We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #33 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Room was lovely and bed very comfortable. However wasn't particularly clean.
Amenities for drinks in the room was very poor considering the price of the hotel and star rating. There were only two tea bags so had to ask for more, one biscuit, 2 mugs that didn't match, 1 glass not in plastic hygiene wrapping. I know small things but I'm used to this attention to detail in 3 star budget hotels so why not here.
Only 2 plug sockets to juggle phone chargers, hair straighteners, kettle, lamp and tv.

The room was freezing and didn't warm up during our stay.

Overall the hotel was nice but for the price expected better.
The

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Yoyoyoyeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    121
    116
    66
    52
See reviews for
100
114
60
131
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights to visit someone on hospital, and we chose this hotel as it was very close to the hospital. After walking from modern foyer the rest of the hotel was in need of updating. No lift which could be a problem if you have large suitcases. The room was adequate but no twin bedded rooms. During our stay there was a power failure. To be fair the staff sorted it quickly by resetting the trip switch. We were told it was as a result of a guest using the wrong voltage electrical equipment.

During our stay I checked the bill on the television and noticed that breakfast had been added when we had not eaten breakfast. When I checked with reception they advised this was standard procedure for all rooms and asked guests on check out if they had eaten breakfast. If they had not then it would be deducted from bill. Never seen this policy in a hotel before.

Had dinner in restaurant on first night. Only people in the restaurant. Food was okay but expensive for what it was. The rest of the time we ate out at nearby restaurants.

Previously stayed in Premier Inn and thought on this occasion as our stay was for 3 nights in stead of 1 we would look at a "better" hotel. Mistake certainly would not rate as 4 star and if we return would look elsewhere.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Pelston54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Our first impression of the hotel was that signage is very poor, apart from the clear, bright sign by the roadside on Glossop Road. Arriving in the car park we could see no signs to reception, then having found a sign we still couldn't see where to go at first - an 'Entrance' or 'Reception' sign actually over the door would make sense. Granted it was a very wet evening when we arrived, but that is not uncommon in the area.

Having found our way inside, we then found we had to climb stairs to reception. What do disabled guests do, or those with several pieces of luggage or small children? There is no lift in the hotel, although it should have been straightforward to install one when the hotel was extended. The maze of corridors was difficult to navigate - again, there was no sign to guide us to our room, which was along a corridor to the right; I did check behid the fire door, but found none.

We later found that there is level access to reception from Broomfield Road, but that then entails a walk outside to get back into the hotel after parking or to get to the breakfast room and bar.

We had been warned by looking at the hotel's website that rooms had very dark colour schemes, but to actually be in one wasn't at all pleasant; a lighter colour scheme would have made a big difference to the feel and comfort of the room.

Maybe the hotel owners expect their guests to be young, fit business people who like 'hip-looking' rooms. Unfortunately, many of their guests don't fit that profile; when we stayed there we saw quite a number of older people, at least two of whom needed help to walk. As the hotel is so close to the Hallamshire hospital, it's to be expected that some guests will be there for treatment etc and would appreciate good, clear signs, a lift etc. A discount is given for people visiting the hospital, which is an excellent idea.

On the plus side, the bed in our room was extremely comfortable, everywhere was clean and the bathroom was spacious. The parts of the hotel we saw looked clean and well maintained. The cost of the room was fair. Breakfast was tasty, and the two ladies who served breakfast were extremely helpful - a real asset to the hotel.

If I visit Sheffield again to go to the Hallamshire hospital I would stay at the hotel again, despite the drawbacks, as it's very close by. Other than that, I wouldn't consider it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardengirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

It's a 4* hotel but it didn't hit the mark in any respect.

The hotel is essential two large old houses on a sloping site connected by a bridge from the ground floor of the main house to the first floor of the other. It has been altered internally so there are steps up and down everywhere, and carpets do not match and their patterns clash. The renewed parts are renovated with good quality fittings by amateurs - my bathroom had four different, clashing types of stone tiles, the towel rail was installed where it unnecessarily clashed with the door, the toilet seat was mounted unnecessarily within millimetres of the wall so you had to squat sideways, and the clothes hook was mounted too high for me to use. The bedroom was dark. The bar food was poor - the recommended steak pie was full of uneatable, gristly chunks, the mashed potato was cold on one side and too hot on the other (how did they do that?). The tables (I tried three) were sticky, the chairs too low, so I was uncomfortable.

In the renovation no lift was installed anywhere, although it could have been hidden in the bridge and respected the listed status of the building. The access from the car park (which is cramped, with very narrow spaces) and into the main entrance on Glossop Road involves a climb up a slope to the restaurant and bar and then a staircase to reception that is not straight and has poor handrails. There is level access to reception from a side street, Broomfield Road, and on to some bedrooms, and the bridge, but access from this level to the bar and the restaurant (for dinner and breakfast) would be by going outside to the street and then going on the pavement around the corner.

The hotel has pretensions but is poor value for money. The situation is convenient for the hospital and the university but apart from that I can't think of a reason to recommend it at the price. It is definitely not for people who have more than minor mobility problems.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cassini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

This hotel is in a good location - within ten minutes or so of the city center (walking) and more or less next door to the University of Sheffield. Though it's right on a main road, it was quiet enough inside. The rooms have obviously been remodeled quite recently, and have a boutique feel about them, with mood lighting and big enough beds, though the one I was in had a bathroom that was on the small side (my partner and I couldn't really use it at the same time). The food was good, dinner in particular was well above expectations (though breakfast wasn't sub-standard), and the conservatory dining room was attractive and well designed, and the serving staff were attentive and efficient. But the one thing to be aware of is that this hotel has been constructed by joining together several old houses, which means that it's an absolute maze of passageways and stairs, and unless you get a room really close to the reception you'll be continually going up and down rather a lot of stairs. This adds to the quirky feel of the place, but for anyone with mobility problems it would be a nightmare, and I can imagine that it would be a very interesting experience if there was a fire alarm in the middle of the night, as I hadn't a clue how to get out from where I was situated.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Having stayed at this hotel frequently over the past few weeks, I feel I should share my experience. I am using the hotel as a base for work but I have met people who use it for many different reasons, all of which are catered for in a professional yet welcoming manner. I have stayed in several rooms on my various visits, all of which have been kept to a very high standard. The bar in the hotel has a nice friendly atmosphere and the restaurant is equally as nice with a lovely specials menu to choose from. I defy anybody to leave The Rutland Hotel anything less that totally relaxed and very satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DRB1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This hotel is in a great location for the hospital, on arrival the staff were great, welcoming and helpful. The room was spacious and the shower room was good.
Breakfast was very good with a wide choice of pastries and cereal and the cooked breakfast was very tasty.
I would stay here again!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michhill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.6 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
735 reviews
0.9 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
1.1 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
1.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#9 of 53 in Sheffield
1,125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheffield Metropolitan
Sheffield Metropolitan
#36 of 53 in Sheffield
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 452 Glossop Road, Sheffield S10 2PY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at The Rutland and you'll discover an idyllic retreat, set in its own private landscaped gardens, away from the hustle and bustle of city life, yet just a short cab ride away from Sheffield's vibrant centre. A truly unique hotel experience, The Rutland offers modern bedrooms with stunning design features, a warm, relaxed atmosphere, fresh local food, and an exceptional level of service that sets it apart from other, sometimes soulless, city centre properties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing