We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plenty of character”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #22 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very welcoming, were staying for sons graduation early afternoon which would have caused problems regarding getting changed after a long journey but on emailing the hotel they swiftly replied no problem an early check in was set into their system, not everywhere does this! The hotel is full of character and history, room had really high ceilings, we were in room 144 which did have a lot of road noise especially when due to lovely British Summer we had windows open, id prethought this may be the case on reading past reviews so took earplugs as a precaution but was able to sleep ok.Bathroom was modern with a lovely shower, staff were all really pleasant , breakfast was buffet style with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals muffins and cooked buffet style food. It is a bit of a rigmarole to get to with satnav having a bit of a freddy with Derek Dooley Way and I wouldnt really want to walk to the main High St shops from there but it was a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Id ask for away from the roadside
See more room tips
Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank cuttycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Cuttycrew
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and you liked our historic old hotel. The road system in Sheffield can be a little challenging but we were pleased you had enjoyed your stay once you got here! Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

601 - 607 of 1,079 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked the Assembly rooms for a party of 40 people for afternoon tea for my mum's 70th birthday. The food was amazing, it was fresh, it was beautiful and there was lots of it and the room was stunning. The staff who helped organise the day, particularly Jessica, were fantastic - there was a big wedding going on in the hotel on the same day, but they made us feel just as important, even though our function cost a fraction of the wedding. Their attention to detail was great and my mum had a fantastic day.
Mum and I have since returned to the restaurant for afternoon tea and again it was wonderful.
I think the Royal Victoria Hotel is a little gem that should not be overlooked - many thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank jamesmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear jamesmumandad
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you and your family had enjoyed celebrating your mum's 70th birthday by having afternoon tea here with us and that indeed you have already been back to see us for afternoon tea again since the birthday party. We do hope that you get the opportunity to come back again soon when we can assure you of our best attention. Thanks once again for your kind comments. Kind regard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely hotel full of character, comfy bed, modern bathroom and a hot, powerful shower. We stayed in a corner room at the front of the hotel for 3 very warm nights in July. We had to sleep with the windows open and there was traffic noise all night long. This may have been worse due to the rain, but the hotel is near a very busy road junction. Situated quite close to the city centre you do have to walk past an area that is a little run down, but all in all, the hotel is comfortable, characterful and in a convenient location, and the staff are all very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louloubelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear louloubelle2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you liked our characterful hotel. We do hope you will get the chance to stay here again soon. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Royal Victoria Hotel is a very surprising hotel, it has lots of historic features. The stained glass ceiling in the bar area is a joy to behold. The back stairs to the rooms, which we used all the time, gives a splendor to climbing the stairs. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room (338) was lovely, with two windows looking onto different views including the fountain at the front. We had afternoon tea on arrival which was lovely and we were given our tickets to Chatsworth house as part of the very good value for money deal.
All the meals were very tasty with plenty of choice. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, while we were there the hot food was topped up regularly.
A very good relaxing stay.
Only two very small niggles, the wardrobe in our room was very small, so small that the clothes hangers did not fit in wardrobe making it very hard to hang up clothes without the sliding doors pop off rails. Second thing in the restaurant a small communication problem with the lager not pouring properly, so my husband was sat waiting for 30mins for his pint, this was eventually resolved on the third time of asking.

Room Tip: Do not have 338 if you have many clothes to hang up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear patsylandin
Thank you very much for you review. We were delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and had found the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay. Our Chatsworth package seems to be very popular and we were pleased you had enjoyed your stay. We do apologise for the wait you experienced for a drink in the restaurant and we would like to assure you that this is not our normal high standard of service. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to stay here again soon when we can assure you of our best attention. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

i stayed in the hotel in the month july for work purposes. there was a private function on so we could only use the cocktail bar for hotel visitors. not very good as this is a small bar. there was a nember off ataff serving on the bar i took note of her name badge. she was called emma. she was on her mobile behind the bar loof times. that doeant look professional as a few people i stayed in the hotel with picked up on that. she was more. overall was an ok stay change your staff on cocktail bar mihht get better reviews thanks

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnmaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear johnmaik
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that the Grand Lounge had a private function in it on the night of your stay. The hotel is equipped with two bars and we apologise if you were disappointed with having to use the smaller Cocktail Bar. We have also taken note of your comments regarding a member of staff using her mobile phone and we would like to assure you that all staff have been reminded that the use of personal phones is not permitted during work time. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring this matter to our attention as it is only by receiving feedback from guests such as yourself that we achieve the high standard for which we aim. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria again at some point in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

...as you could see the Hotel from the road but it was a bit trixy to get too- this could be due to us having an elderly sat nav! Anyway, it was lovely to arrive! The staff from the beginning of our stay to the end were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. I understand some of the comments from other reviewers about the rooms- but for us this is part of the charm! Our rooms were clean and fit for purpose.
We ate in the bar on one evening and were surprised by the quality of the food that we received (very tasty). Overall the stay was very enjoyable and as previously stated the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank apopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear apopps
Thank you very much for your review. We were sorry to read that you the hotel a little difficult to find, we must admit the road system in Sheffield is not the easiest to negotiate. Nevertheless, we were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel. We do hope you will stay with us again the next to you have cause to be in Sheffield. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Disappointed as usually stay at HI Express next door and wanted to 'upgrade' to main hotel. HIE is actually better in terms of cleanliness, quality of furniture and staff friendliness. Rooms are tired. True they do have some charm with the creaky floorboards and musty carpets but not enough charm to overcome the slightly shabby nature. Breakfast is also really expensive for what it is. Will go back to the neighbour next time I'm afraid.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Otinogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Oticonboy
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We were pleased to read that you usually stay at our sister hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre and decided to try the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria next door for a change. As you quite rightly point out, these two hotels are indeed very different, the Express being a newly built modern building and the Holiday Inn is a grade II listed Victorian building. We were sorry that you were a little disappointed with your stay and found the décor in your room a little tired. We are currently undergoing a rolling programme of refurbishment to all our bedrooms and we do hope that you will try us again some time in the future. Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.1 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,582 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £49 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing