We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Filey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent enough hotel”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The hotel nice and clean. The rooms are a decent size and comfortable. The pool is a little on the small size but not too bad and there is a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna as well as a gym. Breakfasts were good with a decent amount of choice at the buffet.

My only criticisms are that the lighting in the room was a bit gloomy, especially around the large mirror. Also we had an evening meal in the restaurant at the same time as a large party was taking place and it appeared that the kitchens were struggling to cope (although we were given a free bottle of wine as compensation for the delays).

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Phil H,
Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read about the delay in the restaurant, however I am pleased to see our teams were able to rectify this for you.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    582
    191
    77
    53
See reviews for
275
730
57
234
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

hotel itself is fab but you need a car as it is a long way out of town. Trouble was that the internal walls appear to be made of tissue paper. Luckily I only stayed one night as I barely got any sleep. The people in the room next to mine came back late and proceeded to have a quiet chat for an hour, trouble was I could here virtually every word. Two hours later the alarm clock went off in the room the other side but was loud enough to wake me too, the subsequent 10 snoozes were not the best way to start a day. On the plus side, some of the staff are really helpful and friendly, the bathrooms are wonderful and the breakfast of very high quality. If I had taken earplugs with me it would have been a wonderful stay

Room Tip: one with no neighbours as there didn't seem to be much noise coming from outside , the hotel is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunnywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Sunnywin,
Thank you for taking the time to reivew our hotel. I was disappointed to read about the poor night sleep. If you do have plans to travel back to the area please do not hesitate to contact me directly as I would be happy to assist with any arrangements so that you have a peaceful nights sleep.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed in this hotel as we were going to see Russell Howard in Sheffield and do not live locally to this area. when we arrived at the hotel after the event, we found out that we had some rather noisy neighbours but they quietened down after half hour or so, so we decided not to say anything. At around midnight our neighbours became noisy again and being very tired we decided to say something at reception, the girl said there was no others rooms in the hotel available and that she would be down to say something to the other couple. half an hour later they were still noisy and no one had been to there room! my partner went back to complain again this time, the girl rang their room, i stayed behind i heard the phone ring, the other couple went silent and the phone rang off the couple continued! nothing else was done about this situation and the noisy couple continued throughout the night. to top it off the couple decided to leave early in the morning, leaving us with barely any sleep! i know nothing can be done about who your neighbours are but how the staff at the hotel respond could definitely be improved, no apology was given when it came to checking out. very dissapointed!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Charlotte A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Charlotte A,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was very sorry to read about the noise disturbances during your night. Guests staying at our hotel should have a relaxing stay and leave feeling refreshed, which I understand was the polar opposite for yourselves. I would like to apologise for the lack of response on check-out. The time taken to provide us with feedback is very important to us as this will now enable us to review procedures with regards to noise complaints.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely, welcoming staff, hotel has a very friendly atmosphere and warm cookie on arrival a nice touch. Food in restaurant was excellent and menu options for dining were varied. Best nights sleep in a hotel for a long time, comfortable bed and did not hear any other guests coming and going. You would need a car as not much to do in close vicinity.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 19 March 2014
Dear Lesley J,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Our 'Sweet Dreams' bedding is wonderful isn't it? It makes it hard to get out of bed in the morning though.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We stayed at the Doubletree Sheffield Park as we were visiting nearby Chatsworth House. We arrived late on a Friday evening and we were greeted by the friendly reception staff.

This is an out of town hotel, you will need a car if you're staying here. It was free to park and is very easy to find off of the main road.

When we arrived the man on reception explained that they were not able to upgrade us as we were travelling with a small dog, despite having been offered an upgrade via the Hilton Honours website. This is rather frustrating as the pet policies in Hilton brand hotels are very inconsistent- some will upgrade to a suite even with a dog... and others put you in the worst room in the hotel.

Our room was on the ground floor, it was basic but clean and looked as though it had been recently refurbished. There was plenty of wardrobe space and the room wasn't a bad size.

The breakfast was the standard Doubletree offering, nice setting, friendly staff and good food. There was a good mix of cooked breakfast, yogurts, fruits, pastries ect.

Every member of staff we encountered was friendly and happy to help, we asked at the front desk for tips on places to visit and they were always happy to help. In particular there was a very friendly receptionist who gave us tips on where to park at Chatsworth House.

I would recommend this hotel and we will likely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank danhnq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear danhnq,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel. We are happy to welcome our furry friends to the hotel. We do only have a couple of pet friendly rooms which are ground floor rooms so they are closer to the garden areas for walkies.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ampthill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Hilton is a very solid brand and Doubletree is a very good consistent offer. Well located hotel with clean comfortable rooms at a competitive rate. Ideal for business on the outskirts of the City Centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Simon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Simon J,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With warm regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Ok, Check in was slow and tedious. However! The person that checked me in was superb, it was my first (of many) stays at this hotel and I cannot fault a single aspect. Great rooms, lovely staff and very good food! What more can you ask for? They even let you bring your dog!

The other 'Hilton' branded hotel in the centre of Sheffield is equally good if you need to be right in the centre of Sheffield but if that's not important, then stay here!

You won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Negotiate an upgrade to a suite! well worth if for the extra space and amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Dear Pr0fessi0nalC0uple,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see overall you enjoyed your stay with us. As a return guest for your next stay with us the check-in procedure should be much smoother.

With warm regards
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,485 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing