We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality Hotel & Food.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have just returned from a one night stay which we got through Groupon.com. We live in Yorkshire and thought it would be a nice place to stay for a night away to just chill out. We found it easily with good brown tourist roadsigns in the village. We had a painless checkin procedure, and the lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. We found our room, which was large in size, with a large flatscreen TV, kettle etc, and a good clean bathroom. The decor is plain, but looks ok. The view from our window was of the car park, so we moved our car so we could see it from the window.

We spent the afternoon in the bar, and this area of the hotel seems very modern indeed, which we liked. There were some noisy children running around in the bar which we found slightly off putting, but obviously nothing to do with the hotel!! We had a beautiful evening meal in the Darcy's restaurant. Our Groupon voucher entitled us to a 50% discount on the meal, but unfortunately this was only from a very limited menu, so we opted to pay full price for selections from the full menu.

We both had a smoked haddock rarebit to start which we both thoroughly enjoyed, followed by ribeye steaks. The steaks were cooked perfectly (one rare, & one well done), and came with 'proper' hand cut chips, mushrooms, and cherry tomatoes. All the food tasted sublime. For dessert my wife had a home made cheesecake, and I opted for a chilled chocolate mousse, which again were both delicious. We rounded our meal off with two liqueur coffees. Service in the restaurant was great. I personally hate it when staff ask if everything is ok with your meal before you've finished it, and this didn't happen here, so full marks there!!

We enjoyed a good nights sleep in our room, despite the bed being softer than we're used to! We discovered this morning that we were missing some large towels, but just made do with hand towels for the shower! The shower was lovely and hot and very powerful.

We had a good quality breakfast, and the choices we're very nice. We both opted for the full English and again, it was cooked to perfection.

All in all, a lovely relaxing break, in beautiful surroundings, topped off with great staff, and wonderful food. Would have given it 5 stars if we'd had large towels. But only a small gripe, and I'm sure if we'd have asked for some we would have got them no problem!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trucker-Ox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMosborough, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and will pass on your kind words to the team.

I apologise that you were missing some towels. If you had let us know, we would have gladly brought them straight away.

I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel very soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

635 - 641 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2012

Nice place one thinks. Thought whilst in the area this looked good, Ill try it out But!!!
Please sort out your kitchen, is everything you serve from a microwave???, obviously youve not got qualified staff in the kitchen. Get them to watch Saturday kitchen, or Masterchef, for some ideas, ill willingly send them a Delia step by step cook book. Some staff attitudes need reviewing too. Is the manager, or his ,her superiors aware of how the place is run. A great shame

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andi4ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMosborough, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,

At Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall we welcome all constructive criticism. I find your review to be anything but constructive.

We have a team of 8 chefs who work very hard to provide our hundreds of customers each week with fresh, seasonal and enjoyable food. Whether that be a table of two for lunch or a wedding for 200 guests.

To share your thoughts with them would be highly demoralising and as such, your review will be treated with the contempt with which it was written.

Kind regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Me and my partner saw this what we thought was a lovely hotel on the Groupon website and thought we would book a 3 night stay with dinner. The start of the conversation was absolutely fine and I was told about the availability for each weekend. I was then asked " are you a groupon customer" as if she was sick and tired of taking calls from cheep skates and to be told they dont have any availability after all and they couldnt accommodate us. Obviously it wasnt the young girls fault who has just been given instruction by her manager not to offer any groupon customers any weekend availability.
So in the end we've had to call Groupon who have agreed this isnt correct practice and refunded our money. (Theres some advise for anyone else having the same problem)
Its the only hotel in the resession I know that turns down over £200 worth of business.

Room Tip: You'll be lucky if you get a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Emma_x02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMosborough, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I was sorry to read that you did not get to stay with us.

As you would expect, having run a very successful offer with Groupon, the majority of customers wanted to stay at the weekend. Despite fulfilling a huge number of requests, it was just not possible to accommodate everybody, despite being very generous and flexible with our availability.

I do hope that we get to welcome you to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel in the future.

Kind Regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

I stayed here for one night, the room is very spacious, modern, clean and comfy. The bar area and restaurant are stylish with a wide choice of meals at a reasonable price. Breakfast is a small buffet of cereal, toast, fruit, pastries, or you can choose a cooked breakfast from the menu for an extra cost. All the staff were friendly and helpful. Overall I can't fault the place, it's perfect for a short stay.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BC1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMosborough, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I appreciate your feedback and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel soon.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I apologise if it was not made clear to you, but giests who book bed and breakfast do not have to pay any extra for the cooked breakfast.

Kind Regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

We arrived with excitement, to find a lovely clean Hotel with history, greeted well at reception, had an adiquite afternoon tea at the well appointed bar, the staff very polite and welcoming. We were therefore very excited for our evening meal - all we can say is that the food we received was NOT cooked by anyone who had been trained in catering in any form at all. We are a well travelled couple and have eaten some very different foods, but the restaurant at Mosborough has been the worst - presentation was nil, taste even worse it was embarasing having to leave the plate full of food unedible. We informed the Manager and he did say he would put things right but BEWARE before you book. We were supposed to stay 2 nights but left after one, even Breakfast was awful

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMosborough, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us.

I really appreciate your feedback which will be used to improve the service we offer.

I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel in the future to prove to you that your experience is not reflective of the high standards we offer.

Kind Regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Was our wedding anniversary and had nothing planned apart from a meal out when I got an email from Groupon showing a deal on this hotel. Being new to Groupon, we decided to take advantage and stay the night at the Mosborough Hall Hotel on Sat 7th January.....and very nice it was too///

We arrived early evening, it was dark but we could still see what a lovely old building it was with the new Atrium style bar being next to Reception. The Manager on duty was great, really chatty and a great first impression, dont know his name but he is Scottish. Our room was in the new part of the building and was spotless. It is quite sparce like some people have commented on and there isnt much drawer space but hey, most people are only there for an odd night or weekend/business traveller so it suited us great. Bed was also really really comfortable, memory foam mattress if im not mistaken. Nice clean bathroom and good reception on freeview telly.

For £59 we got an overnight stay, bottle of wine and breakfast. We could also dine off the Winter set menu ,,,it was £21 per person for 3 courses but with the Groupon deal we also got 50% off which meant we had everything for around £80=bargain of the year!

The bar is lovely, very modern with nice staff. We had a cocktail there before dinner which was reasonably priced. We both had Chicken and Blackpudding Terrine for starter, both had the Sea Bream with pesto mash, olive,tomato and red wine jus with myself having Ice Cream Sundae with home made cookies and hubbie having Chocolate Mousse with a Baileys and Caramel sauce....to die for! The free bottle of wine was served with our meal, we had a bottle of house Red which was lovely. Staff were nice and friendly and although it isnt mega portions we found it just a right amount with three courses(we paid extra for hand cut chips to accompany our main and they were exceptional)...Dinner over we went back to the bar and their comfy leather sofas whicfh by this time was busier, not too much so but a nice feel-would be even better if they piped some nice chillin music into this area.Champagne cocktail was lovely and pulled a punch!!!!

Next morning breakfast was a buffet continental with made to order cooked items. This is the only thing i have anything slightly negative to say. Our waitress didnt really appear interested in taking our order in fact my husband had to get her attention about 20 minutes after we were first seated and despite other diners around us being served. She took our order and didnt apologise. I had the muffin with scrambled eggs and i had asked for crispy bacon instead of Smoked Salmon, whilst my hubbie had a full breakfast. My choice was really nice, really well cooked however it was on the cold side...whilst my hubbie's was missing the black pudding(and what he wanted more than anything)/ I didnt put mine back as we were in a hurry and as i have said it was nice even it was cold but my hubbie got the waitress's attention again about the Black Pudding. She said she would get him it which she did but again there was no apology. She seemed to be like this with others too so as i say, perhaps the nice manager we spoke to when we arrived could have a word which would then make this hotel a 10/10 instead of a 9/10.

To summarise a lovely hotel, we will go back, groupon deal or no groupon deal...we would highly recommend to anyone wishing a lovely mix of old and new, good food, mainly great staff, cleanliness and comfort in rooms and a great little bar area ..what more could you want..

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotsliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pcbrown2, General Manager at Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay on the Groupon offer and found it good value for money.

I appreciate your feedback and hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,

Paul Brown
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2012

Stayed here from Christmas Day for 3 nights.

We arrived at about 5/6pm and checked in. The receptionist took us to our room. Only she didn't, the first room she took us too was occupied already. She was very apologetic and quite quickly got a key for the correct room.

We stayed in the Lord John Darcy "Suite". I have stayed in other Suites in other hotels and this is defiantly not one! a single room with 2 chairs and a bathroom, For it to be a proper suite it would need to have a separate sitting room or dining room.
It was very hot and we were unable to turn down the radiators. however it is a very nice room otherwise and well decorated.

We had room service twice and the meals we had were very good. Really well cooked and very tasty. We had a meal in the restaurant on our third night and again it was really nice and well cooked.

Sadly the Breakfast was totally different.
The first day it was lovely, However the following two days it was disgusting. Most of the full English was tepid and bacon was dry and hard. Also No sausages at all. The Danish pastries took over 20 minutes to arrive despite being told it would take only 5-10 minutes. The tea also tasted very strange on the 2nd day and other guests also said the same thing.

Despite these faults the staff were fantastic throughout, very courteous and helpful.
I would stay here again but I would have breakfast somewhere else!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
6.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,302 reviews
6.1 mi away
Novotel Sheffield Centre
Novotel Sheffield Centre
#18 of 53 in Sheffield
1,545 reviews
7.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
765 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £50 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 43 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 43 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing