We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lively restaurant and bar, lovely quiet bedroom” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Sheffield Centre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Ranked #16 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant and bar, lovely quiet bedroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Met by friendly receptionist and was signed in quickly. restaurant and bar nearby and a lot of laughing and chatting going on - great vibe. Room clean and comfy. Did not hear any noise at all during evening and night - just how I like it.
My only criticism is that on entering you have to go up a floor, which was a bit confusing as no clear signage

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear 5weazel5,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to the Novotel Sheffield Centre. I’m delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the welcome signage on the ground floor which we will address.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,399 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    529
    236
    94
    56
See reviews for
291
429
106
361
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Great location, easy taxi ride to Sheffield university for the Graduation. Staff very friendly and helpful. Only down sides are as usual prices of drinks in the bars and lack of air conditioning in the rooms. Will go back because of its location.

Room Tip: Air conditioning needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Novotel Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear C M,

Thanks for your review. I’m glad you had a good stay with us inspite of the hot weather and I hope to see you on your next trip.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Booked at 7pm on the night we wanted to stay as both wanted to drink in Sheffield. Looked on lastminute.com and there was a room then rang the hotel and bartered a little stayed in an executive room but would not know why this is exec not too amazing but was ok with both having breakfast for 69 pounds. The hotel was full as it was graduation and tram lines festival. Great location for both as looks out onto Winter gardens very central and short stroll through Peace Gardens to City Hall for graduation. Toiletries in bathroom which were needed as in the rush both thought the other had picked up the overnight bag!We were late to check in 2am but no problem second floor room 2beds pushed together to make a large double and a sofa bed in the room desperate toilet to bathroom but no sink in it. Nespresso and kettle but only 3 milk cartons free bottles of fizzy and still water small wardrobe but good use of limited space in this area. Breakfast had amazing walnut and fruit bread which thought was from M +S but is even nicer than theirs they did fetch my husband gluten free toast and hash browns nice fruit salad but the best was plenty of good coffee and fruit juice strange how you need more fluid after drinking! Have used the pool before it is small very warm and has a sauna to the side gym has the usual equipment but again small. Fitted the bill due to location and quality of staff needs a bit of sprucing up in places.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Libbykira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Libbykira,

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the breakfast the next morning. Thanks for the review and we hope to welcome you back again.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had booked 2 rooms for 2 nights so we could be in Sheffield for our daughter's graduation.
Travelling by car the hotel was easy to find, although the car park under the hotel was very cramped. Would not recommend taking a large vehicle.
On entering the hotel we used the stairway from the ground floor to reception. I'm sorry to say this area was in need of a very good clean.
Reception area was very good & the staff were friendly & helpful. After checking in we made our way to our rooms on the 5th floor.The corridor carpets could do with a good clean also.
The rooms were good with tea/coffeee facilities, fridge & safe. Bathroom was good although the shower door seal kept falling off. Very small wardrobe most of which was taken up by an ironing board. The bed was comfortable with clean bed linen.
Unfortunately my daughters room developed a very strong smell of sewerage which was not resolved during our stay,the hotel apologised & offered a refund on our car parking.
Restaurant area was good. There was a varied breakfast selection & overall the food was good although the " hot food " was lukewarm both mornings we had breakfast.
Bar area was was well kept with a relaxing atmosphere.
If you take your car & park under the hotel be careful where you park. On checking out & returning to the car i noticed what looked like water dripping from the ceiling onto my car roof & windscreen. While driving this " water " dried out & has left white stains on the roof & windscreen. I am having a real problem removing whatever it is !!!!.
All in all not a bad hotel.What I would say to the management though is have a good look at your cleaning & maintenance programmes. It would make a big difference to your guests

Room Tip: Don't book a room over the smoking area, it tends to be noisy. If you are offered room 530 make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Tim F,

Thank you for the review. I am sorry that you were not impressed with your recent stay. I understand you have since spoken to a member of the Management team.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Good location and standard stuff you would expect from a chain but would have to say that the staff were absolutely brilliant. Genuinely friendly and very helpful. Recommended.
Our room overlooked the winter gardens
Nice bar area and menu looked nice although we didn't sample

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novotel Sheffie... C, General Manager at Novotel Sheffield Centre, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Dear ian b,

Glad you enjoyed your recent stay at the Novotel Sheffield Centre (and your room's view).

Thank you for staying with us and I hope we can welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
K Ikulayo
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.7 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Sheffield Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Sheffield Centre

Property: Novotel Sheffield Centre
Address: 50 Arundel Gate, Sheffield S1 2PR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Sheffield
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#12 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#13 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Sheffield Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An AA 4 star New Generation Novotel in the city centre, a few minutes walk from the train station, Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and Hallam University. Don Valley Stadium, Sheffield Arena, Meadowhall Shopping Centre, Chatsworth House and the Peak Districtare a short drive away. Offers 144 newly refurbished superior en suite rooms, Elements restaurant, bar, heated indoor pool and 7 meeting rooms. Non smoking throughout. Guests have free use our pool, steam room & gym. Limited onsite pay parking available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Novotel Sheffield Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Sheffield Centre Hotel Sheffield
Accor Sheffield Centre
Sheffield Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing