We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant!”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Rutland Hotel is situated close the the Hallamshire Hospital and Sheffield Hallam University's Collegiate Campus. Check in was efficient with friendly staff. My room I must say, was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in and was quite dark, having part wood panels on the walls. It was also situated down two flights of stairs and it felt like I was in the basement. However, it was comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect e.g. coffee/tea making, free wi fi etc. We ate at the hotel's restaurant which had a limited menu but served delicious dishes that were freshly prepared and served steaming hot. Decor in the rooms needs some TLC and if I stayed here again I'd request a different room as I believe they vary in size, but overall, a nice little place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can, have a look at the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    117
    115
    65
    51
See reviews for
97
113
59
127
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We booked a double room when visiting Sheffield for a friend's wedding. It's nicely located and has enough parking.

The staff at reception were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in quite an old building some of the corridors are starting to look a little dated however, once in our room we were really pleased. A modern, good sized and nicely furnished room with mood lighting with an adjoining wetroom. All was spotless and in good order.

We had a quick late night drink in the bar after returning from the wedding and were made to feel welcome. We had a good night's sleep with no noise or comfort issues and breakfast in the morning was great with very good, friendly service.

We'd definitely stay again. We paid a little more than other travellers who have reviewed - £90 including breakfast - but still think it was well worth it especially as the hotel provides free wifi.

We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

Arrived in Sheffield about 6.30pm headed for the centre, Novotel and Jury's Inn both £90.00 for a night with Brakfast, hmm, had a look on the Internet found The Rutland Hote, called and booked on the phone, £60.00 inc breakfast! Hotel friendly, service cracking, room had all you wanted! Excellent Hotel cracking value for money, will not hesitate to stay here again. MMoore, Cambs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoore61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2012 via mobile

Stayed for several weeks whilst working over the summer. Very quiet during the week, although it gets very busy at weekends and at the start and end of university terms.
Location is excellent. Good parking in the hotel. On the bus route to the city centre. Very close to excellent restaurants at the top of the Glossop Road (particularly Thyme cafe and Lokanta where the early doors meal for £12 is very good value).
Only had one evening meal in the restaurant which was OK but I was the only one in the restuarant. Again, only had breakfast once which was OK, but at £10 was pricey.
I note the comments about the walk in showers; each of the rooms I stayed in had the same arrangement and it did cause the floor to be wet, but it is an inconvenience rather then an annoyance and the quality of the showers more than adequately make up for this.
The free and high speed wifi is a positive plus, but the further you are away from the reception, the more patchy the Internet connection became. For that reason I tended to request rooms 113 and 115.
An excellent value hotel for business use and the reception staff were superb.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank wavydavy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bromwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Disappointed with double room. Kept banging my legs on hard wooden bed frame because there was so little room to get round it. Tiny shower room with nowhere to put toiletries bag etc. except on the floor which got very wet when I turned the shower on. The toilet flush handle was covered up by the toilet seat cover which I found quite awkward. Toiletries consisted of liquid soap in dispensers bolted high up on the wall making it very difficult to get any out unless you were over 6 ft. No lifts but the the receptionist offered help with bags. Location suited us because we were there for a wedding in Fullwood. Maybe we were unlucky to get this room, we had not stayed there before so can't compare. Can't comment on restaurant as we didn't eat there.

Disappointed tripper

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MJB B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed here due to the close proximity of it to relatives we were visiting. The room was tiny, nowhere to put suitcases and no draws. The bed was comfortable and we did sleep well. The hotel is extremely drab and could do with a makeover. Certainly not 4 Star and it's overpriced. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We booked this hotel on the basis that it was only one night, and the gushing website talked of
"... photographic wallpaper combined with ... Gilchrist and Soames toiletries ... and interactive LCD TV's." The reality was appalling

The room was small, provided as a single and towards the top of the hotel. The air conditioner did nothing other than to make the air hotter and, for the short time we tried to use it, ran with the volume of a rattly 747 engine

True - there was one piece of photographic wallpaper above the bed - but the toiletries turned out to be a G&S-labelled bottle bolted to the wall. The interactive LCD TV turned out to be an ordinary hotel flat screen bolted high up on the wall

The piece of bacon left on the dark stairs was indicative of the cleanliness, and cleaning regime

The breakfast itself was OK-ish, but why close off the conservatory end of the breakfast room and make guests eat in a dingy room? It seemed to be closed only so that the staff didn't have to walk another 10 paces. It is simply not a 4* hotel

For the same sort of money, the Leopold is much, much better with staff who genuinely care and a more central location

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellerk999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
721 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
1.6 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
421 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 452 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Rutland and you'll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield's vibrant centre. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing