We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food, reasonable service but misleading menu.”

The Prince of Wales
Ranked #148 of 1,467 Restaurants in Sheffield
Price range: US$12 - US$30
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Lovely food, reasonable service but misleading menu.”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I came here for Sunday lunch as we had seen the two courses for £14.95 offer and thought it was reasonable. We had eaten here before and new the food wouldn't disappoint. We had a few drinks in the sun outside on the modern terrace and the atmosphere was lovely. When we were steated at our table the waiter was very friendly and attentive. We looked at the menu and the on starters section it was clearly indicated which you could choose from to have the 2 courses for £14.95 offer. When it came to the mains the menu indicated that you could select from any one of the roasts on the menu, and this included a "trio of meats" that appealed to both my husband and I but this was slightly more expensive than the other roasts on the menu so we asked the waiter if it was included in the two for £14.95 offer and he stated it was so this is what we chose. The food came promptly and it was delicious. We both decided we wanted a pudding and you could add a pudding for £3 when you had had the £14.95 offer so in total the meal should have been £17.95 each. But when the bill came we had been charged full price for the starter and the main course and the reason that was given for this was that the "trio of meats"
wasn't infact included in the offer so we had been given the wrong information. Not only that the menu did not indicate this either. The manager didn't charge us for our desserts however we ended up still paying more than we should have. Overall the meal was lovely, the staff friendly and attentive but could do with being educated about the menu more and if the trio of meats isn't included in the Sunday lunch offer then this should be indicated in the menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    93
    65
    56
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Not up to scratch!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Just come back from a visit to the Prince of Wales for Sunday dinner and wished we hadn't really bothered. Having tried the pub several times and always having pretty poor service ( pleasant staff but everything taking too long and no attention being given) we thought we'd give it another try. After waiting several minutes for anyone to acknowledge us we were seated and then sat for 20 minutes waiting for our drinks to arrive. Our starter of Artisan breads arrived shortly behind only for us to be half way through eating this for our main course to arrive. Having rearranged the table to fit 3 meals and the starter plates on the table we started our meal. My husband and I had ordered roast beef along with a child's portion of roast beef. The meal was tasty although the gravy was so rich it was all you could really taste. However, the bowl of vegetables to share between 3 of us arrived - there was 2 peas, 1 piece of broccoli and a handful of carrots for us all along with some cabbage, barely enough for us to share. Not what I would have expected for £14 each. After fighting over the last carrot I took my daughter to the toilet only to find hair and body wash in place of hand wash and 3 empty tissue boxes with lots of balls of screwed up dirty tissues everywhere, not pleasant. We didn't bother to stop for a pudding and we would have ordered more drinks had we been asked. Shame as it is our local pub but not sure it's worth giving it any more chances.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emma T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Friendly and welcoming”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

You have to slightly worry when you first enter a pub with a modern grey interior and those customary wall art words, even more worrying is that they seemed to think putting the word "kitchen" over the large opening in the wall behind which lots of people with white chefs clothes rush around, may help in our belief this is a place where they know what they are doing. That said however, if you ignored this and all the sign written words ending with "o", the welcome and service level in the Pince of Wales is high and the food was reassuringly good, albeit quite pricey for the menu choice.

The other nice thing about the PoW (not prisoner of war) is that on this latest transformation of the pub is they have put tables for outside dining overlooking the car park and it was here we sat down with a bottle of champagne courtesy of a promotional voucher.

The staff were great, attentive and helpful. Friendly and helping you through the possibilities of taking advantage of all the offers on the board inside. Its here where the PoW slightly let's itself down as there are so many offers you could take up " £10 a bottle of wine on Wednesdays ' which sounds great, especially as this was a Wednesday..... But only realising that this involved pre-online membership of an another independent wine club rather than a simple discount could make your fellow guests a little bored while you enter your details such as " wine preference? Answer: any" on your iPhone.

The food chosen was again slightly complicated as the sharing platters aren't exactly designed for four hungry people rather for two adults and another friend who has probably had their tea. We went for another top up starter and that seems to be ok although a confusion for the bill later.

All very pleasant and the main course involving steaks and lamb all very nice, filling and well cooked. Double cooked chips really nice although the extra sauces of the stake were neither what we ordered and strangly appeared in a small pot requiring spreading rather than pouring.

All these are small critisisms however as we were looked after so well and enjoyed our subsidised wine so much we could feel our shoulders shrugging in mutual satisfaction any time something seemed to fall down a little.

The final bill caused a little confusion as the discounts for not having something, and the wine reductions provided a bill that needed a little alteration before happily paying around £35 per head for a really nice time.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank AAPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Scallops to die for”
Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

There were 6 in our party, we arrived at 8.00pm and were seated promptly. The only off putting thing was the group of kitchen staff stood outside smoking when we arrived. The waiting staff were friendly and attentive. The lamb carpaccio was a revelation, the apple and mint accompaniment set it of beautifully. The rest of our party went for the sardines, which were pronounced to be delicious and served upon rustic bread, toasted.

I chose the scallop of the day as a main, these turned out to be the selection of the night, the scallops were large, well cooked, served unusually in a light tandoori batter, served with an Asian style salad. Delicious. Other party members chose the welsh sea bass fillets, which were pronounced delicious.


Unfortunately too full for dessert, but would call back if in the area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teakside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“waiting for godot”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Lunchtime today, going home, where to stop for a light meal? The Prince of Wales, says I, it's on the way. No, says hubby, remember last time. And the time before that. Oh yes, wait an age for anything and have to buy more drink. Maybe it's different now, says I. Let's give it a last chance.

In we went and sat down at about 12.40. Not busy. Drinks came. Menu came. Ordered simple dishes to try to avoid our past experiences. Waited. Other customers waiting too. Finished first drink and still waiting. Can see a plate of food sitting on worktop getting cold and not being delivered to its owners. Not one of ours. No sign of ours after 50 minutes. One of the chefs and one of the waitresses pushing order slips back and forth to each other over the counter like a game.

Hubby got up and asked to pay for drinks and forget the food. It's just coming. No it aint. Chef appeared and said something about the computerised order had run out of till roll and missed us out. Well it looked like it had missed a few other people out too because there were others looking around for their food too.

The manageress offered to let us have the drinks for free but that wasn't what we had gone in for. We had gone in for a relaxing lunch and we came out angry and hungry. We dropped a tenner on the counter and didn't wait for change - how long might that have taken I wonder.

It's a real shame as if you can get your hands on the food it 's good. Or it used to be. I can't really say how it is now, can I?

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mybetterhalf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Prince of Wales also viewed

Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Prince of Wales? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing