We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in city centre”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in city centre”
Reviewed 19 November 2012

We stayed just one night at the Hilton whilst we attended 2 concerts at the Arena, we would have stayed 2 nights but it was fully booked. The hotel is 10 min walk from the tram stop and city centre. We parked outside the hotel which was £7 for 24 hours. The receptionist was very helpful giving us a map and marking out where the tram stop was, telling us what ticket was the best value. On a side point the tram was a brilliant way of getting in and out of the arena. Public transport at its best well staffed and well thought out and it worked. Back at the hotel, had a great night sleep and used the pool and sauna, again very helpful staff, before having a great breakfast, very good choice couldn't find any fault. We had a great walk round the city centre, nice museums and cathedral. Back at the hotel we had a relaxing drink in the bar which has a nice area outside overlooking the canal basin. Would be lovely in the summer. If we go to sheffield again we will stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GorgeousGwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

I was glad to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel in an ideal location whilst in Sheffield for a concert.

I was also delighted to read that the reception staff were helpful and you also found all other areas of the hotel enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,562 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    453
    510
    324
    168
    107
See reviews for
345
519
63
377
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Just spent a weekend here and thought it was a really nice hotel. Staff were really friendly and breakfast was excellent. Did not eat here so cannot comment. Bought for £65 for the room as a flash sale on the Hilton site so excellent value

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Promanager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor and I glad to see that you enjoyed your weekend away at the Hilton Sheffield.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed breakfast and found your reservation rate excellent value.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

From start to finish our visit to this hotel was poor. Upon arrival we were unsure where to park so I queued for some time in reception, however when I finally got to the front of the queue the receptionist went in her office and started chatting, leaving me to wait for someone else to become available! I was told where to park, however this car park was totally full so was told to park in a nearby multi-storey car park which was pitch black, a substantial walk away and more expensive! I complained about this as I am currently heavily pregnant and was not prepared to pay more for something that was not my fault, as did several other guests!

The room was dated and very basic and has not been well cleaned. The breakfast was actually lovely with a very friendly chef, however the table and chairs were filthy with the food from the previous occupants all over! overall very disappointing as this was bought for us as a wedding present and was not a cheap hotel!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank k2tyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

I am sorry that the receptionist was unhelpful in informing you of where to park, followed by the hotels car park being full.

Car parking spaces are not usually a problem for the Hilton Sheffield however when the hotel is extremely busy we do advise guest’s to park in a privately owned multi story car park adjacent to the hotel; I am sorry for any inconvenience that this caused. The car park is well lit and the charge for 24 hours is also no more expensive than the hotel’s car park. I will however ask the Front Office Manager to address the way in which this was handled.

I am also sorry that you found the room dated and basic and cleanliness was poor. Your comments have been addressed with the Head Housekeeper.

I was glad to see however that you did find breakfast good and your comments regarding the dirty tables and chairs have been passed onto the Restaurant Manager.

I am sorry that your stay was marred in such a way and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2012 via mobile

Only came for lunch on an organized coach trip but how wonderful it was, the food was amazing for a set hot buffet style lunch, chicken pie, poached salmon or veg lasagne with either veg or salad and a choice of lush desserts, staff were friendly and helpful. Just wish our tour company had booked us in to stay too, well done all

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jewlels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Hilton Sheffield for lunch and your great feedback has been shared with the team.

Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012 via mobile

We had a great stay at this hotel. Lovely staff, great rooms, good restaurants and the hotel facilities were very nice. Great pool for the kids If in Sheffield again, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 20 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

Your great comments regarding the hotel and staff members have been noted and shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

We had a very pleasant stay. The room was large and had good facilities (although I can't really understand a TV that size not being HD!). There seemed to be a large group on our corridor who made a lot of noise, particularly when they got in, around 3am. In particular there were a couple who decided to have a very loud argument just outside our door - not really the hotel's problem, but it spoiled the overall experience...
The staff were really great - attentive and very friendly - the girl who served me at the bar in the evening asked me how the night had been the next day at breakfast and remembered what it was we were doing! Breakfast was good and parking cheap. Access to the city centre is easy and can be reached in under 10 minutes on foot. The bar was crazy expensive, but I guess that's par for the course with a city centre hotel.
Overall, I'd recommend - we had a deluxe room.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank padsbrother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Sheffield and you found the staff members helpful and friendly.

I am sorry however that you did experience noise from other guests and for any discomfort that this caused. The Night team will always endeavour to deal with any noise complaints.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

I had a cold shower. There was a problem hotel wide - nothing offered in compensation. I had to ask then was given 25% off the bill. Not good enough; I should have only bene charged my bar bill and breakfast. I will not be staying here on business again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am sorry that the hotel experienced an issue with the hot water during your stay and for the inconvenience that this caused. Unfortunately this was something beyond our control and we did all that we could to rectify the problem as soon as we were able.

I am sorry that you now feel you are unable to return back to the hotel however I do hope that we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,466 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Nozio Netplan srl, Hilton EMEA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing