We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a pleasant meal”

Cross Scythes Hotel
Ranked #476 of 1,454 Restaurants in Sheffield
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: This has been reviewed as a hoteil but the excellent restauranr should be listed in its own right, if possible. Many thanks.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Nice place for a pleasant meal”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Ive been here twice now and have enjoyed the meals here. We visited recently and indulged in 3 courses. I had the fish cakes starter and Mr Darcy had the rarebit, these were ok, maybe some more flavour required. Mains were sausages for me which i really enjoyed and Mr Darcy had the fish n chips. All well with the mains. Not usually super indulgent for desserts i had the pear crumble which was really delicious and Darcy was a bit disappointed with his petit fours. Not to worry, team were kind enough to not charge us for the petit fours. In summary a lovely place, i enjoy the ambience and the food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HayleyV854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    30
    18
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chatteris, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“nice place, shame the menu is so limited”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We popped in here first time for a quick lunch and were impressed with the service and the beer. We looked at the menu and thought that it had promise. Thus set up, we came back for dinner and were so disappointed that it was the same menu we were given for breakfast/ lunch. It was hard, therefore, to chose something. I had the Yorkshire platter and it was underwhelming to be honest - nothing was standing out, and I thought that it was expensive for what was there. However, the beer is good and would come here just for a drink in future

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chatterisgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Used the restaurant as soon as we arrived. There is a great choice of food and is very reasonably priced.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Steven J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good but not good enough ”
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

Not sure what it is about this place. It is good: good food, drinks and service. But that is it, just good. I've not once been in and thought that it was worthy of a 5* review and not often even a 4* review.

Maybe it's the slightly stuffy staff. Maybe it's the slightly disappointing menu or ambience. Maybe it's the slightly annoying manager.

However, I seem to have no problem in visiting every now and then so they must be doing something right.

Helpful?
1 Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Good cask ales with a very pleasant atmosphere, staff are attentive and polite. Food was very tasty with good sized portions for the price and delivered hot with a smile. Close to the Peak District definitely worth a try would have got an excellent if it wasn't for the fact the table was sticky and hadn't been wiped properly where I was sat but other than that very good indeed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MrFatMaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cross Scythes Hotel also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to Cross Scythes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing