We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    538
    242
    96
    56
See reviews for
300
436
109
364
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Parking can be limited but apparently there is another car park near the facinity which is charged at a reduced rate. Other than that, great hotel, good customer service and bang in the middle of it all.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy6UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback you have given with regards to your recent stay here at the Novotel.

Regards

Karen Coy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2011

We came up to Sheffield for a night out and needed a centrally located hotel. We booked a twin room over the Internet for the bargain price of £40 including breakfast for us both.

It was around 19:30 when we arrived at the hotel. There was no room in the car park, so we had to use Q park around the corner. The hotel gave us a discount voucher which meant it only cost £7.60 for the parking overnight.

Checking in was slow. Once that was done we took one look at our room and went straight back to reception. The twin room was actually a queen sized bed and a sofa. No use to us so we asked for a proper twin room. This one had two separate single beds, although they seemed much narrower than normal.

We tried the hotel bar before moving on. It was very expensive, two pints and a bottle cost £13.

That nights sleep was difficult in a bed this narrow. I'm sure single beds aren't normally like that?

The breakfast the next morning helped redeem the hotel though. It was excellent with a good selection of fresh items too eat.

Overall I'd say for the price of £40 for the room with breakfast included it was good value. Especially being right in the centre of Sheffield. Next time I'd definitely want a bigger bed though.

Room Tip: The single beds are extremely narrow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback you have given with regards to your recent stay here at the Novotel.


Regards

Karen Coy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

Good room for the price we payed however small with small bathroom , nice bar area , pool looked basic , good location . Would maybe try somewere different next time due to the size of the rooms .

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SamanthaJC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel-Sheffield, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 18 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback you have given with regards to your recent stay here at the Novotel.

Regards

Karen Coy
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South coast England
Level Contributor
127 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

I was very grumpy when I arrived at this hotel. My drive had taken over 8 hours. (Expected journey time should have been 5 hours max: gruesome Friday UK summer motorways.) Receptionist asked: ‘How was I?’ I told her I was grumpy. She handled this well, suggesting I join the wedding party for a drink. She had correctly worked out I was part of the wedding party. This was a very nice reception, and soothed my mood.

Hotel room? Advertised as 4 star, but this is stretching things a little. Bedrooms are rather small and somewhat basically furnished for 4 star status. In particular, the mattress was very thin indeed; and the pillows undernourished. I would designate my room as high end 3 star. It was comfortable for a 2-night stay. Very central location. Pleasant ambience. Nice (somewhat expensive) breakfast. The Mecure hotel next door must be a very close competitor. Because of the mattresses (it matters when you are grumpy) I will try the Mecure if I ever need to return to Sheffield.

Did I mention the Novotel has an underground car park? I managed to get a place when needed (but £8 per night). I’m not sure whether the Mecure offers this (and if not, that would make a difference to my future choice).

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Silverhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel-Sheffield, Guest Relations Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for the feedback you have given with regards to your recent stay here at the Novotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Booked and paid for 2 rooms 5 months in advance on the Novotel website and rang the hotel direct the day before to confirm the booking, which they did. On checking in early in the afternoon, we were moved to an inferior hotel on the edge of the city centre as the Novotel had mislaid our booking. The Novotel has said they will pay £8 for our additional taxi fares.
The Novotel has apologised but has not explained what actually happened nor that if I book and pay in advance, I will not be bumped again. Therefore I will be avoiding Novotel and Accor group hotels in future.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHardy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iain B, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 15 February 2017
Sorry there was an issue with your reservation

Regards

Iain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing