We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central; convenient; generally fine”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #18 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Drab room in a drab building which needs an overhaul; functional, basic but spacious. No problems with cleanliness but in general the whole novotel thing needs a rethink as it's beginning to look like very dated design. I wasn't uncomfortable. The highlight of my stay was the catering which was generally very good - well prepared, generous portions, tasty breakfast. Nice staff. Well placed for exploring the centre of Sheffield and a very easy, short walk from the railway station

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MajorVoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear MajorVoid,

Thank you for your comments. Shame to read that you did not enjoy our hotel. If you would like to discuss your comments further, please contact me on 01142781781 or h1348-gm@accor.com

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,582)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

879 - 885 of 1,582 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014

I stayed at the Novotel for a conference ... the location is great, just a few minutes walk from the train station and the normal conference venues. But the 1980s spat this hotel up. I stayed in a standard double room ... cleaning left a little to be desired with marks and sticky patches not cleaned up properly, there was wood chip everywhere, separate toilet was like a prison, mini fridge had water for £2.50 a bottle (total rip off!) and overall the room was very shabby, obviously not renewed or refurbished for at least 10 years - there was a crack in the room which had been filled but the filler was white and the wall was cream (or discoloured white) and the room thermostat was damaged and looked like it was about to fall off the wall! (see photo) And no aircon, just a window permanently open.
Bed sheets were clean and fresh, but the headboard design is terrible, meaning the pillows start to fall between mattress and headboard which makes sleep uncomfortable, and the valance was gross.

The lobby bar and restaurant were modern, reception staff very friendly. Pool is clean and warm and was nice to swim even if the windows onto the pool are on ground level to the street so everyone can see you as you get out.
Staff at breakfast weren't as good as reception, seating me at a table then as I get buffet breakfast seat another party at my table meaning I have to find somewhere else to sit, with their English not being strong so not understanding my request for cutlery very well.

I expect more from Novotel, and I would not stay at this hotel again - go to the Mercure round the corner, same group owning them as Novotel but much nicer, pay the little bit extra! I will. Very disappointed for the money it cost me.

Room Tip: Room 428 is shabby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Coxy773,

Thank you for posting your thoughts and I am sorry the hotel was not to your liking. It is not a brand new build; we opened in the 90s and have had refurbishments since then. With all other things in the hotel, we advertise the cost of the water so guests can choose to either purchase or not.

The mix up with your table at breakfast should not have happened and I hope the team found a solution; I also trust this did not happen on both mornings you were with us. I must say that all the staff can converse in English and will definitely know what a request for cutlery is.

Once again, I am sorry you did not enjoy your experience with us but I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We booked the room a year in advance to see the Tour De France. We treated our selves to a suite which is very nice, we asked for a quiet room and were given 518, lovely and quiet. the room was very nice, with a super king bed, separate bathroom and toilet and sitting room.
The location of the hotel was brilliant, right in the centre of town. Near the train station, shops, bars etc. parking out front.
Would definitely stay at this hotel again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Didn't use the pool or gym and didn't have breakfast at £14 each , I consider it too expensi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Lita H,

I'm delighted to read that you had found the hotel convienient to see the Tour de France. Also glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

Just a note, you can usually get breakfast cheaper if booked in advance.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
general Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jillf24_02
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 1 July 2014

had a one night stopover at this hotel courtesy of laterooms. At the price it cant be beaten. lovely hotel, great rooms and smack bang in the middle of a vibrant city. We had booked a meal at a local restaurant so staying over made a brilliant break

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doncasterstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear doncasterstu,

Thank you for your review.

I am pleased to see that our central location turned out to be ideal for your stay in Sheffield.

Hope you visit again soon.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I spend about 200 nights a year on the road - I have an Accor points card. And I visit Novotel Sheffield and get treated like a Lord. The hotel has a new General Manager - who despite his lack of a name badge is obvious by his presence. He is everywhere - making sure every little detail is perfect. He has a great, loyal team who all seem to be doing their best. This hotel is brilliantly located for everything in central Sheffield - great award winning theatre, restaurants galore - but frankly the hotel food is just too good.Big hotel food shouldn't ever be this creative or beautifully done. This is the ONLY place to stay in central Sheffield.

Room Tip: Go for a North facing room - you get a view across the cathedral, the best bits of Sheffield and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nohotashes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear nohotashes,

It's a pleasure to receive such positive feedback and recommendation.

Thank you very much for your loyalty, the team will continue to try to impress and surprise.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for one night to attend a concert in the city. Superbly placed and easy to find. No trouble parking but zi know it can get busy and the car park can be a bit of a squeeze. For parking in the city, I think it is reasonable. Hotel staff all very friendly and professional. We booked an executive room which was very well appointed with a few extras included. We ate in the bar before going out. The dining room was closed. Bit of a limited menu and a tad on the pricey side but that is what I would expect for the convenience. Plenty of alternatives within walking distance. Breakfast was plentiful and a good choice.

Room Tip: You can leave your car in the car park even after you have checked out if you want to do some shoppi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EclecticReader66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Dear EclecticReader66,

Glad to see you enjoyed your recent stay at the Novotel Sheffield Centre.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
2,517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,331 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £43 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing