We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Style over substance”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Nice staff, pleasant public areas and very good (but slightly expensive) breakfast. Room was a bit disappointing. It looked very nice and modern, with earthy warm colours and a comfortable mattress but didn't have many creature comforts. Wooden bed frame was dark wood and against the dark carpet I couldn't see it clearly and frequently bashed my legs on the corners. Only 4 hangers in the wardrobe. Had to ask for an extra blanket as felt very cold the first night. Single glazed so had a bit of traffic noise. Bathroom was a wet-room with a shower - looked good and in theory good for disabled visitors but soap dispensers set way too high for anyone in a wheelchair to reach. Nice overhead shower but made most of the floor wet so made it tricky to dry your feet and the travertine tiled floor was cold underfoot. Only one heated radiator so not very warm either. Toilet was fixed too high on the wall. There were tea and coffee-making facilities but no extra toiletries or treats to make you feel like it was a 4-star hotel. I think this hotel has the potential to be very good if a lot more thought is taken over the small details.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank XOrchard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (483)
There are newer reviews for The Rutland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

319 - 325 of 483 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2013

The staff here go out of the way to be caring and helpful but the hotel is poor. I cannot believe a hotel can get away with no disabled lift. We were recently at a wedding and it was impossible for my sister to get to the bar or downstairs reception area without being pushed outside and around building.
The rooms are not large and had they been better thought out they would be more comfortable. Nice large fluffy towels, but hand wash and gel placed high on the wall of the bathroom. room 5 the toilet is so close to the wall and door impossible. This room has a shower over the bath but no bath mat so quite sloppy, I ended up putting a towel in the bath to stop slipping Very noisy road outside. Very convenient for the Freeman and Children's hospital close to the university..

The food was excellent and a lovely breakfast

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road if they exists.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fkj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

I was fooled by their website which has very artfully taken photos that do not accurately reflect the hotel. It is shabby and not particularly clean. The rooms are dark and unwelcoming. The staff are very nice and agreed to upgrade us from the truly awful room on the ground floor that we initially had but the new room was not much better. Next time we'll go to Jury's Inn or Novotel much cleaner, brighter and better value.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Very comfortable bed with memory foam mattress but the room was cold, my sheet was torn and there was only one blanket, which wasn't enough to keep warm. The room only had hot air vents in the ceiling which warmed the room up but it was not pleasant to leave on for long or overnight as it made the air too dry. There were big single glazed windows which didn't keep out the noise from the busy road and were hung with yellowing net curtains. We found the room to be characterless and dingy. There was no radio and the TV only had a few main channels that were free, everything else, including music, was chargeable. The bathroom was very small, but at least this was warm, but had no shaving socket.

Breakfast was good and the staff were polite and pleasant. Location was excellent for university or hospital and it served its purpose but I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a special occasion.

Room Tip: Ask for one away from the main road.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angel1na
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

For what you get I suppose it's not to bad. You do get a memory foam mattress, a warm welcome, free wifi and parking, although by rights nowadays you should anyway.

However upon closer investigation, I found that the room was no where near as clean as it could have been. I was able to write my name in the dust in the wardrobe, old water still in the kettle complete with bug, I used about 15-20 baby wipes in order to clean the bathroom floor and remove the hair, fluff and dust from previous guests.

Upon me raising this issue with reception, I was offered to change rooms, and the receptionist kept the baby wipes smothered in crap to show to her manager, I was also informed that the housekeeping staff are agency, what difference does that make?

All this before my first nights sleep, hopefully the week won't get worse.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tokey89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

I booked into an executive room at this hotel during the Easter break and found it to be extremely comfortable and well appointed, albeit the large photo print on the wall behind the bed head somewhat quirky! The en-suite bathroom was modern and spotless and, although complimentary sachets of shower gel and shampoo weren't provided, I believe they were available if required. However, the provision of bottled water, plus a small box of chocolates was a nice gesture.

Every member of staff with whom I came into contact was obliging, courteous and friendly. I enjoyed breakfast the following morning in a light and airy conservatory overlooking the garden and, although I chose not to order the full Yorkshire breakfast, the ones being served looked absolutely delicious.

I'd be more than happy to stay again at this hotel on future visits to Sheffield.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. Superb food. Had two excellent breakfasts, at very good value and delicious bar snack (cheesy nachos - £3) and a wonderful evening meal - exceptional quality and value for money. Rooms were eccentric in decor but clean and comfortable. Were there for my husband to have radiotherapy at hospital within easy walking distance so the helpfulness of staff made the stay much easier for us.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamstrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
758 reviews
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Florentine
The Florentine
#24 of 53 in Sheffield
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#37 of 53 in Sheffield
447 reviews
1.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 452 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £67 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Rutland and you'll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield's vibrant centre. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing