We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grosvenor House Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Sheffield
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Leopold Hotel(Sheffield)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Harley Hotel(Sheffield)
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
4
8
13
8
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
4
8
13
8
26
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2008

The website was very misleading and I was very disappointed when I arrived. I have stayed in some hostels that were miles better than this hotel.
The rooms are ok, could do with double glazing to drown out the noise from the bar across the square and some nicer linen on the beds.
What I objected to most was the cold water in the shower (took 15 minutes to heat up)at 7am and a bathroom that was in desperate need of new tiles and better flooring.
We decided not to stay for the 2nd night and moved. Luckily we got our money back for the 2nd night!

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ren_nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2008

I have stayed at the Grosvenor a number of times, usually with groups of friends on a night out/ weekend in Sheffield. It may be some concrete-jungle throwback, but it suits a purpose and the whole retro-shabby-towerblock-thing is quite endearing if you have sense of humour about it. Its main selling point is its location which is smack-bang within the middle of the city centre and within staggering distance of all major shops/bars/clubs/venues.

It's unpretentious, cheap enough, and offers a late checkout and free car parking. The car park was difficult to find the first time we visited, but it is a big plus when you consider the other parking options which are no more secure but massively more expensive. The rooms were clean and spacious (and had been repainted between visits - we had the same room a couple of times), and the staff were polite and helpful. I have been to far more grand, reputable and up-market hotels and been disappointed with the standards and value for money. Take the Grosvenor at face value.

I wouldn't recommend it to anyone other than budget travellers on short stop-overs, but if you are looking for basic lodgings with no airs and graces then it fits the bill. It's not some soulless identikit lodge, you get the impression in its heyday it was a very striking modernist hotel, but sadly those days are past and I will miss it when it's gone.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2helenback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2007

If you're looking for luxury, look elsewhere, but in terms of value for money it's hard to beat. Rooms are clean and comfortable, and staff are polite and efficient. Excellent location - right in the city centre with free covered parking.

Reception area, breakfast room and bar are all very spacious and you get the feeling this was once a very nice spot 20 or 30 years ago. Right now, it is a bit run down and is being demolished next September, which is a shame.

I visit Sheffield quite a lot, and for a one night break in the centre of the city it can't be beaten in terms of value for money.

Stayed: November 2007
2  Thank barryjohnsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2007

I booked this hotel and then saw some of the reviews so I was expecting a truly horrible few nights.

I totally agree that in places this hotel is tired and needs a revamp, reception area for example. The car park is very dreary and offputting as well. Almost impossible to find, shame on you Sheffield City Council, get some street signs put up please!

However, it is good value for money, it is right on the edge of the city centre so very convenient and the rooms were functional and clean, as were the sheets and towels.

I thoroughly enjoyed the breakfasts, freshly cooked and HOT as well so perhaps there are a few others hotels who ought to phone this one up and get some tips on how to serve hot breakfasts, its not that difficult!

My only complaint is that the place is so noisy, but I cant blame the hotel for that.

Stayed: November 2007
1  Thank payrollpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2007

We took the chance of booking the Grosvenor House for one night due to its central location and free parking facility. But sadly, off-putting reviews proved accurate.
One-way systems and roadworks made finding the hotel difficult. Once located, first impressions made us wonder what we we'd let ourselves in for. We avoided parking next to a very dusty car (various words and diagrams inscribed on it) with flat tyre, which had obviously been in this dingy car park for some time. Luckily there were plenty of other vacant spaces, making manoeuvring round awkwardly placed pillars easier than it might have been. One question on check-in was, "Have you left any valuables in your car?" Somewhat unnerving!
One of two lifts was out of order; the other seemed on its last legs too, noisily clunking its way up to the 6th floor. It had no finesse... more like a service lift.
Our room bore no resemblance to the online photo. Threadbare curtains were hanging off the rails, at a dirty window which wouldn't close properly. Coupled with single glazing, this contributed to the room's chill feel. There appeared to be no way of increasing heat, a radiator thermostat not obvious till next morning when we found it hidden behind a curtain. Similarly hidden was the only "free" electrical socket, not discovered until curtains were pulled back in the morning. We'd had to unplug a lamp to gain inconvenient access to a socket under the dressing table to make an evening cuppa.
Carpet, chairs and bedspreads were badly stained, but the beds were comfortable and bed linen clean in the main.
Floor tiles were missing around the toilet, and we laughed at the "hygiene ribbon" around its lid/seat! However, there was plenty of hot water when we needed it.
Although hotel information implored us (for our own safety) to read fire instructions on the wall of our room, there were none to be found... not even hidden behind curtains!
The noise from Saturday night revellers went on loudly until 4am, clearly rising to our 6th floor level and giving us a sleepless night. Double glazing and thicker curtains would perhaps have helped to alleviate this.
On checking out we overheard a guest being challenged by a member of staff for damage he denied doing (a bedroom door kicked in apparently).
In view of all these poor aspects, we hadn't expected the very good hot/cold buffet breakfast we enjoyed before leaving.
Overall, it would be fairer to guests if this hotel was closed down until its demolition if the owners are not prepared to do some refurbishment in the meantime.

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank AnonymousNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews