We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Parking costs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #26 of 54 Hotels in Sheffield
Level Contributor
60 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Parking costs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

First thing to say is that paying for bed breakfast and evening meal in a hotel, then being stung for £6.00 to park overnight is a rip off..
Hotel itself is very nice. Rooms clean and modern. Swimming pool jacuzzi and steam room we enjoyed very much and the changing room was clean and tidy ( you need a pound coin for your locker )
We had our evening meal in the restaurant and Becky who served us was such a nice person. Food was ok, nothing outstanding tho.
Now.... We come to breakfast. Maybe we arrived at a busy period but after being shown to a perfectly nice table we were asked if we wanted coffee or tea. Coffee we said. None arrived, coffee we said, none arrived. Coffee we said, we had almost finished breakfast by the time we got our coffee.
Omelet was cooked on request but the oil was dirty resulting in a very unattractive looking dark offering. No bread rolls and no bowls to put your porridge in. Yes it's a big hotel and yes it was busy but if they are fully booked they should have the staff to cope.
I will stay at the Hilton again because despite the above comments, it's a nice setting near the canal with outdoor seating. Comfy rooms and leisure facilities.
But.
Next time, I may take the train, no parking charge, and I hope the breakfast service improves!!!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Hassanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

I was pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay, however please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls in standards you experienced during breakfast. We greatly appreciate your feedback and it will be used to improve our guest experience at breakfast.

Our parking charge of £6.00 per 24 hours is a reduced rate for hotel residents only and is in line with all other city centre hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    438
    486
    309
    159
    100
See reviews for
324
495
60
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
221 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is a typical Hilton- suitable for the business traveler passing through who needs all the standard Hilton hotel features, but isn't looking for something unique or memorable. Room was comfortable but ordinary. The location is excellent for walking to city locations. English breakfast buffet was very good. Front desk staff were also friendly and helpful. Bar service was slow - I had to walk to the bar to order as no one visited my table. All in all, decent - but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have a Quay-side view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the future,

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2014

Upon checking in, we were told we'd been upgraded to a king room with a balcony! Got to the room and OMG we had a massive balcony!! Biggest in the hotel, over the moon with that!! Asked for an ice bucket and we were brought just that. No glasses, just a bucket and instructions where to get ice from. Our floor's ice machine didn't work, we had to go up a floor. Further phone call for glasses, were brought what you would be served coke in at the bar. Hmmm okay. Upon check out, we were told our prepaid room had a charge of thirty odd quid for the upgrade?? The upgrade we'd not asked for, but thought we'd been given as a freebie. Bizarre. This was however, sorted out. Charged for parking on the hotels own property. Very unhappy with that, but I know some hotels do it. Breakfast was lovely. Room was standard. Never stayed in a hilton before and now realise it's the name you pay for, very standard throughout, expected something outstanding from hilton, but didn't get it. Except for the balcony, which was outstanding, lovely view of the river.

Room Tip: King room with balcony. If the weather is fine, lovely to sit out on.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sammiefu72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 2 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

Please accept my apologies for any shortfalls in service you received during your visit. I was pleased to hear that you were happy with the balcony room you received and can only apologies for any confusion with regards to the upgrade charge.

Our car parking is reduced for overnight guests and the cost is in line with all other city centre hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

The staff are very pleasant & friendly which is always a good thing.
However, haven't stayed there for a while and think the rooms are in need of an update. Very tired and basic. It's probably more suited to business users as it's functional but soulless.
Buffet breakfast as expected and unfortunately, cold plates, unappetising bacon rashers clumped together and tepid 'hot' food. Could so easily be improved.
As it's apparently a quiet time we did get a good deal so value for money in that sense but unless 're-vamped', wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moerom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

Your comments regarding your experience at breakfast have been passed onto our head chef to be reviewed. Please be assured that this is not our usual level of service as I’m sure you are aware of from your previous stays, however please accept my apologies for the standard you received on this occasion.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future,

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

This was my first stay in a Hilton - visited with my wife and two children for one night. Our check-in was unwelcoming and the receptionist seemed distant. We made out way to the room and our first impressions of the hotel was how dated it looked - the corridors looked like something out of a time warp. The room was ok but needed some tlc - again v dated and tired. Our bed was really saggy and both my wife and I woke up aching! Not good. Also we were positioned right opposite the life so the room was noisy - you could head the lifts in constant use. While trying to get to sleep you could feel the lift vibrations through the pillow! The swimming pool was nice enough but very dark! The receptionist at the fitness centre was very unwelcoming and disinterested too. For the two precious nights we had stayed at a premier inn (£29 per night) and the whole experience at the premier inn was superb - clean, modern, welcoming, comfortable... I wouldn't recommend the Hilton at all (although the breakfast was good!) and it hasn't instilled any confidence in the Hilton brand at all. I wish we had booked the holiday inn express next door or the premier inn a few minutes away!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mathew t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

We’re sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your stay. Your feedback will be taken on board and used to improve our guest experience.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

I don't know why, but I was expecting something more from The Hilton, it was average. Close to the City though. But very noisy due to young children being allowed to run amok! Access to wi-fi was prohibitive this day and age it should be free!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank SueWad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

I’m sorry that you were disappointed with your stay on this occasion and hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We have stayed in a few Hiltons over the years and this is an average Hilton, the reception area is lovely and welcoming. On our way to our room there were still trays of food from the night before in front of a few of the rooms. The rooms are okay but in need of some tlc We paid the extra for a balcony which was worth it(luckily the 2 days we stayed were dry and we could use the balcony which has a lovely view of the docks - which lights up at night), although we were a bit concerned as the outside of the patio doors to the balcony looked as if someone had tried to break in to it and when the doors closed you could see daylight through the top of one of the doors. Our beds were uncomfortable and the noise was horrendous every time any of us moved on the bed. The bathroom was spacious but again in need of tlc. We only used the pool once as it wasn't the best hilton pool we have used, the pool and changing rooms could do with some more lights and a refurbishment. Breakfast had plenty of variety (Buffett) and was warm enough, the hostess was very welcoming & pleasant. On the first day we got a window seat & the 2nd day we got put beside the wine rack which was very worn and not very pleasant to look at) The hotel is about a 10 minute walk to the town centre which takes you through a run down area before getting to the main shops. We did not eat in the hotel but preferred to drive to a few nearby restaurants as there is not a lot of variety within walking distance of this hotel .This Hotel charges £6 per night to park your car.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jedi42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

We are grateful for your feedback and your comments will be used to improve our guest experience.

We hope we are able to welcome you back in the future.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#16 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#21 of 54 in Sheffield
4.0 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Property: Hilton Sheffield
Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing