We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel but breakfast was a shamble” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
London
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but breakfast was a shamble”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

Stayed here end of October 2012, as I was attending a wedding reception at the hotel. Check in was quick and the staff were very friendly.

Rooms were very spacious and beds were very comfortable.
Swimming pool was decent sized but found the jacquizzi had to much chlorine in there and I ended up coughing a lot as a result.

Breakfast - luckily i walked in about 9ish and was seated. I feel they need to concentrate on the staff and train them more appropiately when serving breakfast. Food was constatly running out, queues were getting long and many people annoyed.
When waiting for about 15mins for some fried eggs, I came back to my table to see it was cleared! I then asked for new cutlery and a pot of tea which took over 45mins, and that was after I asked few other members of staff.

Even though my table was cleared in 15mins, the couple next to me left the breakfast room for over an hour and their table was not cleared. Looking at the front of the breakfast room the line was tailing back to the reception desk and people looked very very frustrated.

Staff need to learn simple people skills and being a bit polite to guests. Only a few were always smiling and happy to assist rather than the lady who was doing the refils on the breakfast who just looked miserable and when asked how long will the eggs take the same answer of "5mins" was given constantly

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deeps3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    623
    553
    179
    74
    49
See reviews for
262
696
55
214
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I attended a business meeting at the Double Tree hotel.
The staff and service throughout the day was excellent and nothing was too much trouble.

When refreshing water or bringing in tea/coffee the staff were professional and polite and did not disturb the flow of the meeting.

The restaurant was quite quiet when we went but the choice of food was good.

Whilst I did not stay at the hotel overnight the cleanliness on the public areas was very good.

The only negative to this hotel would be it is not directly off the motorway and as a visitor you should factor this into your journey time.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahLouJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

What can a say! Received a very warm welcome by reception, the room was lovely and then after this it all went down hill!!! FOUR STAR THIS IS NOT!

Dinner in the restaurant on the first night was very average, and braised red cabbage turned out to be microwaved chopped up red cabbage with nothing added.
Breakfast first morning cracked cups and no teaspoons, table not cleared between courses and cooked breakfast in the room the following morning arrived 40 minutesd late, the porridge was set solid and cold and the cooked brekfast was congealed and cold and unedible. Complaints made and £3 tray charge deducted ... what a joke!
Bathroom - flannels not replaced and bedroom water not replaced also

Shan't be staying in this chain again .... expect mch better from a four star Hilton

Unhappy B.J and M.M

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

I stayed for one night in October, on business. Check in was excellent and the cookie was much needed by that point. The room was comfortable, with a cosy feel. The bed was excellent. The bathroom was a little small, and the bathroom door had seen some action previously. The bar menu was uninspiring, so a colleague and I went into the restaurant. This was a mistake, as it took almost 2 hours for 2 courses and the main course was almost inedible. I wanted chicken, but there was nothing so mundane. My colleague ordered gammon, which turned out to be more like a thickly cut piece of bacon and about the same size as an average rasher. Whatever the 'pink' cress is that they put on everything; it smells like undergrowth and is very off-putting. As I couldn't eat my main course, the head waiter reduced the bill by taking off the drinks. Not much of a compromise when my main course was £22 and the drinks were about £8. I ordered a room service breakfast in the morning, but forgot to order a jug of milk. If memory serves, there was a 30 minute timeslot missing from the delivery schedule, which meant that I had to get up half an hour earlier than planned or I would be late for work. As I couldn't eat my breakfast anyway, it was a poor start to a very long day.

Room Tip: I had a front facing room, which picked up the noise form the A61. The windows and curtains blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We decided to have a night in the area so we could enjoy two days in the Peak District area. Our primary reason for visiting the area was to visit Chatsworth House. However it enabled us to visit Bakewell and other local attractions.

We choose the Doubletree as it was approximately 10 miles from Chatworth and as an Hilton Honors Diamond member decided to take advantage of all the privileges this give us. The hotel is on the edge of Sheffield and could be described as a functional commuter hotel. It does not have the frills of an Hilton hotel. Rooms are nicely layer out. Bar and resturant were very good. We decided to eat at the bar as we were happy with the bar menu. We ate breakfast in the main resturant the following morning, breakfast was as you would expect but nothing more.

Overall it was an average hotel but lack atmosphere and quality. Still we where there to visit the area and this is why we choose this hotel, so on that score it worked well.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sfran10536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

Again another great stay at a Doubletree hotel. Deluxe room was very nice, clean and comfortable. Extremely quiet on garden side 3rd floor. Lovely 3 course dinner. Slept well and had great breakfast. Set us up for visit to Chatsworth.

Free parking too, usually £10-20 at many Hilton group hotels.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DocGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We have just celebrated our friends 65th birthday with a Chatsworth break deal. Absolutely faultless.from checking in to checkout. The staff were very knowledgableand helpful. The leisure facilities were excellent . We arrived around 2.00pm and were given our welcoming pack which contained our tickets for Chatsworth, vouchers for a delicious High Tea and a voucher for a 3 couse meal with wine in the restuarant, the food was very very good.
How they do this deal for the price I do not know but I would recommend the break to anyone.give it wa try

Room Tip: Ask for rooms overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgebeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
8.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#3 of 54 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing