We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor Housekeeping”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #26 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Wrexham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor Housekeeping”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I have stayed a number of times at the Hilton Sheffield and the quality of food, especially the breakfast has always been excellent. However, housekeeping have dropped their standards and the 2 rooms we were allocated were very poor, smelled, had unmade beds, wires hanging down and potential and trip hazard & dangerous (from the wall heater) and the bathrooms had dirty sinks, the underseat on teh toilet was not cleaned, grouting around the bath was black, plug left out of bath and upturned (revealing how grimy it was) and the bath and sink in the main bedroom had chips and paint peeling (creating a hygiene problem, especially in the sink :-( It was also possible to hear other guests in ther rooms (and bathrooms - not pleasant!)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fiona F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor and I am sorry that on this occasion you did not enjoy your stay.

I understand that the Manager on Duty dealt with the issues at the time and I do sincerely hope we are able to welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    450
    506
    322
    167
    104
See reviews for
341
513
63
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Stayed 2 nights over a weekend. Everything as you would expect, standard hilton with modern comfortable room, bed and good bathroom. Pool and gym facilities excellent with sauna and steam room, parking on site, location right next to city centre just a couple minutes walk. Breakfast good, normal buffet but selection good and looked freshly prepared. Service good, would certainly visit again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your great experience regarding Hilton Sheffield.

It is always a pleasure to receive such feedback and we look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
265 reviews
146 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Hilton is only a 5 pound ride from train station, in an area with many hotels. All well and usual as at the Hilton, but the breakfast was very poor. I had to lave early, so could only use room service as the breakfast restaurant wasn't open yet. Half od the items were missing with no explanation: juice, butter, jam and brown toast. The muffin and croissant were so tiny it would have been better to call them mini muffin and mini croissant. They were not fresh either.
Everything else was fine, but breakfast is important to m, so I have to give a poor rating.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squizz20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on this website and I am sorry you were unhappy with the breakfast at Hilton Sheffield.

This is certainly not our usual level of service and please be assured your feedback has been addressed with the relevant departmental managers.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Stroud
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Good-sized room with extremely comfortable beds, a clean and modern bathroom and a reasonably-sized television. Completely satisfied in every respect. Did not use the services of the hotel, so cannot comment on service. Hotel convenient for Sheffield city centre.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jencros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your great feedback on Trip Advisor regarding Hilton Sheffield.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I stayed here last week on business and found it clean and the staff very helpful. I ate in their restaurant on Thursday evening with some work friends. Our meal took an age to arrive even though the restaurant was very quiet. After an hour I asked the waitress when would we get our meals and was told they were being plated up. Over 10 minutes later they still hadn't arrived and our group of 6 was close to walking out. It finally arrived and 2 of the meals were not totally edible. The steak was over cooked and the chips were burnt. I ordered noodles and duck breast although the noodles were very tasty the duck was to tough to eat. I told the waitress who offered to replace the meal, we decided not to wait another hour and 20 minutes so she took the 2 meals off the bill and gave the table a drink each. I completed a feedback form and was contacted today with 50% off my next meal when I am there next month.
I was disappointed by the delay and duck but I have to comment on the way in which the problem was resolved.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phelpsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and once again we would like to apologise for the poor quality of food on this occasion.

I was pleased to read however that you are happy with the way in which this has been dealt with and we look forward to seeing you back at the Hilton Sheffield again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two nights 20-30th of April, upgraded to a deluxe double room Good size room,clean bathroom and nice view of canal. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Charging residents for parking at £6.00 a day and £16.00 for a burger! Hence to say we only had breakfast which was very good with a good selection and polite staff.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patrolman77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor and I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay at Hilton Sheffield.

Most city centre hotels do charge for car parking and your feedback regarding the cost of food has also been taken on board.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Decent location. I quite liked the food at the Quay restaurant. The portions were good and tasted great. The room sizes were average. Service was reasonable but it simply didn't feel Hilton.. As a Hilton Gold member, I was not too impressed...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theJetSetNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad to see that overall you enjoyed your stay at Sheffield.

I am sorry however that as a gold Hilton Hhonors member you were disappointed and your feedback has been noted.

I do hope that we are able to welcome you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 53 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,013 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing