We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay, excellent Spa”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Quick weekend break.
1st good point-on site parking.
2nd. Free to use pool, sauna etc, fully equipped gym.

Lovely modern and spacious room, excellent view over Victoria Quays and the city.
Friendly staff with prompt check in, also helpful concierge with welcome drinks, a nice touch.

In room entertainment a bit poor, very low definition basic channels, and a decidedly low tech clock radio.
Wi-Fi £14.95!! Get real!!
Good 4G signal though, so whatever.
Room did get very warm, but to be fair the weather was very warm. Maybe an air con update is due?
Nice bathroom, comfy bed with reading light.
All in all a nice weekend away, make sure to use the facilities though to get decent value!!
Easy 5 minute walk to Leopold Square with plenty of food and drink options.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RobGeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a trip advisor review,

I was pleased to see that you had a lovely stay here with us at the Hilton Sheffield and enjoyed our spa facilities.

In room entertainment is something that we are continually working to improve, please accept our apologies if this caused any inconvenience during your stay. WIFI is complimentary through-out public areas of the hotel as an alternative if required.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sheffield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

919 - 925 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

As an American our room was not what I expected from a 4star hotel at $219/night, we felt nickle and dimed, but when you add up the hotel amenities it starts to make sense: quiet rooms, canal view, good breakfast (worth adding on to room booking), access to the very nice gym (large pool, sauna and spa, free floor Pilates class on Thurs) although in the evenings there were no woman to be seen. We were annoyed to have to pay $26/per night for wi-fi (we missed that part listed in the room description), that were not many channels on the TV and the beds seemed to be hard although ended up being fine, it was muggy in the room but we kept the window open.

Room Tip: ask for a canal view and take advantage of the free gym use.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your recent trip advisor review.

I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay overall here with us at the Hilton Sheffield.
Im sorry that were annoyed at the cost of WIFI. WIFI is available complimentary within all public areas of the hotel but unfortunately is currently chargeable within guestrooms.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future,

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visiting leeds for the first time - alive and excited for forthcoming Tour de France. Stayed two nights

Well located and clearly directed from motorway but with tight parking in the hotel car park. Short walk to city centre restaurants - fabulous curry in Akbar. Excellent reception, good room although "upgrade" to room with fold down settee was not as comfortable as the twin room we had booked.

Expensive bar but we were well looked after by excellent bar staff. Breakfast very good and scored 50% on the poached egg test - one morning perfect and on better other poached solid.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good location for the centre of Sheffield and for universities etc. Rooms clean and contemporary, Breakfast very good indeed. Welcoming and accommodating staff. Plenty of parking on site. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TerandAnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your recent review on trip advisor.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Hilton website and the booking information when I booked was quite clear; 1 Double Delux for which I paid extra over a standard booking. According to the Hilton own website this means - Quayside view, sofa, 32-inch TV. We arrive to find that we do not have a quayside view, but rather one of the smelly car park - oh yes, it reeked. On complaining politely, I was informed by the Duty Manager I was in a double delux; not according to your website I reply, a delux means a quayside view, not only was I informed I was wrong but told it was not their problem, as I booked through 'expedia', which I didn't but did not have the energy to debate. They could have moved me for my 2nd night’s stay, which quite frankly was not worth the hassle, but they certainly would not refund the additional money I paid for the delux room. The room itself was clean enough but the wardrobe space woefully inadequate, unless you can find somewhere else to keep the ironing board, maybe the bathroom? Within the wardrobe we located one bathrobe, although two of us were staying. In the bathroom we also had only one flannel, although we clearly should have been grateful as on the second night’s stay there were none! But to cap it all off, one of the bath towels was so threadbare it actually had a hole in it! A number of the bedroom doors in our vicinity (4th floor) slammed shut rather than closed on a spring, which meant it became hard to sleep at times. The breakfast was good, and the staff friendly but it was not enough to change my opinion of the hotel tactics in getting you to pay extra for a delux room and then not delivering on the clearly quoted 'quayside view'. I certainly will never be staying here again, nor will any of my friends or work colleagues.

Room Tip: Be very clear as to whether you are getting a quayside room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayce67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your recent trip advisor review and i'm sorry that you did not enjoy your stay.

Your feedback has been taken on board and our deluxe guestroom description is been reviewed. Your comments regarding your guestroom have been passed onto the head housekeeper and will be discussed with the team.

Please be asssured that this is not our ususal level of service and i do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future so that we can show you we can do better.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin,
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

For the £66 paid, this was an good stay and well worth it; however the original going rate of £87 would have been very poor value. The room was basic, with a rickety bed and a poor spray shower. I have stayed in better Premier Inn rooms than what was offered here. Everything was clean and well maintained, but I expected more from the Hilton brand.

The pool and gym area was excellent, with great facilities and lots of space, the pool especially was large for a hotel. The jacuzzi and sauna were good, but the steam room was closed.
The changing rooms were a bit messy, but this was mostly down to inconsiderate idiots leaving the provided towels on the floor instead of taking them back to the reception. The drains did however smell in the men's changing room.
The reception staff were friendly and helpful, one was very informative with places to go to in Sheffield.
We were put in a small section of the hotel which allows smoking in rooms, but with us being non smokers, the odd whiff of smoke was not pleasant. It was not overpowering or too offensive, but we could have done without this. The receptionist allowed us free parking when we mentioned this. I really don't know why they still allow smoking in hotels still!
Overall excellent value, but it normally wouldn't be without discounts!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the smoking rooms, if of course you don't smoke :-)
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamboken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your recent trip advisor review,

I am pleased to read that overall you had a good stay with us and found the gym and pool area to be excellent, however your feedback regarding the changing rooms has been passed on to the Livingwell manager,

We do have a small number of smoking bedrooms left at the Hilton Sheffield and I am sorry if your stay was marred in any way because of this.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the Hilton Sheffield in the future.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Recently I stayed this hotel with my family. We booked a double double guest room for a very reasonable priced. Actually the room and all amenities are well worth for money we paid. Break fast also included. The location of the hotel very much easy stroll around the city. Hotel is not much modern type, but definitely need some modifications. Staff very friendly, but breakfast time Quays restaurant staff bit of less polite. Overall we enjoyed our family weekend at this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Prem K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

I was pleased to read that overall you had a lovely stay here with us at the Hilton Sheffield.

Please be assured that your comments regarding the staff at breakfast have been passed on to the restaurant manager.

I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future,

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £70 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing