We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #15 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Very nice indeed”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I was a bit hesitant as this hotel was booked for me, as Best Westerns can really vary in terms of quality. A very pleasant experience when checking in, with nice friendly staff. Room was clean and modern, with nice linens and towles. Huge telly (if thats your thing), excellent wifi. Plenty of workspace in the room. Clock radio in the room (great if you forgot your alarm). Nice bar area and outside seating too. Dinner was pretty good, but typical hotel fayre. Breakfast was freshly prepared to order, which is always a plus against the chain hotels. I would recommend you get a b&b rate though, as the breakfast seperately was expensive (i cant remember exactly how much now). Hotel is not walking distance to much else, but ok if you plan to stay on site for the evening. Good for business meetings. Overall a very pleasant stay, and i would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    306
    219
    97
    44
    33
See reviews for
156
305
19
120
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Leyland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 August 2014

i got the best room in the house Roberts the bed was so comfy I want on the young gril on the front desk was so good the kind you want to book you every time sorry i cant remember your name but i will be back in a few days to finish the job

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
1 Thank 642christopherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A very nice hotel set in an old country hall but very modern interior. Only a quick overnight stay as I had to leave early the following morning but everything was fine, a nice clean room, comfy bed, nice breakfast and a good price with booking so late and would certainly stay again, only issue was the car parking was a little tight but there was a wedding going on at the same time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
2 Thank cpj11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

I recently went here for afternoon tea and thought it was a beautiful and very well presented venue. We went at 1pm on a weekday; so there wasn't much of an atmosphere; but that is to be expected. When we walked in - we weren't greeted at all. In fact the waitress behind the bar actually disappeared as soon as she saw us! Then when she finally greeted us and I'd explained that we'd booked a table, she promptly showed us to a lovely table. Unfortinately that was the only prompt bit of the service though. The waitress was hardly around to provide us with any other service once we'd drank our drinks and after half an hour we waited at the bar until she reappeared so we could order some more. She was pleasant and smiley, but really made us feel a bit of an inconvenience. So overall, I wouldn't say it was the best experience but for the price, the afternoon tea we had was delicious and such a good price. The setting is lovely and I think we just caught them on a bad day. I say - worth a try. I will definitely be going again and fingers crossed it will be better.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We arrived around 1.10 for our afternoon tea, right in the middle of a wedding party. The guests were waiting to go over to the venue, the bar was busy with around 50-60 people. We didn't have to wait despite this. We had rung in advance to let them know I was a coeliac, and they did mention that they had been on the lookout for us. When my lovely three tiered gluten free tea arrived I was so pleased. I had the same number and variety of sandwiches my daughter had (non coeliac), three different cakes, a chocolate brownie with cream and strawberries, lemon drizzle cake and a meringue with strawberries and three tarts, jam and lemon curd. I was chuffed. The bread was delicious. Bly another coeliac can understand the yearning we have for soft loaves. They used genius loaf. Overall I didn't feel like I was the poor relation. The sandwich fillings were salmon, cream cheese and cucumber and egg mayo. And whilst brownies are commonly offered for coeliac's, the other cakes made it an excellent show. I would 100% recommend any coeliac to go to Mosborough Hall. I would also recommend going when there is a wedding on as it's excellent entertainment too.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherakapod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Was a nice hotel but food standards have slipped.

My final stay they charged me £100 fine for smoking in the room. But I gave up years ago and only do Ecigs after a beer...

Better to avoid this hotel until things change, very disappointing for those that remember when this as good hotel.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
7.1 mi away
Halifax Hall
Halifax Hall
#5 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Sheffield Park
10.2 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
5.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 43 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 43 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Superbreak UK, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing