We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok Really”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here on 2 x separate occasions for a total of 10 nights in February. Rooms are ok but YOU MUST request a room high up and away from the road as the traffic noise is horrendous. Food is usual Holiday Inn Fayre, totally over priced and nothing to write home about. This place would be ok for 1 or 2 night stay but any longer I would probably look elsewhere next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
2  Thank PIW1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear PIW1965
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. As we are located in the city centre, one side of our 3 storey hotel does over look a main road and we were sorry to learn you were disturbed by noise. We were also disappointed to read your comments about the food. We are normally renowned for the both the a la carte food offering in Cunningham's Restaurant and for the more usual food offering in our Grand Lounge. We do hope that we can welcome you back at some point in the future when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

631 - 637 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for one night when having to make a late booking to stay in Sheffield and other usual City Centre options were not available. The hotel is located in a slightly odd location near to the more down at heel end of Sheffield City Centre - probably a good fifteen minutes walk from the Peace Gardens; the haunted house like building stands apart amidst roads, railways, canals and rivers - and is not what you normally expect from a identikit hotel chain.

My room was in the more modern annexe and - notwithstanding the smoky odour which thankfully lessened with having the windows open throughout my stay, and a slight shabbiness - it is time for refurbishment - had some plus points. Compared to many rooms in more modern properties the room was generously sized, the bathroom was actually pretty up to date and had obviously been refurbished ahead of the room itself, there was space to sit and the bed was pretty comfy. The large TV was good - particularly with Sky Sports 1 to 3 and many other channels - though the accessibility of over 100 pay per view pornographic films was pretty disgusting - is this really necessary in a family hotel - or any hotel for that matter? I only had breakfast rather than eating in during the evening - and breakfast was actually pretty decent if typical of most chains - buffet style, stewing cooked items etc!!

If you are needing to stay in Sheffield City Centre I would recommend the Novotel, Mercure, Jurys Inn and Leopold above this one, but if those are not available this Holiday Inn is OK, but no more.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JMacToon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Dear MacToon
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were sorry to learn that our historic hotel was not located as close to the Peace Gardens as you would have preferred as we are indeed close to the train station, business quarter set and amongst a cluster of other hotels such as the Hilton. We are indeed undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment to our rooms and as you may have noticed we have already completed our bathrooms to a very high standard. Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope we can welcome you back at some point in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Just stayed four nights in April and First Impressions at Reception were good with a very friendly and helpful young man that processed my check, pity forgot to note his name. Unfortunately that is where the positives ended. The rest of the members of staff that I interacted with were amongst the unfrendliest and unhelpful I have come across.
The room was OK, cleanliness levels were acceptable, bathroom was good and clean and looked new in comparison to the bedroom.
The bed was the most uncomfortable I have slept in. Too soft, mattress just sink in. When I asked if this could be looked, I was told that housekeeping will be notified. Nothing was done and not even an explanation was offered.
Gym, filthy and not maintained. Litter that I noticed on my first morning of use was still lying on ground two days later.
Was hoping to stay here again if the price was right as I will be requiring a hotel in Sheffield for the next three months.
Sorry, may not return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Farook M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Farook M
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. First of all thank you for your kind comments regarding the welcome you received from my receptionist at check in. However, I was most perturbed and indeed a little surprised at your observations regarding the other staff as all members of the hotel team are normally praised by our guests for their friendliness and helpfulness and I am very sorry if this was not your experience during your stay. I have also taken cognisance of your comments regarding the gym and I would like to assure you that the gym is usually maintained and cleaned to the same high standard as the rest of the hotel. I have spoken with my Property Manager and Housekeeper and asked that they are more vigilant in future and I would like to thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. I do hope you will decide to stay with us again in the future when you are in Sheffield when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We stayed this last weekend at this lovely hotel. Beautiful old building with spacious room and excellent service. Food was really good, breakfast was usual excellent buffet and we ate in the bar one evening and Cunninghams restaurant on Saturday. Have to say we were very surprised by the high standard of food we enjoyed in the restaurant and can't remember having a better fillet steak in a long time! Overall we found the hotel clean and tidy with excellent customer service from the staff. Sadly there was one big negative that really does need to be sorted before we would book a return trip. On Sunday morning at around 4am we were awoken by the noise from returning residents who had obviously been out clubbing or similar, this continued for nearly two hours with around fifteen drunken and VERY noisy folks directly below our bedroom window and continued until nearly 6am when they finally went to bed but not before slamming doors and loud shouting had tried our patience to the limit. We made our comments to reception and were told that other guests had complained about the disturbance.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear CarolG
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read how much you had enjoyed your stay and we will certainly pass on your kind comments regarding the restaurant and bar food to our Head Chef and His team. We are very sorry that you were disturbed by the inconsiderate behaviour of a few of our other guests making a noise in the early hours of the morning. We would like to assure you that this is not a regular occurrence at the hotel and we hope that it did not detract too much from the enjoyment of your stay. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to stay here again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The food here is incredible i had chicken and it was like heaven, unfortunately they messed up some other orders.The decor is beautiful Victorian style. The rooms were spotless but the bed was too soft like trying to sleep on marshmallow it wasnt happening pity really

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24Chris1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear 24Chris1990
Thank you very much for your review. We were pleased to read that you liked our Victoria décor and had enjoyed the food in our restaurant. We will be certain to pass your kind comments to our Chef. We are sorry that you found the bed in your room softer than you preferred and we hope this do not detract too much from your enjoyment of your stay. We do hope you will choose to stay here again the next time you are in Sheffield. Kind rgards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We checked into the Holiday Inn express at Sheffield for my Mums 60th Birthday. The very helpfull and kind staff arranged an upgrade to the Grade 2 listed hotel opposite (this Holiday Inn - Victoria St Rd) which was a great gesture. The hotel was fantastic, great staff, brilliant rooms and breakfast - i would love to thank personally the member of staff responsible for our stay it was great!

Room Tip: All rooms seem the same but quite warm - switch your radiator off!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Dear Michael 2
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay so much and we do hope that you will get the opportunity to come back and stay here again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Previously stayed here in October 2013, on weekdays. This time stayed over Easter for 3 nights, one of which was a Saturday. Not such a good decision! We stayed in the same part of the hotel, and rooms were good with large twin beds. Bed and breakfast basis, a good value for the money and service in the Cunningham's was excellent. Hotel is very handy for walking into the centre of Sheffield. A grand, imposing building with character.
However, (and I know this is not necessarily the hotel's fault), but there were some very noisy groups of guests staying in the same part of the hotel arriving back from their revelling at 2.30 and 4.00 a.m. on Sunday morning. Maybe a little more thought could be put into where widely differing age groups of guests are put in the hotel. I appreciate that the age of guests is not always evident until check in, but maybe the question could be tactfully asked at the time of booking? Just an observation.

Room Tip: We have stayed in rooms 262 and 263 in the newer part of the building on the first floor. Rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aldo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Aldo 17
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were pleased to read that you liked the hotel and on the whole you had enjoyed your stay. We are sorry if you were disturbed by the inconsiderate behaviour of some of our other guests. Although we do try and take into account where we put various groups of guests, unfortunately it isn't possible to always get it right when the hotel is full. We do hope it did not detract too much from your enjoyment and we hope we can welcome you back again soon when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
1.3 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,669 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,569 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £53 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing