We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great location but beds from hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Todmorden, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great location but beds from hell”
Reviewed 30 October 2012

The location is great as its such a central hotel. All the public areas are very stylish and well maintained. The only issue i have is with the beds......hardly 4 star standard! 2 pillows only and the thinnest mattress ever. Breakfast was lovely and available until 12 midday so a more comfortable bed would have made the lie in more appreciated!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parnelliboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 5 November 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay here at Novotel Sheffield. Your feedback regarding the beds are currently being looked in to and I will contact you to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    563
    253
    101
    60
See reviews for
308
464
115
379
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012

The management staff at Novotel Sheffield have been helpful client-centred. I have had positive experiences of Novotel in the past, in Sheffield and elsewhere. I recommend Novotel to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseBrownCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Novotel Sheffield Centre. I have today passed your comments onto my management team and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

I remember staying here when it was new in the 1990s. So i booked in for 3 nights. By day 2 I couldn't wait to leave. The room was small and pokey and worn looking. The in-room safe was broken. I discovered that the room door didn't always lock! My bed was not made up on the second night. It's a handy place to stay, but these days Sheffield has much greater choice of hotels. I don't think i'd stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Professor58_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
I was very disappointed to read your coments regarding your recent stay here at Novotel Sheffield. I would very much appreciate it, if you would contact me directly at the hotel to discuss your stay in further detail.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Stayed here overnight whilst on a 30th birthday night out. Hotel was in a great location, only 5 mins wlk from the train station and not much further to shops / bars. The rooms were finished to a high standard and all facilities were clean and crisp. Facilities at the hotel were good and the staff were extremely friendly. I would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kittyrach21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
i was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your birthday weekend here at the hotel recently and I do hope that you had a good day.
Thank you for your positive feedback and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Found getting to the hotel was difficult as the hotel carpark was closed due to the Great Northern Run that weekend. We had to use a multistorey carpark which was a good walk away and refused to accept the discount token that the hotel gave us. We got a superior room but the only thing superior was that we had robes and slippers. Very basis room, tea and coffee making facilities very poor however the room was clean and so was the ensuite. A extra charge for breakfast so we skipped it and found and cafe nearby that serviced excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 30 October 2012
Thank you for your response regarding yuor recent stay here at the Novotel. I would also like to thank you regarding your feedback with regards to the room facilities. Should you wish to discuss this furher, I would be grateful if you would contact me directly at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

This is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in for a while. The room was very spacious and on the 5th floor we had a lovely view of the winter gardens. The pool is small, but ok and the steam room is nice.

Breakfast was fab! Buffet style with lincolnshire sausages, fried or scrambled egg, hash browns, tomatoes, beans and mushrooms. As well as variety of croissants (warmed), cereals and fruit. Couldn't fault it.

The parking is a bit steep at £10 a night, but we parked in the NCP cark park round the corner on Matlida Street which was only £7 for 24 hours.

Locationwise, the hotel is bang on. Right in the center near the Crucible, Lyceum, Winter Gardens, the City Hall and SHU.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay here at Novotel Sheffield. I have today shared your comments with the team and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

The staff was very nice and friendly. Great customer service.
The lamb at the restaurant was exquisite. I also enjoyed the booths with individual TV sets.
The steam room was really nice but the swimming pool needed a gentle vacuuming.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoismikejones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon T, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 9 October 2012
Thank you for your positive comments regarding your recent stay here at the Novotel. Your comments regarding the team here have been shared and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
2,275 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,126 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing