We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,219)
Filter reviews
1,219 results
Traveller rating
459
416
208
89
47
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
459
416
208
89
47
Show reviews that mention
All reviews royal victoria executive room old railway railway hotel two double beds sat nav city centre main bar lovely old building separate shower original features afternoon tea lovely hotel christmas party public areas plenty of parking room was large
Filter
Updating list...
754 - 759 of 1,219 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We have reason and the excuse to visit Sheffield a couple of times each year and after trying 3 other hotels at the price we want to pay this is our favourite. The executive rooms we have stayed in have been very good. We was warned that there may be some function noise on the Saturday night in this room (single glazed)- this was just a far away sound of music and did not bother us at all - but it was good that it was mentioned

The main pluses - nice old traditional building, easy parking, large rooms and very professional and friendly staff. We only had breakfast - again the staff were very good, the breakfast itself average. On both Saturday night and Sunday night there were functions - one a wedding the other a children's dancing club photo shoot. Neither were a problem and both had a good atmosphere but both prevented use of what appears to be a nice bar

Location - an easy walk to both the station and the town centre one - in the other direction a short walk to some excellent pubs in the Kelham area
Another good stay and no doubt we will stay again in the future

Room tip: Executive rooms on the top floor are large and atmospheric!
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davek01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear davek01
Thank you for your review. We were really pleased to read that you enjoy staying at our traditional old hotel and that you find it comfortable, the staff are friendly and it is easy to park. We were sorry that the Grand Lounge was not available for you to use on the night of your stay.
On occasions when we have a large function in the Ballroom the Grand Lounge area is used by the function guests. However, we do provide the Cocktail Bar for our residents to ensure that that they still receive good service and are well looked after. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to stay here again soo. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed two nights at the Holiday Inn Sheffield for business. There were good points and bad points to the stay.

Good points are the building itself which has lots of character and the friendly staff. The evening meal in the restaurant was also very good.

Bad points were the lack of temperature control in room and the noisy road outside. The breakfast was ok but nothing outstanding and I've had better in other chains. The location isn't central but was close to where I needed to be.

Everything else was just average and as I expected. The room was clean and reasonably spacious with a modern bathroom. The room itself was a bit dated in places with the decor but this didn't mar my
stay.

Date of stay: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NostromoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear NostromoLondon
Thank you very much for your review. We were very pleased to read that you liked our characterful old hotel and that you found the staff friendly and helpful. We were also delighted that you had enjoyed our food offering. However, we were sorry to learn that your room was a little warm and we have taken cognisance of your comments regards to air conditioning. We do have this facility in our public areas and although this is not currently available in our bedrooms we are considering installing this during our next major refurbishment. We were also perturbed to learn that the room you were allocated overlooked the dual carriageway and you were disturbed by noise from the traffic and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience this may have caused you. We do hope that you will considering staying here again when you are next in Sheffield when we can assure you of our best attention. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at The Royal Victoria Hotel - Holiday Inn at Sheffield last weekend. The hotel is not the usual bland Holiday Inn corporate style, it is a Victorian railway hotel that has been refurbished to a high quality. The hotel building and our room were really clean and well appointed, leaving nothing out. The food in the restaurant was absolutely delicious, and I had the best Sea Bass ever. The efficient, pleasant and ever so helpful staff, made our stay wonderful. We were sorry we hadn't booked for longer! We will definitely be returning to the hotel for future stays.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FrancineMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear FrancineMerseyside
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and had found your room comfortable. We will certainly pass on your kind comments regarding the food, especially the sea bass, to our Head Chef and his team. We all hope that you get the opportunity to stay here again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My friend and I stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago. It was an offer for 2 nights plus a visit to Chatsworth House with Great Little Breaks. We were not at all disappointed the reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the room very clean and comfortable and the food good quality and good value. I would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Dear ScotEngland
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you and your friend liked the hotel and had enjoyed the Chatsworth package. We do hope that you will choose to stay here again should you return to Sheffield when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

As a member of a very large group (50+) of ice hockey players, coaches and supporters that had descended upon Sheffield for an ice hockey tournament last weekend, I am compelled to write about the superb level of service that we received at The Royal Victoria hotel. From the minute we crossed The Royal Victoria's threshold to the minute we departed, we were treated like valued customers. Furthermore, The Royal Victoria hotel met every challenge posed by such a large group with an outstanding level of service. For example, due to very (very!) earlier group stage games on both days of our stay, the team needed a light breakfast ahead of the restaurant's opening hours and then a full breakfast upon return after their first match of the day. The staff could not have been more accommodating and efficient, and friendly too! With large, very well appointed rooms, excellent food, great service that went well above and beyond anything we've experienced before, The Royal Victoria proved to be superb value for money. For the price, I simply cannot fault this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Colin B
Thank you very much for your review. We were really pleased to read that you and your party had enjoyed your stay at hotel and that you had found the staff to be friendly and helpful. We do hope that the next time you are in Sheffield for the ice hockey you will choose to stay at our hotel again when we can assure you of our best attention at all times. Thank you once again for your kind comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews