We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could try better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #20 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights as I had business in the area .
Arriving at the hotel first impressions were good friendly staff and a nice looking hotel.
Room was small but clean and functional .
When it came to climbing into bed later that's when things were not so good the bed was so soft it felt like I was sinking into a bowl of jelly much too soft for my liking .
Next morning after a poor nights sleep it was time for breakfast having sampled the room service the night before I wasn't expecting much and I wasn't disappointed the breakfast was luke warm and the scrambled eggs watery beyond belief.

With the hotel being a fair distance outside of Sheffield when my colleague joined me later it was with fear that we headed for the restaurant . However the fear soon vanished after the starter arrived the food within the restaurant was as good as I've eaten anywhere.

So a mixed bag really charming and helpful staff , lovely building let down by a poor breakfast and soft beds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (738)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

495 - 501 of 738 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2013

Staff were very friendly and the hotel and around it is very beautiful. The room was clean and ok, but the bed was very, very soft, not very comfortable for me. Anyway, the global result was good enough.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eduardo7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

I recently attended a wedding here and was really disappointed with Mosborough Hall.
Whilst it is situation is a beautiful setting and the buildings themselves are idyllic, the staff and standards are not up to scratch at all.

In Summary:
The bedrooms and function rooms have no AC or fans. There is no airflow in the bedrooms in particular as the windows only open 4inches wide. Be warned!

The breakfast standard were very poor. There is limited choice and cheap sausages/bacon are served. Full English is £12.50 which is nothing short of a rip off for what you are served.

The staff service levels in the function bar were disgraceful. The bar staff were young members of staff, who spent the whole evening lent on the bar or sitting down looking bored. They were miserable and served a drink to you with resentment all night.

Upon arriving I went into the function room which clearly smelt of sick.(I suspect from the night before!) I asked THREE times for someone to sort this out before the bride arrived! I was told by a member of staff there was 'Nothing they could do'. Eventually the floor was clean and miraculously the smell disappeared....

This could be a super venue but staff levels and standards really let Mosborough Hall down.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lucystorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We booked into Mosborough Hall Hotel for a Saturday night B&B while attending a friends 40th birthday nearby. We checked in mid afternoon on a very warm Saturday. We went straight up to our room to find it unbearably warm, with only a tiny window available to open (already open) and no air conditioning or fan available. As we were heading out for our friend's party we left the window open and closed the curtains in the hope that when we returned later the room would be cooler.

We came back to the room around 11pm and it was really hot. Impossible for either of us to sleep.

We went down to breakfast at 9:30 and I have to say this is by far the worst hotel breakfast we have ever had. There were no plates or bowls available at the diminished buffet breakfast area. When I asked a passing waitress if we could have some plates and bowls (quite a queue was forming) she was dismissive and said that they were very busy. We managed to get a glass for orange juice and took our seats. No buffet items were taken as after a long wait there were no plates or bowls produced.

The cooked breakfast was truly dreadful. I had the vegetarian cooked breakfast and my partner a full English. Vegetarian sausages were rock solid, cold and completely inedible. They were by far the worst veggie sausages I have ever been served. Fried eggs were cold and hard. Baked beans were cold. Overall a very poor experience all round.

We were left with a feeling that we had been ripped off as this was not an inexpensive option for us.

Room Tip: Choose an alternative hotel - especially in Summer as the room we chose was too hot to sleep in with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WozzaTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

Went last night for dinner and food was beautiful, was unsure what to expect after reading reviews about the food, but everything we ate was lovely. Three of us had steak and they were all cooked to our liking and one of us had fish and chips which she said was great. Would definitely recommend the food and venue to friends and family.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatienMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

my husband and I stayed here on 11th july for one night. when we arrived and were shown to our lovely room[211] it was very warm but didn't have air conditioning. when we were on a red letter day stay, which meant we had a 3 course meal with a bottle of wine. the menu was limited & so we chose starters that we didn't particularly want or enjoy. The main course was the same. My husband chose beef in red wine, accompanied by pasta, but what he actually got was spaghetti bolognese!. I chose pork steak on a bed of sweet potato mash, again I was dissappointed because it was just a big blob of sweet potato mash. I complained to the waitress who was concerned & went to see the chef & we were then sent a bottle of wine up to our room. This was very nice, but I feel that the food should be much better in a hotel of this standard. The breakfasts were equally dissappointing because they had obviously been kept warm & were overcooked. The staff were all lovely, but I have to wonder about the chef & his/her team in the kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ann11713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We stayed here on a friday night, and although there was a wedding on i felt an incredibly peaceful & relaxed atmosphere. The room was spacious, clean, quiet & had great facilities. We ate in the restaraunt, staff were very polite.. starter, desert & wine were great but main course was very dissapointing. We would revisit this hotel, as we enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
6.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
#10 of 53 in Sheffield
1,301 reviews
7.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#6 of 53 in Sheffield
765 reviews
10.2 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#1 of 53 in Sheffield
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range: £51 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 43 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 43 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing