We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for what we wanted” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ideal for what we wanted”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

Stayed here for one night.

Positives:
Service from all the staff was great.
Spa and pool area ( with towels provided)
Breakfast - could have pancakes and waffles aswell as the usual stuff
Nice complimentary toiletries

Negatives
Tv in room was of poor picture quality.
Lift took forever to come when called if at all!
£5 for parking

Would definitely recommend though as the good outweighed the bad

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Borismcoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you found the staff members great and you enjoyed the use of LivingWell and complimentary toiletries. Your great feedback regarding breakfast has also been noted.

I would like to apologise however for the poor television quality and I have asked the Maintenance Manager to investigate this as soon as possible.

I am also sorry that the lift was slow on this occasion and you found the cost of car parking too high.

Thank you for your feedback and I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    439
    486
    309
    160
    100
See reviews for
326
495
60
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2012

I've stayed at this hotel on several different occasions, so have a good feel for the level of service and standards provided. The rooms are a reasonable size and the beds are fairly comfortable. However, there is little in the way of soundproofing between the rooms and any sort of noise in the corridors is clearly audible from nearby rooms. I know soundproofing doesn't come cheap, but most hotels in this price bracket seem to do a better job.

Room service is consistently slow and inconsistent in terms of presentation. I've waited 50mins to an hour on several occasions.

Breakfast in the restaurant is good, with a wide selection of food on offer.

Some of the charges are on the high side - £5 tray charge with room service, £15 for one night of broadband, £5 for parking even if staying at hotel etc.

The hotel has a very good (Living Well) gym which is free for residents to use.

Sheffield isn't exactly awash with high quality hotels and the Hilton offers little to stand out from the mediocre.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brumjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 December 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on this website.

As a regular guest at the Hilton Sheffield I was disappointed to read that you find the hotel average.

I am sorry that you have experienced noise during your stay’s and we are doing all that we can to improve soundproofing within the hotel.

I would also like to apologise for the inconsistent room service that you have experienced and I agree that this is unacceptable. Your comments have been discussed with the Head Chef and Restaurant Manager in order for this to improve.

Your comments regarding prices of room service, car parking and Internet have been noted and I am sorry that you find these too high. We do offer complimentary WIFI to all guests in public areas and in room to our gold and diamond Hilton Hhonors members.

I was glad to see however that you do enjoy the use of LivingWell.

If you do experience any concerns during future visits please do not hesitate to contact the Manager on Duty and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Attended a function for 120 guests at this hotel to find that apart from seating for 8 persons no other seats were available in the bar area. Shame as the evening was excellent ,staff and food first class. However bar prices extortionate.£24.00 for a bottle of Rose wine a bit over the top.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am sorry that during the function you attended there was a lack of seating in the bar area. We will always try and have additional seating in the bar area in addition to the seating in the function room itself.

I was glad to see that you did still enjoy your evening and your comments regarding the bar prices have been taken on board.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

I needed an overnight in Sheffield prior to a business meeting the following day, and this hotel suited the purpose very well, especially as my yong son was travelling with me. Great value for money and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

It was such a pleasure to read that you enjoyed your overnight stay for a business meeting and the Hilton Sheffield suited not only yours but your Son’s needs as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012 via mobile

stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a visit to see Lional Ritche at the arena.
Arrived on Friday evening pleasent room with a Balcony overlooking the quay, one downside is that there is no AC in the room so it can get a bit warm!
All areas of the hotel are neat & tidy & the staff are very friendly & attentive.
I did have an issue with internet access in the bar area but this was quickly sorted out by the staff.
Breakfast on Sunday morning was good.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We have stayed in several Hilton group hotels around the world and have not been disappointed. As ever excellent service, good quality rooms, great breakfast selection, well located and good value. Reasonable parking charge. Our sat nav couldn't locate the hotel, but a couple of trips round the roundabout we found it.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SANDRABLUECAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 27 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Hilton Sheffield and found the service and bedrooms as good as other Hilton’s you have stayed in.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

We stayed Friday and Saturday 16th & 17th Nov. Arrived 8.45pm and easily found parking on the adjacent car park (£7 for 24 hours but £5 for guests), check in was a bit fraught as they said we didn't have a booking and that I must have booked at Doubletree - er no it was here, anyway she said it doesn't matter we have rooms and proceeded to book us in to another room - I could see this could be a potential problem but thankfully another receptionist turned up and pointed out that we had been booked in on the system already - by mistake! Went to our room and it was very nice - large with two double beds, canal side view and a balcony, large bathroom with plenty of towels. Courtesy tray with plenty of tea and coffee. The beds were very comfortable - mattresses, pillows and duvets lovely quality. The room was at the end of a corridor and quiet. The only little problem is that there are no windows to open, Friday night was warm and we lasted until 4.15am but then had to open the balcony door - a bit of a security risk as we were only on the 2nd floor and also the balconies next door could easily climb over!
My husband noticed that there was crow bar markings on the outside of our balcony door - oh dear. But there was a fan in the wardrobe so you could use that. I must admit I do prefer rooms that are individually, thermostatically controlled. I think this used to be a Stakis hotel and Hilton bought it so not their fault! I don't see how it could be changed.
We had a bar meal in the bar Friday - burger (the presentation would impress MasterChef Judges! )and a Chicken Caesar Salad - very enjoyable although the salad came in a hot dish! Charming bar staff and a Duty Manager (?) that helped us connect to the internet - nothing was too much trouble, he was so kind. Internet is free in the lounges etc but you have to pay £14.95 per night to use it in your room - what a rip off!
Sunday morning we had breakfast - buffet style with a chef cooking fresh eggs (a very helpful person watching everyone to make sure they could find everything). The waiting staff the same as all the staff - good Hilton training. The only negative thing about the breakfast was that our table wasn't very clean - the person before me must have had a croissant! We were intrigued at the choice of food on the breakfast cold buffet - 6 trifles!
Only 10 mins walk to town centre ( and they have a John Lewis) or to Super Tram, Super Tram takes you to Meadowhall shopping centre and directly to the Motorpoint Arena (went to see Lionel Ritchie!) and the trams were every few mins when we came out.
All in all a very enjoyable stay and we shall go again - we felt at home there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 23 November 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on Trip Advisor.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Hilton Sheffield.

I am sorry for the confusion that occurred with your reservation at check in and for any concern that this caused. I have spoken to the Front Office Manager in order for him to speak his team.

I was glad to see however that once checked in you did enjoy the room that overlooked the Quayside. I am sorry that you found the room warm and yes fans are provided to aid with high temperatures.
I was happy to read that you did enjoy the food in the Quays Bar and the staff were helpful in connecting you to the Internet.

Your great feedback regarding breakfast has also been shared and I believe that the granola dishes may be what you thought looked like trifles. Your comments regarding the dirty tables has also been noted and I am sorry that it had not been cleaned from the previous guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing