We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Farnham
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed one night in this hotel. Conveniently situated in the centre of Sheffield, close to railway station and to all that Sheffield centre has to offer. Reception staff friendly. Room clean. Bed comfortable. Hair dryer powerful. Tea and coffee facilities, came in handy to have with the lovely warm fresh pastries bought from the nearby Sainsbury's local for breakfast as to buy the in house breakfast is £13.00 each, which is a bit OTT for us, so cannot comment on hotel food. Parking available under and outside the hotel charged at £12.00 per day for us. Reasonably quiet considering that it is in the very centre of town. Separate toilet in bedroom. Would stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tryavna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear Tryavna,

Thank you for your feedback. Pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. You can normally get breakfast on a prepay rate of £8.95 when you are making your room booking through our website. Hopefully you will take advantage of this next time.

Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    567
    256
    104
    62
See reviews for
311
471
115
381
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed at this hotel many times over the last part of 2013, and it has to be the most consistently poor hotel I have ever stayed in...and as a business traveller, that's quite an accomplishment!! The only good things I can say are that parking is great and the staff are always helpful. But that doesn't outweigh the awful, outdated (chipboard wallpaper) rooms and the terrible food. On my first stay there, the room menu was smeared with someone else's food and old lettuce, so that sort of set the tone and them I noticed the floor had not been hoovered. Less said about that the better. The beds are like two camp beds that have been screwed together, and they squeak and move every time you get up or sit down. I would frequently leave my room in the morning and last night's room service tray would still be outside in the hall. Disgusting. Apart from the hygiene issues I had the usual problems of tv's not working! A/C loud and wouldn't switch off, room service orders rarely right etc etc. the manager always tries to ring to 'ask for your feedback' and to 'resolve the situation' but really, just get it right and save people the extra, unwanted conversation!!

Room Tip: If you absolutely have no other choice than to stay here, make sure you get a room on the top floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear DonnaElliott,

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and this is why I had tried on 2 of the 3 occasions you stayed with us to speak with you in order to establish what we could do to make your stay comfortable. It is unfortunate that we were not afforded this opportunity, however, thanks to your feedback on here; I can now investigate further and therefore make the experience better for or other guests.

Thank you once more for your feedback and I am really sorry you did not enjoy your time with us.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We have stayed here several times and always have loved it. Perfect location, friendly staff and lovely room. The breakfast is lovely too. Some people were complaining about parking but £10 to park in a city for 24 hours I think is reasonable! Would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ncp150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear ncp150,

Thank you for your very kind words about the hotel and the staff. They are very much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Sheffield Centre.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We stayed in this hotel late December 2013, with our two teenage daughters. Couldn't fault the room, ok not huge but ideal for a crash pad and ideally located (for two people it would have been roomy). It was clean and in excellent condition, as was the separate bathroom and loo. The staff on reception were polite and efficient and the lobby was welcoming and clean. The breakfast buffet was perfect the next morning with plenty on offer and was available in the dining area. Our daughters made good use of the pool, unfortunately one left her bikini behind, but after a quick call to the hotel the following day, I was put through to housekeeping who went off to investigate and rang me back within 30 minutes, the person I spoke with was again very polite and efficient and my daughter received her bikini back through the post within 2 days! Excellent service, would highly recommend for a city centre visit! Would definitely stay again!

Room Tip: Our room, 322 was quiet and adequate for a family of two adults and two teenagers for a short family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adjay105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear adjay105,

I am very pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your stay and the facilities at the Novotel Sheffield Centre.

Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,608 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing