We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay - but where were the cookies??”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 September 2012

"Staying at the Doubletree? You'll get given a warm cookie at reception," said virtually everyone when I told them where I was going. Alas no cookie. Maybe I was on a corporate rate that doesn't allow for such extras. Hey, I didn't really want a cookie anyway. I did want a good night's sleep though, and had that in abundance with a really comfy bed and great pillows. It gave the room a luxury feel to match the understated quality of the rest of the offering. Great reception staff. In fact all good apart from a lack of wifi in the rooms. And that cookie.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frequentfiler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,334 - 1,340 of 1,665 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2012

The staff could not have been friendlier, or more helpful. The double room was clean, spacious and even though overlooking the car park was not at all noisy. The meal in the restaurant was lovely and once again the staff very attentive, polite and extremely pleasant. Breakfast the following morning was more of the same. Can't recommend this hotel enough, if my daughter does go to Sheffield University, we shall be staying here for sure on the odd occasion she allows us to visit her!!

Room Tip: our room, even, overlooking the car park was great with no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leighchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Another short break at this hotel and we were not disappointed! We had made an error with our booking and we were not booked in! Nevertheless the receptionist assured us that this was not a problem. We were assigned a room with the minimum of fuss & were then able to enjoy our stay in Sheffield. All of the staff were excellent, friendly & efficient. An enjoyable stay, to be repeated!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rowan55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Nice hotel on outskirts of city with only a short drive to the peak district. Nice touch at reception when we were handed warm chocolate cookies. I had opted for executive room which although very smart seemed quite small and not worth the extra paid. Have had larger rooms at Travelodge! The spa is excellent and as we were there on a sunday, was virtually empty.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Cannot comment on the food as we did not dine there as there are a number of restaurants within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank warwickfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We spent an 'events' night here: a large group of people from Lancas & Yorks. Welcoming staff & lovely organisation. Evening meal & dining room lovely. ONLY drawback was there was no seating area in the sun- on a rare sunny Saturday-Just when one wanted to relax. So much greenery/garden. Good breakfast & rooms had many good qualities ; T,V, coffee makingfacilities (if wanted), hairdryers...Nice room all in all & nice staff.

Room Tip: Cannot imagine any 'bad' rooms here, in terms of location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vicb2901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

I booked a weekend break at the Doubletree Hotel as part of a deal from Travelzoo. Firstly, the deal was amazing value for money! For £89 per person you got a 2 night stay with breakfast on both mornings, dinner in the hotel’s restaurant on the first night, afternoon tea in the hotel bar/lounge on either day, a bottle of wine and free tickets to Chatsworth House. That’s a lot!!

First Impressions

Very impressed with the hotel upon arrival. It doesn’t look like much from the outside but the inside is decorated beautifully. There was also plenty of car park spaces.

The Staff

The reception staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We were checked in very quickly and given a complimentary warm chocolate cookie which was so yummy! There were 6 of us staying and the staff did well to get us rooms that were close together. We were provided with directions and recommended restaurants. Nothing seemed like too much trouble.

The staff in the restaurant and bar were friendly and lively. We were twice served by a young man (with a striking resemblance to Vernon Kay) who provided excellent customer service with a smile.

The Room

The twin room was actually quite large. I recently stayed in a Hilton hotel and found that their room was much smaller!
The beds were clean and VERY comfortable. There was a writing desk, coffee table and chair, chest of drawers, wardrobe (with plenty of space and hangers), flat screen TV, hairdryer, telephone and air conditioning. The room had very thick curtains which meant total darkness at night time. Utter bliss!
The bathroom was light and adequately sized with a bath/shower and complimentary toiletries.

The Restaurant/Food

The restaurant looked newly refurbished with boutique decor. At dinner there was soft lighting and piano music in the background which was very nice. The food was absolutely fantastic. Couldn’t fault it in the slightest. Massive portions at reasonable prices. Very well presented and tasty too.

The afternoon tea we had at the bar was also very impressive with lots of tasty cakes to tuck into.

The breakfast was served as a buffet. It tasted good enough but my only complaint was that you had to order your eggs separately. We weren’t asked when we were first seated and so we had to search out a member of staff to order our eggs.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Doubletree and would definitely stay again and recommend to all our friends and family.

Recommended places to eat:

The Inn at Troway – Fantastic gastro pub food with amazing views
The Devonshire Arms (Pilsey Village and Beeley Village near Chatsworth) – You have to try their fish and chips

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aprilshowers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Stayed at this hotel with my husband for one night as guests at a wedding that had also taken place at the hotel. The hotel is on the outskirts of Sheffield. On arrival check in was very efficient. Our room was on the 3rd floor had a huge king bed which was very comfortable. The room was very clean and well furnished, bathroom was small but spotlessly clean and well stocked with complementary toiletries. We enjoyed drinks in the lounge bar on the ground floor and also the outside patio area was very nice. The room for the evening reception was beautifully dressed and the buffet was very good with a combination of hot and cold food. The wedding party told us that they had been well looked after throughout the day. Breakfast the next morning was a buffet with a good selection of hot and cold food, service was good. Throughout our stay staff were very friendly. The hotel was excellent value for the price we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden at the rear
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,331 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £52 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing