We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent base in Sheffield”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent base in Sheffield”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2012

Cheap parking
Clean room, good shower.
Good position.
Nice staff
Great breakfast, lovely fresh cooked omelette
Good value

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I was glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    498
    314
    162
    103
See reviews for
336
504
62
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

Booked room only with 3 friends for my 40th birthday celebrations and loved every minute of hotel. Allocated a room on the second floor with a balcony that over looked the canal marina which was very welcome. We had double/double rooms which are great but obviously you lose a little floor space. The car park was great to be on site and reasonable at £5 per night. Staff were fabulous and very helpful even down to the lovely man who looked after our rooms and kept us stocked up on tea and milk! Leisure facilities were good. The hotel could do with a little bit of "tarting up" particularly in the rooms (door missing off one of units and a bit old fashioned) but it didn't matter. Some of the residents were a bit noisy but it was St Patricks Day so to be expected. Will definitely be coming back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandaPanda2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Sheffield for your 40th birthday.

From the bedroom, staff members and Livingwell facilities; it is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback.

Your comments regarding the missing cupboard doors has also been noted and will be addressed by the Maintenance Manager.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Yorkshire
Level Contributor
109 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2012

I did expect that anything to do with the Hilton would be first class, as is the hotel, but I was in for a rude awakening when My husband and I visited the spa area at the living well at the Hilton. The girl on the desk looked unkempt, untidy and didn't appear to be concerned that we were waiting to be signed in, as she was more concerned with gossiping with someone in the back office. We were given towels and told the spa etc was down the stairs. The area around the reception was clutter free with a good selection of swimwear etc to buy, there were chairs to sit in and a television room available with the daily papers. The upstairs rooms appeared to be full as classes were underway. I noticed that the glass surrounding the pool was grubby and very dull, covered in water marks, it didn't look clean, not what you would expect in a health suite. The ladies changing room floor was covered in water, finding a changing cubicle was difficult as there are only three, the rest is open planned. My cubicle was in a bit of a state, talc and water over the floor and walls. Someone said that she was a member and it's always in a state, no matter when you come. The pool side was obviously well used, and could have done with a good clean. The hot tub, unfortunately wasn't working and despite someone going up to reception to report it no one came. The steam room was also in a bit of a state too, someone had left empty drink bottles lying around and plastic wrappers. Tiles to the floor were broken and some of the tiles to the benches were loose. At no time did I see (we were in just over 2 hours) anyone check on the pool area, nor were there any one seeing over the children who had come with their parents and were just left to run about. We had planned to stay a little longer and make use of the loungers to read our papers, but we had had enough and left. The shower area was also in an absolute mess, plastic bags on the floor and razors left ontop of the shower valves and with no shower soap in the dispensers I decided to get dressed and take my shower once in my room. There was also no soap in the ladies loo, the TV/sterio radio etc wasn't working and according to another who was a member it had been like this for some months. The changing rooms were a disgrace, absolutely disgusting. Would we stay at the Hilton again.....yes. Would we visit their living well..No way. I value my health.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank busterandtilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 21 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

Firstly I would like to apologise for your recent LivingWell experience; this is not the usual high standards that we deliver and I am sorry that you felt the receptionist was uninterested in welcoming you into LivingWell. The LivingWell Manager has now spoken to his reception team.

With regards to the wet floors within the ladies changing rooms unfortunately the changing room and pool side motors seized therefore no air handling was functioning within the wet areas during this period. I would like to assure you that both of these motors have been replaced and the spa and television are both in full working order. I am sorry for any inconvenience that was caused.

The condition of the changing rooms and steam room is also unacceptable and retraining has been implemented to all the relevant team members to ensure more regular checks of the poolside are taking place.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

Booked double double and because they had limited double doubles we were next to a service lift which rumbled away.
Should be sued under trade descriptions act - you purchase a room to sleep in not to listen to service lift winding gear !

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siegordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 16 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that you experienced noise from the lifts during your stay and for the inconvenience that this caused.

We are currently trying to improve soundproofing in the hotel and I do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
568 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

After a week in various other hotels the Hilton was a welcoming change. Nice room, spacious, clean and with a very comfortable bed/pillows. Good location, friendly staff and all in all seemed like a very good place to stay. Breakfast comprised of good selection of hot/cold buffet. Only stayed one night but would definitely use again. Thanks to the young lady on reception, didn't catch her name but she was very helpful, and that makes a big difference.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalcH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 March 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Sheffield.

Your fantastic comments regarding the bedrooms, breakfast and reception staff have been shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

The Sheffield Hilton never fails to impress. The rooms are very comfortable with large screen televisions, very comfortable beds and fantastic pillows (my usual bete noir in hotels). The staff are fantastic, very cheerful but professional and always helpful. Breakfast is excellent with lots of variety and good quality of food. Dinner was also of a very good standard.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dibrickell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Sheffield and you found the rooms comfortable especially the fantastic pillows!

Your great feedback regarding the Restaurant has also been shared with the team; it is always a pleasure when a guest takes the time to compliment the staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager

________________________________________
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, uk
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

When describing the various Hilton hotels I’ve stayed in over the years I usually find myself starting the description with “it was ok but...”. On this occasion I thought I’d have something different to say. Checkin was easy with helpful staff, and the first impressions of the room were positive. Spacious with a comfortable looking bed, large TV and relatively large bathroom without the laughably small bath which adorn so many hotels these days... but when I tried to find the AC in the room I found I couldn’ t. I should point out at this point that this wasn’t due to a lack of effort on my part, nor was it due to poor eye sight or an absence of regular height. The room was instead equipped with a fan which when combined with an open window was sufficient to cool the room on a northern evening. We ate in the restaurant which on our visit was quiet and served good food (my medium-rare steak was cooked to perfection), it must be said that the food took an age to arrive and the waiter wasn’t great at spotting when we needed our plates clearing or our glasses refreshing but all in all it wasn’t too bad.
Overall I’d happily stay in this hotel again, but I’d probably not choose it for a holiday.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WarringtonWainwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 28 February 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was glad to read that you found check in easy and the bedroom spacious. Unfortunately the bedrooms do not benefit from having air conditioning however I was happy to see that the fan helped to cool down the room.

Your great feedback regarding the food has been passed onto the Head Chef and your comments regarding the waiter have also been noted.

I am pleased that you overall you did enjoy your stay and you would like to return back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing