We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel and great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 20 February 2014

A very homely hotel in a historic building. If you love history and don`t go for the modern lookalike rooms where you never now in what city you are today you`ll just love it.
Felt very welcome and enjoyed my stay very much!
City, shopping and nice bars and restaurants you`ll find within 5 to 10 min walking distance.
But make sure to check out the hotel cuisine: Paté and steak were just perfect.
Nice bar right here in the hotel to start the evening and maybe have another drink after dinner.

Room Tip: I just loved the executive room Nr. 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michaela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Michaela E
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and loved our historic old hotel. We were also delighted that you had enjoyed your dining experience and thought our Grand Lounge area was a perfect location for an after dinner drink. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to visit Sheffield again and return to the hotel when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,080)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed 19 February 2014

I visited with a dear friend for afternoon tea. It was a lovely experience in the elegant Victorian bar area. Our waiter/barman Matt could not have been more attentive. He made us a stunning gin and tonic with Hendricks gin with sliver of cucumber, just perfect! The sandwiches included smoked salmon and tuna with cucumber, my only slight disappointment was that the smoked salmon should have been on brown bread! Delicious scones and cakes and a very generous portion for two.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank angelinapink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Angelinapink
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had met your friend at the hotel for afternoon tea and you had both really enjoyed it. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to Matt and we hope you get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I last stayed at this hotel in 2008 and I am pleased to say that it has the same excellent standard of customer service as it had then. I used to stay at this hotel on a regular basis due to work, and as I will be staying in Sheffield every few months from now. I will be delighted to stay here. The welcome you receive is excellent and as this is my 1st nights stay in 3 nights I know I will receive the same standard of service I must point out the team who have looked after me tonight, James, Ally, Vishal and Maja were fantastic, also well done Maja I believe this was her first shift, she was lovely.
I can highly recommend the team at this hotel. Also the food and rooms lovely.

Sue Lloyd

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Sue 1
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted to welcome you back to our hotel and hope it will be the first on many occasions. We were delighted to read how much you liked staying here and found the service friendly and helpful. We will certainly pass on your kind comments to the team. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel has great character nothing like you would normally expect for a Holiday Inn. A five minute walk into the town centre therefore perfectly placed for shopping, dining and the wide range of bars on hand. Stayed in the main building with an upgrade to a suite. Bed wonderfully comfortable, creaking floorboards and great food. Staff very helpful. All in all a great hotel to stay at. Definitely going back!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank PhilLDarwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Phil.Darwen
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay. We delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and found the location was great for your needs. We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We used a Travelzoo voucher and booked afternoon tea for 2 in the restaurant. The decor was lovely, lots of white linen tablecloths and napkins. We began with a very large G & T followed by a 3 tier cakestand of sandwiches with lovely fillings, after which we feasted on cream cakes, carrot cake, choc cake and scone with clotted cream and jam. All finished with a never-ending teapot and lots of cups of tea. Decor was 10/10 as was the service. Better afternoon tea event than Betty's restaurants and never felt rushed. Excellent!

Room Tip: Sorry, we did not overnight there - this is just a review of the restaurant!
See more room tips
Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank loljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Loljo
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed having afternoon tea and delighted that you thought it was even better than the afternoon tea served at the famous Betty's! We do hope that you will get the chance to visit us again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed overnight on a room only basis so can't comment on the breakfast. The room we were allocated was small but adequate and had everything one could need, apart from a wish to return unfortunately. The window frame rattled all night and the traffic noise proved to be a nuisance when trying to sleep. We must have had one of the worst rooms ( facing the ring road) and given that the hotel wasn't full we were surprised at it being allocated to anyone when presumably it wasn't necessary. Sorry we can't be more complimentary.

Room Tip: Room 348 was noisy and the windows rattled in the wind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2014

Dear Margaret S

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. Unfortunately, due to the age and layout of our historic old building, all our rooms are indeed different shapes and sizes and we are sorry if the room you were allocated on this occasion was not one of our larger ones. We were also perturbed to learn that you were disturbed by traffic noise from the nearby road. Should you stay with us again, we will do our best to try and locate you in a quieter part of the hotel. We hope that this did not detract too much from your enjoyment of your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria again at some point in the future when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

It's a Holiday Inn, but not that you'd know it!
I've stayed in LOTS of Holiday Inns all over the UK, but this is my favourite.
It was a Victorian Station hotel that is now the Holiday Inn, but thankfully all the character you'd expect is retained in what is a beautiful building.
Ask for a room in the original building, climb one of the two ornate stair cases, listen to the creaking of the floors - love it.
Favourite room - 210.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2014

Dear Gary B
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read how much you loved our historic old building which is as you quite rightly point out different to most other Holiday Inns. We do hope that you get the opportunity to stay again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,681 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,583 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,518 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £49 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing