We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thankyou!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #32 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Wigan, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thankyou!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

Stayed for a conference with my wife and six month old twins. Great service right from the start with the manager helping me get settled while my wife attended a seminar. Front of house, waiting and cleaning staff were all extremely helpful, making sure the twins and I were ok while my wife was busy. Following a problem with the room the manager relocated us to another, more superior room with no fuss. Problems happen, it's how they're dealt with that counts. Lovely breakfast and dinner. Great location for the university and botanical gardens. Will definitely stay again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calyp84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    112
    112
    63
    50
See reviews for
95
111
58
123
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

A recent stay at the Rutland as part of a University reunion shows that it can be a bit of a curate's egg. I.e. some good things and some less good.

The communal areas, bar etc. were clean tidy and welcoming, as were the staff. The breakfast was tasty and good quality.

So how about the room? I booked a single which was very small, with space for a bed, small wardrobe and desk but had an en-suite bathroom that was as big as the room! The bathroom was very attractive with stone tiles etc. and was very clean with no signs of damp etc. The bed was comfy and the room temperature comfortable. The TV was attached to the side of the wardrobe and is probably the world's slowest TV - click a button on the remote to change channel etc. and wait 5 seconds for the channel actually to change!

So my conclusion - if you are in a group of friends etc. and are likely to spend more time out of your room than in it, a single is not too bad. If you are a family group/business traveller wanting to spend more time in your room then I cannot recommend a single room.

Room Tip: If you are in a group of friends etc. and are likely to spend more time out of your room than in it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jschwa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

I have stayed at the Rutland Hotel on four different occasions over the past year. The location of the hotel is perfect for University and the hotel is comfortable and welcoming for an overnight stop. On three of the four occasions I have booked executive double but due to one poor nights sleep due to noisy air conditioning unit decided to book smaller double room this time which worked out a lot cheaper. I was very pleased with room and although smaller the room was comfortable and only real difference was we had shower and no bath. The breakfast at the hotel is well worth the extra £10 and the bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Over the interconnecting bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diannesmithy115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

It's been done up to a pretty good standard and it was nice and quiet despite being such a large hotel on a bus route. The room was pretty big too and had a settee in which was a bonus.

Negatives ? It was cold, really cold and there was a glass see through door on the bathroom which I found a little strange.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilaclilac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxenhope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012

The Rutland Hotel is situated close the the Hallamshire Hospital and Sheffield Hallam University's Collegiate Campus. Check in was efficient with friendly staff. My room I must say, was the smallest hotel room I have ever stayed in and was quite dark, having part wood panels on the walls. It was also situated down two flights of stairs and it felt like I was in the basement. However, it was comfortable and had all the amenities you would expect e.g. coffee/tea making, free wi fi etc. We ate at the hotel's restaurant which had a limited menu but served delicious dishes that were freshly prepared and served steaming hot. Decor in the rooms needs some TLC and if I stayed here again I'd request a different room as I believe they vary in size, but overall, a nice little place to stay.

Room Tip: If you can, have a look at the rooms before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crazyann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

We booked a double room when visiting Sheffield for a friend's wedding. It's nicely located and has enough parking.

The staff at reception were helpful and friendly. The hotel is in quite an old building some of the corridors are starting to look a little dated however, once in our room we were really pleased. A modern, good sized and nicely furnished room with mood lighting with an adjoining wetroom. All was spotless and in good order.

We had a quick late night drink in the bar after returning from the wedding and were made to feel welcome. We had a good night's sleep with no noise or comfort issues and breakfast in the morning was great with very good, friendly service.

We'd definitely stay again. We paid a little more than other travellers who have reviewed - £90 including breakfast - but still think it was well worth it especially as the hotel provides free wifi.

We'd definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnBuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2012

Arrived in Sheffield about 6.30pm headed for the centre, Novotel and Jury's Inn both £90.00 for a night with Brakfast, hmm, had a look on the Internet found The Rutland Hote, called and booked on the phone, £60.00 inc breakfast! Hotel friendly, service cracking, room had all you wanted! Excellent Hotel cracking value for money, will not hesitate to stay here again. MMoore, Cambs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmoore61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
0.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
1.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 452 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Rutland and you'll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield's vibrant centre. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing