We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functional, and with nice staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“Functional, and with nice staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

I had a brief one-night stay here in June 2014 (room 210). The hotel is a Hilton, so is not a place aiming to surprise or be trendy. Staff were courteous and friendly, and there is a quite large gym (and small pool) in the fitness complex. The room was clean and decent sized, the mattress a touch firm but comfortable enough. WiFi worked well, and free if you register for the Hilton loyalty program. Lighting was fine and there were two electrical sockets at desk level, so you can recharge your phone without hunting around on the floor at the back of a wardrobe, as happened to me in one hotel recently. The only negative was the size of the bed, which while it may technically be a double bed, is only in that sense that you can technically fit five people into a Fiat Panda - you can, but you won't be comfortable. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet was very good.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andy Hayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Andy Hayler,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed the facilities in the hotel. For your next stay please enquire about the availability of our King guest rooms - the beds are very generously sized but are very popular so be sure to reserve your room with our in-house reservations department. We also offer deluxe rooms and suites if you decide to treat yourself.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    656
    591
    193
    78
    53
See reviews for
279
735
58
238
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Durham
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have just got back from two nights at the Doubletree on the Chatsworth house break which was a present for my Mam's 60th birthday. We found the package to be excellent value for money and it far exceeded our expectations. The dinner on the first night was a 3 course from the a la carte menu and everything was delicious. The breakfasts were from a buffet and were pretty much standard from a hotel like this but perfectly acceptable. The afternoon tea was lovely, just enough and the trio of desserts made it feel like a real treat, even for someone like me who isn't a sweet tooth. For me the highlight of this hotel were the staff, especially the Restaurant and the Lounge bar. Very friendly but without being overbearing, they are a credit to the hotel. The Spa is also a very welcome retreat at the end of long day sightseeing although we were so done in we just retreated to the jacuzzi and didn't take advantage of the other facilites (I did go for a brief swim). All in all this is a lovely hotel with incredibly helpful and friendly staff and on the Chatsworth break, superb value for money

Room Tip: We had a first floor room 108 so to the back of the hotel. It was fine, clean, quiet and to the back...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toonali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Toonali,
Thank you for such a great review. Our Chatsworth Break is very popular, and receives such wonderful feedback. All Mums deserve to be treated, so be sure to contact our in-house reservations department to see what other offers we have.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 28 June 2014

What a warm welcome one receives when arriving at the Double Tree Hotel in Sheffield, little extras like freshly made cookies in your room do give this hotel that extra + for recommendation. ALL of the hotel staff were both helpful and kind throughout our stay, and all of the food we ate within the hotel during our stay (breakfasts and bar meals) was in our opinion quality fodder. We had family meeting us in the hotel both to stay and as guests and all were made to feel welcome, looked after and were provided with a quality service. To all the staff at Double Tree I and my family would like to say - THANK YOU. Jayne McDermott and family

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank JAMRotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear JAMRotherham,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to see you enjoyed your stay. We take pleasure in warmly welcoming all our guests, both residents and non-residents, to our hotel.

We look forward to seeing you next time.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

VERY comfortable bed, quiet air conditioning and well thought out facilities in the room led to a wonderful night's sleep. Have stayed in many hotels and this bed was one of the best. Large TV, and also a fridge which came in useful for cooling drinks for our roadtrip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank sico63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear sico63,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. A good night's sleep before a road trip sounds perfect, and I am pleased to see the fridge in the room was useful too.

We look forward to seeing you next time you are passing.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 June 2014

On the whole it was a good experience, we had a few gripes, but nothing that would stop me staying here again. The room had all you would want for a leisure stay. Very think blackout curtains for a great sleep, a big TV (if like us you had to back in your room with a sleeping baby early!) and a nice bathroom and decent shower. Fridge was also empty so we could bring our own things to keep cool for our 1 year old which was handy.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Kate M,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay, and I trust that our team were able to resolve any of the gripes. I hope the little one enjoyed their stay too!

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Excellent hotel, ideally situated for exploring the Peak district. Standard of service and food very high, staff are most helpful and polite. Bedrooms are clean and very comfortable beds to sleep in. Pool and Spa areas are great, cannot fault this hotel, would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Demalec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Demalec,
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. It is great to see you foudn our hotel to be clean, and the staff were their usual friendly selves.

We look forward to seeing you soon, and thank you once again for the recommendation.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My partner and I spent two nights here in early June while travelling around the county. When we arrived, mid-afternoon, the main car park was full because there was an event being held at the hotel which we were not aware of. We had to park by the entrance. The front desk staff explained that even the overflow car park was full and this was quite unusual. However, check-in was quick and easy and the staff were pleasant. This was our first time at a DoubleTree although we have stayed in other hotels in the group. First impressions were good and the public areas were clean and tidy. We were given a room on the 2nd floor which looked out over the rooftops. The room itself was spotlessly clean and comfortable. As we didn't know the area we asked for restaurant recommendations for the evening and the receptionist was glad to oblige. Staff were helpful throughout our stay, in particular the duty manager Heather who helped us on more than one occasion. Just a few minor points to make - the hair drier is kept in a cupboard by the desk, which is not immediately obvious. Its storage makes it slightly awkward to use. For some reason one television channel kept cutting out. The bed was very comfortable but I would have preferred not to have feather pillows. Having said that, I'm sure it would have been possible to change them had I asked. We didn't use many of the facilities but we did have a drink in the very pleasant bar and bar prices were reasonable. We also took up the option of the breakfast upgrade for £10 when booked in advance and we found it very tasty with a good selection of hot and cold food and drinks. For our first stay we had a really good experience and would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Our room at the side of the hotel was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itchyfeet021065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather C, Guest Relations Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Itchyfeet021065,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so pleased to see that, despite a busy carpark, you were not disappointed once you checked in. I am glad to see the team made a great first impression for your first stay at a DoubleTree.

It was a pleasure to be of assistance, and I look forward to your return.

With kind regards

Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
4.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
3.8 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#19 of 53 in Sheffield
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
Address: Chesterfield Road South, Sheffield S8 8BW, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#14 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Family Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park is a contemporary hotel with top-quality 4-star facilities. Situated on the outskirts of Sheffield, yet with superb travel links, this DoubleTree by Hilton hotel is the perfect base for South Yorkshire, The Peak District and North Derbyshire. This is one of the few hotels in Sheffield able to offer complimentary car parking, fully air-conditioned bedrooms, 11 meeting rooms, an award-winning restaurant and revive Health Club making it the best place for your next stay in Sheffield. The Hotel holds a Four Star AA rating and an AA Rosette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
House Moat Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing