We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Grosvenor House Hotel
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Reviewed 3 March 2010

When we stayed at this hotel it seemed under staffed, however, they were friendly and polite. The rooms were in serious need of redecoration as the wallpaper in our room was falling off the wall. The hotel was cold and restaurant services limited.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank woodymanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2010

It was a while ago that I stayed here. As a young student I didn;t have much money and this was very cheap - around £26 for one night. It was a bit confusing on how to get to the car park. The reception staff were very helpful and friendly but they didn't bat an eyelid that there were three of us - even though they only had details for two of us staying. Originally there was just two of us staying but as we're all friends and it was cheap, three girls do not mind sharing a bed. The lifts had different kinds of lino on the floor and the walls had various linos and carpet on there which was a bit disturbing.

The corridor to the room looked as grubby as the outside. The room itself had a great view and was clean - which is all we needed really, as all we planned on doing was getting ready, having a few drinks then going out. It was more of a room to just sleep in for cheap for the night.

You definately get what you pay for. Don't go there with high expecations because you will be disappointed. You can't really go wrong for the price. We got what we needed for the night and that was a bed and somewhere to keep our things for the night.

The only concern I had was with our friend who came with us. When we checked in they weren't concerned that there was three of us when it was a room with one double bed. And when we went out and came back they were not concerned about any kind of identity check, so I guess it's not too safe.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BritishIceQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2009

This hotel cost us £70pppn. You can stay in a decent place in London for less than that Unfortunately it was the only place near the city centre that have free rooms for the night we were staying.

The room was tiny. The bed was uncomfortable. The bathroom was very dirty. The service was non-existent. The room was on the 10th floor, and two of the lifts were out of order so we had to choose between waiting for ages for a lift to arrive or braving the flimsy stairs on which I once slipped because the carpet was not tacked to the floorboards!

A terrible terrible place. Avoid!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We also had read the reviews. Knowing that most people expect a silk purse to be made from a pig's ear, we took the poor ones with a pinch of salt. There were enough encouraging ones to decide us to book for the two nights we were in Sheffield. Yes, the poor old place is shabby. Yes, it is a relic of an earlier generation of hotels. But, it was splendid. The welcome was very genuine and friendly; our room was large and comfortable; the view to the east was impressive with the sunrise behind the Town Hall and Big Wheel. True, the water took a long time to run hot but eventually provided excellent baths in a good long bath. Breakfast was very good - that toaster is brilliant - and all the time the staff in every department were couteous and attentive. It must be very difficult for them, knowing that the hotel is scheduled for demolishion sometime in the future and with a number of more modern hotels in the vicinity, to keep their morale high. They deserve our many congratulations for their cheerfulness and attentiveness.
I was born in Sheffield and have spent many years there. Could I find my way around? Only with great difficulty and extra miles could we find our way to the Grosvenor. But that's not the hotel's fault! Well done, the Grosvenor House Hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SimonH3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Having driving around Sheffield looking for a place to stay, we ended up at the mall and at the dilapidated old building of Grosvenor House Hotel.

On entering the building we caught a rickety old lift up to reception and after a 5min wait enquired about vacancies. They had a room (GBP54 for a double) - it was a 3-star hotel and had free secure parking (the only one in the area) and thought that for one night it would be okay.

Had to drive around the block to enter the secured multi-level car park. Returned to reception and booked in (room 916). Ordered breakfast for 2 for the next morning - total now being GBP69.50.

Went up the rickety old lift to Level 9 and after going through a bunch of fire-zone doors, we found the room. Once in there we noticed the bed all crumpled and a dirty tea cup on the beside table, so we phoned reception and reported it. They found another room on the same floor and sent the porter up to the floor with the new key to room 910.

Not knowing what to expect, the room was borderline/semi-okay however we would rate it 1-star, not a 3-star!

The room was like a box - very small - old, tired, rundown and outdated but looked clean enough. The bed had crisp white linen sheets and there were extra blankets and pillows in the wardrobe in plastic covers. The bed was pushed up alongside the wall and although the room was tiny and cramped, it contained most of the amenities like side table, mirror, writing desk, chair, TV, tea/coffee/jug. The bathroom was very basic and still in its’ 60 décor with vinyl floors.

The Continental breakfast (room service) next morning arrived on time and was surprisingly good. We had cornflakes, croissants, jam, yoghurt and tea.

The Internet computer near Reception charged GBP1 for 10mins and the connection was so slow that we were barely able to check our email account.

Best feature - its location - very central and secure car-parking.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2009

After reading all of the reviews on this hotel i was expecting the worst, However upon arrival was incredibly suprised. The car park was exactly what it is meant to be, somewhere to park you're car nothing more or less. The reception staff were really helpful and provided us with as much information as we required regarding sheffield itself or hotel ammenities. We stayed in a twin smoking permitted room which to say this was permitted and i am a non smoker was absolutly fine and i did not find it to smell etc... The room was lovely and spacious, the decor slightly dated but nice and clean, what more can you ask for. Hotel is the most central hotel in sheffield and a short walk away from bars and shopping areas. All in all this was a great suprise and i do think the reviews have been really harsh. We thought it was a total bargain for £20 a night, and would definatly reccomend it. :)

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S13404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2008

I have read one review which descibes this hotel as a hotel in a multi storey car park. That sums it up. The car park was cleaner tho so they were being a little unfair on car parks. It really was a dive. Great for younsters who just need a bed but thats it! We dare not have the food so cannot say anything about that. Our room had vomit stains on the carpet and bed base. The door would not lock from the inside and the shower was cold. So folks, only go here if you're really desparate as we were. A night in your car would be better.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank markr64507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Sheffield
Jurys Inn Sheffield
#7 of 53 in Sheffield
2,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hampton By Hilton Sheffield
0.6 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,311 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hilton Sheffield
Hilton Sheffield
#27 of 53 in Sheffield
1,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grosvenor House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grosvenor House Hotel

Address: Charter Square, Sheffield S1 3EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Price Range: £55 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grosvenor House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Grosvenor House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grosvenor Hotel Sheffield

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing