We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,853)
Filter reviews
1,853 results
Traveller rating
535
585
380
218
135
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
535
585
380
218
135
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overlooking the canal victoria quays city centre leisure facilities an upgrade good size steam room reception staff breakfast was excellent tea and coffee stayed here for one night gym tram arena
Filter
Updating list...
1,138 - 1,143 of 1,853 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed here last month as we were meeting friends and had come a long way so needed somewhere nearby to stay so we didn't have too much driving in one day.
Had a lovely stay, the swimming pool was fantastic! The room was also lovely and spacious with good bathroom. Breakfast was also great with lots to choose from. Then only downfall was dinner, I didn't think much of it at all considering it wasn't cheap. I would not eat dinner there again but find somewhere else to eat.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Beckz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your trip advisor review.

Your feedback is appreciated and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future,

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is the first time I have written a review with so many things to mention that need sorting out. Before I start on those, I must say that at all times, all the different staff members we had any interaction with were all excellent.
The problem with the hotel is mainly attention to detail & lack of some of the basics you expect from a hotel with 4stars.
Firstly, we had an upgraded room, which we paid extra for. They knew there was 2 people, but only 1 robe, 1 flannel, & toiletries which even one person would find not enough - good job we had our own. There was an ironing board, but no iron. There was no air conditioning, which would've been ok if we could open the windows more than an inch! We wanted to close the windows once we went to bed as there was a lot of traffic noise, but one of them wouldn't shut!
The bathroom was very basic - upgraded room? The door even needed painting!
We were given "complimentary" water, but it was sitting in the sun, with no fridge on the room. A bucket of ice solved the problem but took a while.
I could go on about the internet, loud doors, stiff towels etc, but I won't.
I will just repeat that the staff were lovely & helpful, but we won't be back.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ToffeeCambs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

I was pleased to hear that you found all the staff here excellent, however I am sorry that you had some issue's while here. We welcome your feedback and please be assured that you comments have been taken on board.

We do hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future,

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Quick weekend break.
1st good point-on site parking.
2nd. Free to use pool, sauna etc, fully equipped gym.

Lovely modern and spacious room, excellent view over Victoria Quays and the city.
Friendly staff with prompt check in, also helpful concierge with welcome drinks, a nice touch.

In room entertainment a bit poor, very low definition basic channels, and a decidedly low tech clock radio.
Wi-Fi £14.95!! Get real!!
Good 4G signal though, so whatever.
Room did get very warm, but to be fair the weather was very warm. Maybe an air con update is due?
Nice bathroom, comfy bed with reading light.
All in all a nice weekend away, make sure to use the facilities though to get decent value!!
Easy 5 minute walk to Leopold Square with plenty of food and drink options.

Date of stay: July 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank RobGeeves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post a trip advisor review,

I was pleased to see that you had a lovely stay here with us at the Hilton Sheffield and enjoyed our spa facilities.

In room entertainment is something that we are continually working to improve, please accept our apologies if this caused any inconvenience during your stay. WIFI is complimentary through-out public areas of the hotel as an alternative if required.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

As an American our room was not what I expected from a 4star hotel at $219/night, we felt nickle and dimed, but when you add up the hotel amenities it starts to make sense: quiet rooms, canal view, good breakfast (worth adding on to room booking), access to the very nice gym (large pool, sauna and spa, free floor Pilates class on Thurs) although in the evenings there were no woman to be seen. We were annoyed to have to pay $26/per night for wi-fi (we missed that part listed in the room description), that were not many channels on the TV and the beds seemed to be hard although ended up being fine, it was muggy in the room but we kept the window open.

Room tip: ask for a canal view and take advantage of the free gym use.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MS999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thankyou for your recent trip advisor review.

I am pleased to see that you had an enjoyable stay overall here with us at the Hilton Sheffield.
Im sorry that were annoyed at the cost of WIFI. WIFI is available complimentary within all public areas of the hotel but unfortunately is currently chargeable within guestrooms.

I do hope that we can welcome you back in the future,

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Visiting leeds for the first time - alive and excited for forthcoming Tour de France. Stayed two nights

Well located and clearly directed from motorway but with tight parking in the hotel car park. Short walk to city centre restaurants - fabulous curry in Akbar. Excellent reception, good room although "upgrade" to room with fold down settee was not as comfortable as the twin room we had booked.

Expensive bar but we were well looked after by excellent bar staff. Breakfast very good and scored 50% on the poached egg test - one morning perfect and on better other poached solid.

Date of stay: June 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nilindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews