We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit to Sheffield”
Review of Hilton Sheffield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Sheffield
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I didn’t pick the best time to arrive at the Sheffield Hilton. At 18.00 on Saturday it was impossible to park at the front door as the entrance area was cluttered with limousines and private hire cars.
The luggage trolley wasn’t immediately available as it was being used by a supplier bringing in equipment for a wedding through the front door and to increase my level of irritability the car park was completely full. Fortunately, with the help of an obliging receptionist we were able to park and the trolley eventually became available.

The hotel itself was interesting bearing in mind it is in the city centre. Although a typical slab of bricks there is a feeling of space as it is not overshadowed by other buildings. The rear of the hotel was built to incorporate the original railway arches at the side of the Victoria Quay which is at the end of a canal and lined with narrow boats which gives an industrial picturesqueness to the setting.

Reception and coffee bar are on the ground floor and Restaurant and bar on first floor. New carpets had just been fitted to the corridor. Congratulations on the quality and pattern choice.

The room was of adequate size and reasonably furnished and comfortable with various extras one has become used to having in Hilton Hotels. The one exception was air conditioning although a fan was available in the wardrobe.

An interesting gift was placed on the coffee table of a white ceramic plate with a welcoming message hand written in chocolate, a container of dipping chocolate and a skewer with marshmallows and strawberries. This was a nice touch, slightly marred by the fact it was not protected in any way although in fairness that did not stop me eating it. The fact the outside of the dipping chocolate container wasn’t clean was more worrying.

The hotel is busy and may well hold more than one wedding at a time so don’t be surprised if there are unsupervised children running around both outside and in public areas until very late in the evening.

Breakfast was to the usual Hilton high standard and nothing seemed to be too much trouble for the morning chef who on request conjured-up a tasty mushroom omelette. Low point of breakfast was the single Twining tea bag in the pot when I had hoped for some quality Yorkshire tea. Irritant at breakfast was the poor placing of the delivered tea pot, on the far side of the table with the handle facing away exuding either a couldn’t care less attitude or poor training. That said, all the staff from deputy manager to housekeepers were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank keith_the_scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

We are grateful for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,627)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Sheffield
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 882 of 1,627 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed for one night at the weekend whilst attending an event at the arena.

Good points:
1) location - very easy to find and only 10 minutes in the car from the arena, which meant we weren't limited to the two places to stay right by the arena
2) staff - everyone we spoke with/met was very helpful and friendly - from the reception staff, to the bar staff, to the guys at breakfast the next morning
3) rooms were very comfortable and clean - I usually find Hilton beds comfortable, and this was no different
4) good leisure facilities, although we were not around long enough to make good use of them

Points to consider:
1) parking - the hotel parking is really quite small and costs £6 per visit. There is no guarantee that you will get a space, and I am not sure where else you would park if it was full
2) it's a big hotel - there were two weddings whilst we were there, and although we were not disturbed by the noise in our room, the bar area was very noisy and you could not sit and have a quiet drink at the end of the evening
3) the breakfast area is not big enough for all the guests, so time your breakfast carefully! That said, the staff were every effective at keeping things well stocked and we did not feel put out at all.

the only real downside was the scrambled eggs - worst I have ever eaten! However, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: we booked a deluxe room with a view of the quayside which meant we were at the end of the corridor...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank commuter_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

I was pleased to hear that you had a good stay with us and am grateful for your feedback.

To clarify, our car parking is charge is reduced to £6.00 per 24 hours for hotel residents and is in line with all other city centre hotels. In the event that our car park is full there is an alternative multi-storey car park close by.

Your thoughts on how we could improve service have been acknowledged and will be used to improve our guest experience.

Regards,

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Stayed here this summer..booked a deluxe room for 2 nights..rooms were lovely comfortable and clean..noticed some rooms have a balcony so asked receptionist if we could swap..was no problem at all was moved promptly..a room with 2 double beds but still plenty of room with a balcony overlooking the canal..plenty of complimentary extras..very impressive..will be going again

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo2201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

I was pleased to hear that you had great stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

I will recommend this hotel to everyone, the room was lovely, the staff helpful and the breakfast was outstanding, i requested kippers for my breakfast and the chef brought me four! The pool is not to be missed very relaxing after a long day, i can't find fault with any of it.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Dee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review.

Were so pleased that you had an excellent stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is our second stay at this hotel and it won't be our last.The staff at reception were very welcoming and we received an upgraded canal view room and drinks vouchers, always a good start. The hotel is modern and clean, with the only real down side is the lack of A.C , but the night we stayed it was cool,so an open window was all that was needed.The pool and gym are well maintained and clean. Breakfast was better than most UK Hilton's

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Portland1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

First thing to say is that paying for bed breakfast and evening meal in a hotel, then being stung for £6.00 to park overnight is a rip off..
Hotel itself is very nice. Rooms clean and modern. Swimming pool jacuzzi and steam room we enjoyed very much and the changing room was clean and tidy ( you need a pound coin for your locker )
We had our evening meal in the restaurant and Becky who served us was such a nice person. Food was ok, nothing outstanding tho.
Now.... We come to breakfast. Maybe we arrived at a busy period but after being shown to a perfectly nice table we were asked if we wanted coffee or tea. Coffee we said. None arrived, coffee we said, none arrived. Coffee we said, we had almost finished breakfast by the time we got our coffee.
Omelet was cooked on request but the oil was dirty resulting in a very unattractive looking dark offering. No bread rolls and no bowls to put your porridge in. Yes it's a big hotel and yes it was busy but if they are fully booked they should have the staff to cope.
I will stay at the Hilton again because despite the above comments, it's a nice setting near the canal with outdoor seating. Comfy rooms and leisure facilities.
But.
Next time, I may take the train, no parking charge, and I hope the breakfast service improves!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Hassanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

I was pleased to hear that you had an overall enjoyable stay, however please accept my sincere apologies for any shortfalls in standards you experienced during breakfast. We greatly appreciate your feedback and it will be used to improve our guest experience at breakfast.

Our parking charge of £6.00 per 24 hours is a reduced rate for hotel residents only and is in line with all other city centre hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future,

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This hotel is a typical Hilton- suitable for the business traveler passing through who needs all the standard Hilton hotel features, but isn't looking for something unique or memorable. Room was comfortable but ordinary. The location is excellent for walking to city locations. English breakfast buffet was very good. Front desk staff were also friendly and helpful. Bar service was slow - I had to walk to the bar to order as no one visited my table. All in all, decent - but nothing to write home about.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back have a Quay-side view...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnbhansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
101HotelManager, Manager at Hilton Sheffield, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent trip advisor review,

Your feedback is greatly appreciated and we hope to welcome you back in the future,

Regards

Akan Tahsin
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.5 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.5 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#12 of 53 in Sheffield
1,286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Sheffield
Holiday Inn Sheffield
#22 of 53 in Sheffield
1,053 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sheffield City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Sheffield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Sheffield

Address: Victoria Quays 2 Furnival Road | Furnival Road, Sheffield S4 7YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sheffield
#11 Luxury Hotel in Sheffield
#16 Business Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £70 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Sheffield 4*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Sheffield hotel enjoys an ideal quayside location next to Victoria Quays, two minutes’ walk from Sheffield city center. This Sheffield hotel is 15 minutes from the M1 and 10 miles from the Peak District National Park. The hotel’s central location provides easy access to Sheffield’s main attractions like the Meadowhall shopping center and Sheffield Arena. Complimentary WIFI in public areas and 24 hour gym access for hotel guests is also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Sheffield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Sheffield Hotel Sheffield
Hilton International Sheffield
Sheffield Hilton International
Hilton Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing