We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Give it a big miss - go elsewhere!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grosvenor House Hotel
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Brisbane
Level Contributor
630 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Give it a big miss - go elsewhere!”
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Having driving around Sheffield looking for a place to stay, we ended up at the mall and at the dilapidated old building of Grosvenor House Hotel.

On entering the building we caught a rickety old lift up to reception and after a 5min wait enquired about vacancies. They had a room (GBP54 for a double) - it was a 3-star hotel and had free secure parking (the only one in the area) and thought that for one night it would be okay.

Had to drive around the block to enter the secured multi-level car park. Returned to reception and booked in (room 916). Ordered breakfast for 2 for the next morning - total now being GBP69.50.

Went up the rickety old lift to Level 9 and after going through a bunch of fire-zone doors, we found the room. Once in there we noticed the bed all crumpled and a dirty tea cup on the beside table, so we phoned reception and reported it. They found another room on the same floor and sent the porter up to the floor with the new key to room 910.

Not knowing what to expect, the room was borderline/semi-okay however we would rate it 1-star, not a 3-star!

The room was like a box - very small - old, tired, rundown and outdated but looked clean enough. The bed had crisp white linen sheets and there were extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobe in plastic covers. The bed was pushed up alongside the wall and although the room was tiny and cramped, it contained most of the amenities like side table, mirror, writing desk, chair, TV, tea/coffee/jug. The bathroom was very basic and still in its’ 60 décor with vinyl floors.

The Continental breakfast (room service) next morning arrived on time and was surprisingly good. We had cornflakes, croissants, jam, yoghurt and tea.

The Internet computer near Reception charged GBP1 for 10mins and the connection was so slow that we were barely able to check our email account.

Best feature - its location - very central and secure car-parking.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    8
    13
    8
    26
See reviews for
1
11
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2009

After reading all of the reviews on this hotel i was expecting the worst, However upon arrival was incredibly suprised. The car park was exactly what it is meant to be, somewhere to park you're car nothing more or less. The reception staff were really helpful and provided us with as much information as we required regarding sheffield itself or hotel ammenities. We stayed in a twin smoking permitted room which to say this was permitted and i am a non smoker was absolutly fine and i did not find it to smell etc... The room was lovely and spacious, the decor slightly dated but nice and clean, what more can you ask for. Hotel is the most central hotel in sheffield and a short walk away from bars and shopping areas. All in all this was a great suprise and i do think the reviews have been really harsh. We thought it was a total bargain for £20 a night, and would definatly reccomend it. :)

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S13404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I have read one review which descibes this hotel as a hotel in a multi storey car park. That sums it up. The car park was cleaner tho so they were being a little unfair on car parks. It really was a dive. Great for younsters who just need a bed but thats it! We dare not have the food so cannot say anything about that. Our room had vomit stains on the carpet and bed base. The door would not lock from the inside and the shower was cold. So folks, only go here if you're really desparate as we were. A night in your car would be better.

  • Liked — The Exit
  • Disliked — Cold shower
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank markr64507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sheffield hotels

LauraandLucy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2008

The memories! We had a great time at the Grosvenor Hotel back in the summer of 2005! At what other hotel can you have the whole dinning room to yourself? Within staggering distance from Gatecrasher and Debenhams - Be careful not to get lost in Debenhams - its huge! Sheffield does have more than one street and a really good tram system! The house wine in the restaurant is really nice and the food is beautiful! The rooms are large! The key is it a little difficult to use if you don't really have any common sense like ourselves!

The night porter is an absolute legend! We thought we were stuck outside all night and would have to live like tramps for the night - the night porter came to our rescue - he was quite lovely and let us in - what a nice chap!

There are no curfews at the hotel so this makes the hotel great for a night out in Sheffield!

We had such a good time we are returning for 2 of our friends 21st birthdays! Bring on the 4th October - Grosvenor are you ready?

Much Love Laura and Lucy xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  • Stayed July 2005, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LauraandLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Just had a night at the Grosvenor for a hen do. Perfect location for the city centre clubs and bars. As has already been said by previous reveiwers it is a very dated, basic hotel. The communal areas are very shabby but our twin room and ensuite were clean enough for what we needed. Reception staff were very abrupt but I have to hand it to the guy working the 24 hr hotel bar on the Saturday night who dealt with a very drunk lad, who threw up, without batting an eyelid. Probably something he has to deal with on a regular basis! Stay there for the location, the late check out and the decent cooked breakfast (perfect for a hangover). Don't expect anything else and your stay will be fine.

  • Liked — Location, breakfast
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chirpybirdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

What can I say about the Grosvenor Hotel that hasn't already been said? I'll be honest - someties you read these reviews and think people just like a good old moan and it can't be that bad... but in this case they were right. The hotel is a joke.

The hotel is part of the 'Corus' chain which can be found across the UK. Firstly, don't believe any of the information or pictures on their own webiste.... they are completely innacurate. I have attached some pictures just to give a general feel - but you know you can never really appreciate some things unless you are there! We paid £64.50 for 1 double room + breakfast.

Finding the hotel via the directions given was ok... finding the parking which is only advised to be 'at the rear of the hotel' was a nightmare. We ended up having to part in the small layby in front of the hotel and take the lift to the 2nd floor where there is a reception to ask for directions. We were simply handed a A5 piece of paper with printed directions from the hotel to get to the car park... clearly it's a common problem yet no one has had the sense to publish these directions on the website!! As we were about to drive off a second man in front of us asked if we were looking for the car park too.

Found the car park (your bog standard multi storey car park) and realised the hotel is actually inside the car park! The hallways and lobbies stunk of petrol fumes and were filthy - this was on our entrance to the hotel - fantastic start.

We used the one working lift (not to be used if you're of a nervous disposition) to get to the reception desk and sign in to get our keys. The receptionist who was French? I think had to be the most unwelcoming and abrupt receptionist I have had the mispleasure to meet. Without so much as a smile she barked at me for my card to validate my booking and handed me my room keys. We took the keys and got to the 8th floor and tried to get in. The door was stuck solid. We went back down to the 2nd floor reception and told the receptionist the problem. She asked 'what room number?' and we told her, then she simply said somewhat unsuprised... 'oh, right. Go back up and i'll send someone up to help you get in'. We went back up and waited for 5 mins until a chap came up and told us that door didn't work so we were moved to the room next door.

The hotel room matched the decor of the whole building - very dated (i'm guessing 70s and not changed since). Although the room seemed clean enough the aplliances and facilities were ancient. I had to limbo to get my hair under the shower head (it was all one piece of bent metal and wasn't adjustable) and the shower water progressively got hotter and hotter and the only way to turn it down was to struggle with the tap whilst being scolded by the water!

The 2 chairs in the room were covered in stains and the bedsheets had rips in them. The curtains were an 'interesting' desig and the window latch was broken and not double glazed.... which aided in the problems which started lasted from the night until about 2/3am... a local club provides a true clubbing experience for free from within the hotel room! Loud club music bellows through the room to the extent that you can actually hear what the DJ is saying and the songs being played! Also the hotel is positioned right next to a fire station - so you get a bit more noise from sirens as well.

The breakfast was probably the satisfactory thing about the stay. the dining room was dated but clean and there was an option of full english or continental. We did however find that it would have been cheaper not to book the breakfast for £10 along with the hotel room but to buy on the day separately!

On checking out we received a similar level of customer service from the receptionist as the night before.... next to nothing. She asked for my card to finalise the bill, took the room keys and walked off without so much as a goodbye!!

So needless to say a repeat visit will not be on the cards! If you're looking for chea accommodation locally I'd probably suggest checking the hostels - we saw some literature in town on some of the local ones which looked far better than the Grosvenor Hotel.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Customer service, decor, noise
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JustMe2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorks
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2008

Block of flats, shabby, elevator frightening.. that's the first impression and it gets worse once you stay there. Thankfully it was 1 night but the omens were bad when we saw people complaining whilst we checked in - not sure what about but it could be a multitude of things really. Anyway firstly it really is a dump and it has a chemical and damp smell on the staircase - possibly the fumes from the multi-storey car park that it uses and is joined to. Anyway we could live with that as it's better than using the elevator - one of the two that was out of order, possibly they couldn't get the parts anymore as the lifts were very old.

Then the radiator.. it was broken - very noticably so as the plastic regulator was snapped off so you couldn't turn it down and it was boiling hot. I asked the hotel receptionist to send somebody up to look at it and he said he couldn't leave his desk as he was the only person working!! It was a Friday night.

I got half my money refunded the next morning (after being told at 2pm to "open a window if it's too hot - there are no plumbers at this time!") which we did and the noise was city noise. We got little sleep.

On a positive, they gave us free breakfast but were very very reluctant to do so and only did when I showed them the pictures of the broken radiatior I took on my camera.

Don't stay here - pay an extra £10 and get a travel lodge. I never thought I would write that by the way!

Also people were complaining the next morning about various things - the staff seem brazen and unsympathetic and it's only because I pushed that I got any discount, nothing against them but it seemed as though regular complaints were the norm.

Hope this gives you enough - if not then mail me and I will show you the pictures - horrible - please if you want to enjoy Sheffield stay elsewhere.

  • Liked — nothing at all
  • Disliked — filthy, dated building - difficult to park. 100% the worst "hotel" we have stayed in
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwmcdonald05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.4 mi away
Cutlers Hotel
Cutlers Hotel
#34 of 53 in Sheffield
147 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#17 of 53 in Sheffield
1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Sheffield City Centre (St Mary's Gate) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#13 of 53 in Sheffield
2,089 reviews
0.3 mi away
Leopold Hotel
Leopold Hotel
#11 of 53 in Sheffield
1,088 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Sheffield City
Ibis Sheffield City
#23 of 53 in Sheffield
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House Hotel

Property: Grosvenor House Hotel
Address: Charter Square, Sheffield S1 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Grosvenor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing