We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Greedy Hotel, Make Sure you dont stay when theres an Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Manchester
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greedy Hotel, Make Sure you dont stay when theres an Wedding”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I Stayed Sunday 22nd June, There is only 1 entrance to the hotel and they put a red carpet and bollards either side so you could only get in the hotel by walking on the carpet, theres were 100's of guests at the asian wedding who were getting photos taken on th red carpet, thats ok but no other HOTEL guest could get through and you felt awarkward interruppting, the greedy hotel took the wedding Booking( which looked nice) and ignored other hotel guests, maybe it would have been easier closing the hotel down to HOTEL guests and just have the wedding? The lobby, all the entrance,Rooms were taken up by wedding, I would check beore making a booking ,I did speak to a manager in the morning who basically couldnt have cared less , the attitude was more " you do what you like, we are still having the weddings and blocking the entrance off" ! I will not be staying at this hotel again after this Greed experience.

Room Tip: Check that there is not a wedding on as it may affect your stay, good luck
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ssx_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear ssx_11,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I was disappointed to read that you had a poor experience in the hotel. We would not want anyone to think we do not care; we care very much about our guest's satisfaction and infact pride ourselves on it.

We are a popular venue for Weddings as we have extensive function facilities, and often other guests are invited to watch the wedding party arrive in true style and join in the celebration. I am sorry if on this occassion you felt you were ignored as this was most certainly not our intention.

Thank you very much for your feedback.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    640
    567
    186
    75
    50
See reviews for
266
718
56
226
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, TX
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

The staff at this hotel are polite and desire to make your stay pleasant, but have areas of trouble and are unable to compensate unhappy guests. The internet went down the evening we checked in and was not fixed for the duration of our stay. Also the room service food was poorly made/cooked and lacking ingredience. The facility is clean, the staff are helpful, and maybe we just experienced a fluke event this one night. Double Tree is reknown for its extra touches - we just didn't feel it this time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Molly K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Molly K,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am very disappointed to see your experience was not up to our usual standards. Like you say, we do pride ourselves on providing the little things and special acts of kindness that mean everything. However it would seem on this occassion we fell short. If you are in the area again, please do come and stay with us again to see that this was a one off and see the fantastic side of the hotel that so many other trip advisor reviewers have seen.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thetford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We booked this hotel with the sole intention of rest and recuperation, and after having spent the weekend camping in the squalor of the Download music festival it was worth every penny!

After breaking camp I phoned the hotel to ask about early check in and was pleased to hear the room was ready. We turned up about midday and were met by friendly and efficient staff armed with a deliciously warm choc chip cookie, and went straight to the room which, after the weekend we'd just had, was the absolute lap of luxury.

We had booked the King size deluxe which, although it overlooked the car park, was very quiet. It was also very deluxe.
The bed was huge, about eight feet wide, and was furnished with feather pillows which made me very happy as I cannot stand foam pillows. It was also exceptionally comfortable, making it extremely difficult to get off again once a suitably recumbent position was achieved.
The bathroom was fine. A bigger bath, or separate shower cubicle would have been nice but what we had was adequate with the usual supply of complimentary accessories. Pity the luxurious bathrobe and matching slippers weren't freebies too, but they were certainly appreciated.

With plenty of tea and coffee available, including a packet of biscuits the room was topped off by a big LCD tv facing the bed. Oh, and free wifi too. Perfect.

He following morning we heightened our decadence by ordering breakfast brought up to the room. Not sure I agree with having to pay an extra £3 for the tray service but again, after the weekend we'd had, it was totally worth it and it was a total shame that we had to get dressed and book out.

It was also a shame that we didn't get to use the facilities either, such as the swimming pool or the fitness gym. Next time maybe, because if we ever find ourselves in Sheffield again and in need of a bit of R&R, then we wouldn't hesitate in going back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redroom10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Redroom10_10,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased you decided to go for a bit of luxury after the festival and you were not disappointed. Our hotel is certainly very different to the muddy fields of a musix festival! We look forward to welcoming you again next year.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

Many hotels in the Hilton Group could learn from this hotel.
1. Tidy, well maintained exterior.
2. Speedy check in (and out) by friendly efficient staff.
3. Clean sizeable room.
4. Dogs welcome.
5. Fridge in room.
6. A/C that works.
7. A window that opens.
8. No charge for car parking.
9. HOT breakfast buffet items and HOT plates.
10. Scrupulous housekeeping even in a pet friendly room.
Want an 11 ? Reinstate dining offer for residents.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tonyitfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Tonyitfc,
Thank you for taking the time to provide another great review. It will be a pleasure to pass on your comments to our teams - I especially like the organised numeric format!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

A thoroughly professional hotel. The breakfast was excellent, the free room upgrade to an executive room I received as a gold member was fantastic as I ended up with a large room and another room that had a table and lounge area in it. The room was spotless and I received the standard cookie on my arrival. One of the best hiltons i've stayed at in the UK.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theturnipking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Theturnipking,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. What a wonderful compliment to say we are one of the best UK Hiltons you have stayed in.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Easy to find and practically located the hotel offers a high level of personal and what appears genuine service. There's ample parking, a health club with a small swimming pool but also a sauna and gym. The hotel appears to have been recently refurbished in parts. My room was big and had all amenities. Only downside was the poor airconditioning accepting it was a hot day it didn't work very well. Wi-fi is easy to use and free. Dinner was good and resonable value for money. Check out was simple with a final bill posted through your door so you can check details before you depart: you can then check out in person or drop off the envelope.

Room Tip: If a hot day ask for a room at the back of the hotel. Not on the front facing the car park as this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goingplaces247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Goingplaces247,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 June 2014

The Air conditioning was a bit noisy during the night and didn't seem that effective. Also the feather duvet was too warm... Swimming pool was good for the kids but it is only small and gets crowded quickly. Changing rooms are tiny..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kurt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Kurt L,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and for your feedback about the bedding and the air conditioning. I have requested our maintenance manager addresses the issue.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
8.7 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing