centre. The only negative point was the furnishing in the bar which resembles more of a city centre coffee shop than historic building. Proved to be a good base for trips into the Peak District and the attractions of Sheffield.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheRunner1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
Dear TheRunner1951

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that on the whole you had enjoyed your stay and liked our historic old hotel. We have taken note of your comments regarding the bar which we will of course take into account when we refurbish. We do hope that you will get the chance to stay again at some point in the future.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Booked to stay via groupon and given a date and that date just happened to be day after our wedding day, the place could not have been better if we had planned it, room was fabulous more like a suite, massive bed, mini bar with freebies and "our room" had an impressive 3 yes THREE telephones, ( not that we used any. ) great facility's and could not have asked for more, we stayed in June 2013 and now want to return annually to "our" room Number 308.

Room Tip: Get an upgrade and our room was on the corner that had 2 bay windows,.... middle room of three with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Security's tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 15 January 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay with us the day after your wedding and really liked your room. We do hope you will come back again for your anniversary next year. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 53 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,160 reviews
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing