We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hotel in Sheffield but I expected better from Hilton”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Sheffield but I expected better from Hilton”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

Decent location. I quite liked the food at the Quay restaurant. The portions were good and tasted great. The room sizes were average. Service was reasonable but it simply didn't feel Hilton.. As a Hilton Gold member, I was not too impressed...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theJetSetNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at Sheffield.

I am sorry however that as a gold Hilton Hhonors member you were disappointed and your feedback has been noted.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    445
    498
    314
    162
    103
See reviews for
336
504
62
367
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed for one night with no breakfast, there is a great desk for working and its well located 5 min from the city centre, the room was spacious and sunny, the only problems are the noise from the next rooms and the bathroom cleanliness.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor.

Overall I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Sheffield however I can only apologise for the poor standard of cleanliness in the bathroom and noise from other guests.

This is certainly not reflective of our usual high standards and your feedback has been addressed with the Head Housekeeper.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

Stayed here for a short family break in April 2014. Very well situated near tram links and within walking distance of high street shops. The Quays hotel restaurant was very nice, clean, good food, great staff, good breakfast. The leisure facilities very neat, nice swimming pool for the kids. The down side to us was the poor quality rooms, we were expecting a high Hilton standard room, but the carpet looked old and stained, no air conditioning in the room, room didn't feel very clean, some cracked wall tiles in bathroom, and the room was small - but the bathroom was nice and spacious. Compared to other hotels that are priced similar, this wasn't up to standard based on the room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mr_T_silvester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website.

I am sorry that you found the bedroom at Hilton Sheffield below standard; we are continually trying to improve the standards of our bedrooms.

I was glad to read however that you did enjoy the rest of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you and your family back in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

My husband and i stayed here for a last minute break , the hotel was lovley and clean, we paid extra for a double deluxe room with a quay view which overlooked the canal and narrow boats, not sure if the extra money was added value or not but the view was nice. Ironing board and tea , coffee etc in the room and toiletries. The swimming pool is a decent size and the steam room etc was also a treat. breakfast was ok although not a terrible amount of choice, they had ran out of bread but didnt seem to re stocking. The only downside is that you have to pay to park your car overnight, (£6.00) which i thought was a bit of a cheeck. overall not bad place. We walked from the hotel into the centre of Sheffield which only took about 15 mins,

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gymbatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great review regarding Hilton Sheffield.

Your fantastic feedback has been shared with all departments and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Can't speak highly enough of this hotel. We attended my cousins wedding and stayed the night. Everything was fantastic. Lovely food for the wedding breakfast and the service was exceptional. Lovely clean room and breakfast was great with plenty to chose from.
Nothing was too much trouble.
If I had to be really picky the room was a few degrees too warm and we didn't have a travel cot we had requested but when we mentioned it to the reception it was there in minutes. Great hotel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving your fantastic review regarding Hilton Sheffield.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay for a Wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I have been staying at this hotel on off for over a year have to say it is first class.
What these bad reviews are on about here I don't know?
The service is first class, the rooms are spot on and it has everything you need.
Great hotel and the best in sheffield, i should know!!!

Room Tip: view of the canal
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A-Parrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your brilliant feedback on Trip Advisor.

Your great feedback has been noted and I am pleased to read that you always enjoy your stay here at Hilton Sheffield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Sheffield recently as we came up for the snooker at the Crucible. We had heard that many of the snooker players stay at the Hilton thus we thought it must be a good hotel and we have stayed at other Hilton hotels. however, we were very disappointed. Welcome at reception was non existent and although we spotted the offer to upgrade in the dining room - we were not advised how the offer worked and ended up in disagreement with the waiting staff in the restaurant firstly because we were charged separately for drinks and coffee ( we ordered an Irish coffee but it was processed as a short and a coffee!) then we had the set menu but were charged for an additional desert and then the offer for upgrade only applied to food spend. We were given a slight third degree by the manager of the restaurant as to whom had we spoken to regarding the upgrade and who took the payment. All rather disappointing and unnecessary if attention and guest service at been available at reception, this could have been avoided. Otherwise the hotel facilities, were very good but we found them by ourselves as again reception did not provide any info. Hotel room was good and breakfast was very good. We even spotted a snooker player having his breakfast before his match!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review regarding Hilton Sheffield.

I am sorry that you felt the customer service was not as expected in the restaurant regarding your upgrade for evening meal. This certainly does not sound like our usual level of service and I can assure you that re training has taken place.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel in the future.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,430 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing