We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday Inn Sheffield” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Ranked #21 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday Inn Sheffield”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Myself and my husband had the pleasure of staying the evening 24th July 2014. This hotel is a truly lovely, very special place to stay. I use this hotel quite often for accommodation for my colleagues for over night stays. This time it was my time to experience! From first stepping into the hotel you feel that little bit special, the beautiful decor and ambiance is very different from the modern day hotels around. Our room was regal, the bathroom was very big and I wanted to take it home with me! The staff on the reception and bar area were welcoming and friendly. We ate in the restaurant and the food was lovely. After a very good nights sleep, we had a very hearty, tasty breakfast and again the waitresses were all very friendly and helpful. The overall experience was a very special one. The only down fall was it was a school night and had to get up for work, or I think we would still be there now! I am already planning my next stay on a weekend though! Must see for yourself you do not know what you are missing!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Janice s
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were really pleased that you book your colleagues in here and have eventually managed to stay here yourself and indeed that you had enjoyed your visit. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to stay here again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    347
    356
    174
    78
    33
See reviews for
174
307
50
298
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
cuttycrew
Level Contributor
68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very welcoming, were staying for sons graduation early afternoon which would have caused problems regarding getting changed after a long journey but on emailing the hotel they swiftly replied no problem an early check in was set into their system, not everywhere does this! The hotel is full of character and history, room had really high ceilings, we were in room 144 which did have a lot of road noise especially when due to lovely British Summer we had windows open, id prethought this may be the case on reading past reviews so took earplugs as a precaution but was able to sleep ok.Bathroom was modern with a lovely shower, staff were all really pleasant , breakfast was buffet style with plenty of fresh fruit, cereals muffins and cooked buffet style food. It is a bit of a rigmarole to get to with satnav having a bit of a freddy with Derek Dooley Way and I wouldnt really want to walk to the main High St shops from there but it was a very pleasant stay

Room Tip: Id ask for away from the roadside
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank cuttycrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Cuttycrew
Thank you very much for your review. We were delighted to read that you had enjoyed your stay and you liked our historic old hotel. The road system in Sheffield can be a little challenging but we were pleased you had enjoyed your stay once you got here! Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I booked the Assembly rooms for a party of 40 people for afternoon tea for my mum's 70th birthday. The food was amazing, it was fresh, it was beautiful and there was lots of it and the room was stunning. The staff who helped organise the day, particularly Jessica, were fantastic - there was a big wedding going on in the hotel on the same day, but they made us feel just as important, even though our function cost a fraction of the wedding. Their attention to detail was great and my mum had a fantastic day.
Mum and I have since returned to the restaurant for afternoon tea and again it was wonderful.
I think the Royal Victoria Hotel is a little gem that should not be overlooked - many thanks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamesmomanddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear jamesmumandad
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were delighted to read that you and your family had enjoyed celebrating your mum's 70th birthday by having afternoon tea here with us and that indeed you have already been back to see us for afternoon tea again since the birthday party. We do hope that you get the opportunity to come back again soon when we can assure you of our best attention. Thanks once again for your kind comments. Kind regard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chinnor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Lovely hotel full of character, comfy bed, modern bathroom and a hot, powerful shower. We stayed in a corner room at the front of the hotel for 3 very warm nights in July. We had to sleep with the windows open and there was traffic noise all night long. This may have been worse due to the rain, but the hotel is near a very busy road junction. Situated quite close to the city centre you do have to walk past an area that is a little run down, but all in all, the hotel is comfortable, characterful and in a convenient location, and the staff are all very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louloubelle2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear louloubelle2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We were very pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and that you liked our characterful hotel. We do hope you will get the chance to stay here again soon. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

The Royal Victoria Hotel is a very surprising hotel, it has lots of historic features. The stained glass ceiling in the bar area is a joy to behold. The back stairs to the rooms, which we used all the time, gives a splendor to climbing the stairs. All the staff were friendly, helpful and efficient. Our room (338) was lovely, with two windows looking onto different views including the fountain at the front. We had afternoon tea on arrival which was lovely and we were given our tickets to Chatsworth house as part of the very good value for money deal.
All the meals were very tasty with plenty of choice. Breakfast was buffet style with plenty of choice, while we were there the hot food was topped up regularly.
A very good relaxing stay.
Only two very small niggles, the wardrobe in our room was very small, so small that the clothes hangers did not fit in wardrobe making it very hard to hang up clothes without the sliding doors pop off rails. Second thing in the restaurant a small communication problem with the lager not pouring properly, so my husband was sat waiting for 30mins for his pint, this was eventually resolved on the third time of asking.

Room Tip: Do not have 338 if you have many clothes to hang up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patsylandin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear patsylandin
Thank you very much for you review. We were delighted to read that you liked our historic old hotel and had found the staff friendly and helpful throughout your stay. Our Chatsworth package seems to be very popular and we were pleased you had enjoyed your stay. We do apologise for the wait you experienced for a drink in the restaurant and we would like to assure you that this is not our normal high standard of service. We do hope that you will get the opportunity to stay here again soon when we can assure you of our best attention. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

i stayed in the hotel in the month july for work purposes. there was a private function on so we could only use the cocktail bar for hotel visitors. not very good as this is a small bar. there was a nember off ataff serving on the bar i took note of her name badge. she was called emma. she was on her mobile behind the bar loof times. that doeant look professional as a few people i stayed in the hotel with picked up on that. she was more. overall was an ok stay change your staff on cocktail bar mihht get better reviews thanks

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmaik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear johnmaik
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that the Grand Lounge had a private function in it on the night of your stay. The hotel is equipped with two bars and we apologise if you were disappointed with having to use the smaller Cocktail Bar. We have also taken note of your comments regarding a member of staff using her mobile phone and we would like to assure you that all staff have been reminded that the use of personal phones is not permitted during work time. We would like to thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to bring this matter to our attention as it is only by receiving feedback from guests such as yourself that we achieve the high standard for which we aim. We hope we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Royal Victoria again at some point in the future. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
184 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

...as you could see the Hotel from the road but it was a bit trixy to get too- this could be due to us having an elderly sat nav! Anyway, it was lovely to arrive! The staff from the beginning of our stay to the end were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. I understand some of the comments from other reviewers about the rooms- but for us this is part of the charm! Our rooms were clean and fit for purpose.
We ate in the bar on one evening and were surprised by the quality of the food that we received (very tasty). Overall the stay was very enjoyable and as previously stated the staff are very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apopps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermann B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear apopps
Thank you very much for your review. We were sorry to read that you the hotel a little difficult to find, we must admit the road system in Sheffield is not the easiest to negotiate. Nevertheless, we were so pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay and liked the hotel. We do hope you will stay with us again the next to you have cause to be in Sheffield. Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.7 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#26 of 54 in Sheffield
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
1.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sheffield

Property: Holiday Inn Sheffield
Address: Royal Victoria Victoria Station Road, Sheffield S4 7YE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#19 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is situated at the end of it s own private drive and so enjoys a quiet and peaceful location. All our bedrooms at the hotel have Hi Speed Internet Access. This 4 Star full service hotel offers fine dining in Cunningham s Restaurant or relaxed drinks and snacks in our Grand Lounge Bar. The Esperanto Health Suite is open 24 hours and features a fully equipped multi gym, dance studio, saunas. These facilities are free for resident guests. One of the most striking features of this Grade 2 listed building is the elegant Victorian Ballroom which can accommodate up to 400 guests. All our meeting rooms at the Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel have natural daylight and wireless internet access.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is within walking distance of Ponds Forge, The Crucible and Lyceum Theatres. Also within a short drive from the Holiday Inn Sheffield are Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Ice Sheffield and the English Institute of Sport Sheffield.The Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel is just a half a mile from Sheffield Train Station and Sheffield Bus Station. Travelling by car, we are located a few miles from Junction 33 of the M1 Motorway. Sat Nav Users please use the street name Victoria Station Road, Sheffield or S1 2AU to reach your final destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Sheffield Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing