We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back time and again! Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Sheffield
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would come back time and again! Great Hotel”
Reviewed 26 January 2010

Stayed nuerous times throughout 2009 with work & staff were very froendly and helpful. Stayed in same room most of the time but 1 time we stayed in a different room we were on the ground floor and the rooms are not as modern; stay in room 215. Little walk from reception but very good size and lovely bathroom.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katiew31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    310
    228
    105
    48
    33
See reviews for
163
312
19
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2010

We stayed at this hotel in august 2009 and can only say that the service provided by the staff here is absolutely disgusting. They were rude, unprofessional and found everything a huge task! The hotel is beautiful and the food is good but the service is awful. Would not go back if it was the last place on earth.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank princessfluff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2009

Even though we explicitly asked for a quiet room when booking, we were put up in a room next to the central engine of the ventilation, which was constantly producing a loud noise. We only got another room after we announced that we would leave if not. The other room was better but also loud, due to water pipes next door which always gave a hooting sound whenever someone used their taps.
Independent from that the front desk manager was rather unfriendly, almost aggressive.

The cleaning staff took a towel, which we didn't get back; no apology or recompense was offered.

Transport to the arena (part of a package) was booked by 14 people, but the taxi they called could only transport 10. The front desk manager was very unfriendly to her guests even though it was her fault.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anechointhebone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2009

A lovely building with beautiful bar and the rooms were comfortable and well laid out but the whole thing was let down by the staff. We phoned ahead to book dinner but reception told us there was no need. We got there and the waitress said it was very difficult because we hadn't made a booking which we should have done with reception and ummm'd and ahhhh'd about seating us despite the fact that there were only two other tables occupied in the dining room and only one name on the booking sheet in front of her. The next morning was no better where the staff were fine but clearly run off their feet with tables not cleared, no fresh table settings laid out, no plates available for the breakfast bar. The reason for all this I think is, this place is a lovely wedding venue and they clearly do that well but if you're not part of the wedding party, they're too busy to be able to look after you.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elle31_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
1 review
Reviewed 15 September 2009

We stayed for 2 nights as a weekend trip to Sheffield. Mosborough Hall is a fascinating building that has been beautifully refurbished. The food was wonderful and the service friendly and helpful. Our room was big and had all the expected fittings and the bed enveloping, the decor was a little dull in the room but did not dampen the experience of our stay. All in all we would return and would reccommend it.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PlyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

We held our wedding reception at Mosborough Hall in June this year.
As we live in Newcastle, we were feeling the strain of trying to organise things back in Sheffield for our big day. The staff at Mosborough Hall couldnt have been more helpful - especially Pat and Lauren, the wedding co-ordinators.
The night before the wedding we dropped off all of our bits an bobs - centre pieces for the tables, name cards, favours, etc and to be honest i was dreading what the room would look like the following day! However, when we first stepped into the room, what i saw actually took my breath away. The room looked unbelieveable - far better than i ever imagined possible. Tea lights and glass beads were on each of the tabels which totally added to everything we'd taken along. i was over the moon.
As the reception continued, the staff excelled - the food was brought out promptly, staff were friendly, they took drinks orders from our guests at the tables so they didnt have to go to the bar, and on top of all this the food was amazing!
The 5 star qualitly continued through to the evening reception and Pat and Lauren were there the whole time ensuring everything ticked over as it should.
As we retired to the bridal suite that night the room had been presented beautifully - petals on the bed and freah fruit on the side..... even Molton Brown toiletries in the en-suite!
The following morning we had breakfast in the restaurant which again, i couldnt fault. As most of our guests had travelled for the wedding we had booked almost all of the rooms in the hotel - so it was lovely to see them all there the following day... although not looking as fresh as they did the day before! Nobody had a bad word to say about the hotel, or its staff, which was fantastic, and a hard thing to do - keeping 100 guests happy!
I would highly recommend Mosborough Hall for a wedding, or any other function, or even just for a night away.
We have been to the restaurant since the wedding and the Sunday lunch was lovely. A good winner all round.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Bunnies07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2009

Held my Daughters Wedding there 30/08/09 Rude Staff..Poor Customer Service skills..aggressive Front of House Manager...Wedding Co Ordinator did not co ordinate & was rude along with the rest of her team.
I would not reccomend this place to anyone!!!!!
FAULTY TOWERS SPRINGS TO MIND

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheffieldJulie6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sheffield hotels
3.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Aston Hall Hotel
6.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Kenwood Hall Hotel
10.2 mi away
Whitley Hall Hotel
Whitley Hall Hotel
#2 of 53 in Sheffield
1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Sheffield
6.1 mi away
Mercure Sheffield St Paul's Hotel
3.2 mi away
Days Inn Sheffield M1
Days Inn Sheffield M1
#35 of 53 in Sheffield
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel
Address: High Street | Mosborough, Sheffield S20 5EA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > South Yorkshire > Sheffield
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Sheffield
#15 Business Hotel in Sheffield
#17 Romantic Hotel in Sheffield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The BEST WESTERN PLUS Mosborough Hall Hotel which exudes a superb combination of historic charm and modern luxury. Set in the quiet village of Mosborough, this 12th-century manor house has ample room for conferences, weddings, parties and a host of other celebrations. Still retaining its stately charm the hotel boasts a selection of 43 rooms to cover all tastes from our two main suites to our 43 contemporary rooms. Whatever the reason for your visit The Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel is conveniently located. Enjoy the Peak District, shop until you drop with over 270 shops at Meadowhall Shopping Centre. Watch the latest artists at the Sheffield Arena, power your imagination at Magna Park in Rotherham, or visit the Crucible and Lyceum Theatres and enjoy the vibrant nightlife of Sheffield. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Mosborough Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sheffield
Sheffield Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing