We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Graduation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location, easy taxi ride to Sheffield university for the Graduation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only down sides are as usual prices of drinks in the bars and lack of air conditioning in the rooms. Will go back because of its location.

Room Tip: Air conditioning needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels
1  Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear C M,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us inspite of the hot weather and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,594)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

877 - 883 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked at 7pm on the night we wanted to stay as both wanted to drink in Sheffield. Looked on lastminute.com and there was a room then rang the hotel and bartered a little stayed in an executive room but would not know why this is exec not too amazing but was ok with both having breakfast for 69 pounds. The hotel was full as it was graduation and tram lines festival. Great location for both as looks out onto Winter gardens very central and short stroll through Peace Gardens to City Hall for graduation. Toiletries in bathroom which were needed as in the rush both thought the other had picked up the overnight bag!We were late to check in 2am but no problem second floor room 2beds pushed together to make a large double and a sofa bed in the room desperate toilet to bathroom but no sink in it. Nespresso and kettle but only 3 milk cartons free bottles of fizzy and still water small wardrobe but good use of limited space in this area. Breakfast had amazing walnut and fruit bread which thought was from M +S but is even nicer than theirs they did fetch my husband gluten free toast and hash browns nice fruit salad but the best was plenty of good coffee and fruit juice strange how you need more fluid after drinking! Have used the pool before it is small very warm and has a sauna to the side gym has the usual equipment but again small. Fitted the bill due to location and quality of staff needs a bit of sprucing up in places.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Libbykira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Libbykira,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast the next morning. Thanks for the review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights so we could be in Sheffield for our daughter's graduation.
Travelling by car the hotel was easy to find, although the car park under the hotel was very cramped. Would not recommend taking a large vehicle.
On entering the hotel we used the stairway from the ground floor to reception. I'm sorry to say this area was in need of a very good clean.
Reception area was very good & the staff were friendly & helpful. After checking in we made our way to our rooms on the 5th floor.The corridor carpets could do with a good clean also.
The rooms were good with tea/coffeee facilities, fridge & safe. Bathroom was good although the shower door seal kept falling off. Very small wardrobe most of which was taken up by an ironing board. The bed was comfortable with clean bed linen.
Unfortunately my daughters room developed a very strong smell of sewerage which was not resolved during our stay,the hotel apologised & offered a refund on our car parking.
Restaurant area was good. There was a varied breakfast selection & overall the food was good although the " hot food " was lukewarm both mornings we had breakfast.
Bar area was was well kept with a relaxing atmosphere.
If you take your car & park under the hotel be careful where you park. On checking out & returning to the car i noticed what looked like water dripping from the ceiling onto my car roof & windscreen. While driving this " water " dried out & has left white stains on the roof & windscreen. I am having a real problem removing whatever it is !!!!.
All in all not a bad hotel.What I would say to the management though is have a good look at your cleaning & maintenance programmes. It would make a big difference to your guests

Room Tip: Don't book a room over the smoking area, it tends to be noisy. If you are offered room 530 make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Tim F,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your recent stay. I understand you have since spoken to a member of the Management team.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Good location and standard stuff you would expect from a chain but would have to say that the staff were absolutely brilliant. Genuinely friendly and very helpful. Recommended.
Our room overlooked the winter gardens
Nice bar area and menu looked nice although we didn't sample

Stayed: July 2014
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear ian b,

Glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Novotel Sheffield Centre (and your room's view).

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank WestwoodMan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2014

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank KMM073
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Spent last night in novotel Sheffield and was great from the start , we arrived 3 hours early and were able to access our room immediatlely which was a pleasent surprise room clean and comfortable with fridge and safe , reception staff friendly and helpful . There is a small pool which my grandson loved and we ate in elements last night again great staff and lovely food . We were given late checkout today again nothing was too much trouble we will certainly be using the hotel again thanks for making our stay so. Enjoyable

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brownleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Dear brownleeds,

I am delighted that the little things the team did ensured that you and your family had a lovely stay with us at the Novotel Sheffield Centre.

I hope your next visit to us will be just as hassle-free.

Thank you for the feedback and see you again soon.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#8 of 53 in Sheffield
2,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,343 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,702 reviews
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#9 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £47 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing