We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful Cottage fabulous location”

Review of Blackberry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crofts201...
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and young child stayed here for 3 weeks when we travelled back from Australia to get married in Derbyshire. The cottage really is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures. It is furnished simply but elegantly with everything you may need. The views are of typical English country side as it is set in the middle of the valley. We had pheasants and birds visit us in the garden and felt it was safe enough for our 3 year old to explore.
We had a small problem with the washing machine but as the owners live next door it was soon resolved and they even gave us access to their laundry whilst the issue was fixed.
I would say it is ideal for a couple, or a couple with one child.
Note, the ceiling in the kitchen is quite low but unless you are over 6ft 4 this shouldn't be an issue.
Highly recommended and would stay again on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbu...
Mere
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for three nights, a couple and our two adult sons. We understood that things would be tight for four of us but we managed well. Great being 10 minutes from Sheffield and close to the Peak District too. We ate outside using the Webber barbecue, lovely views and walks nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanC007
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cracking view”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at the cottage in may 2013. Was a great quite location. The views from the back are stunning. Rob and his wife jo were very helpful. You need a car to get around but the cottage is only a few minutes from busy Hillsborough the tram and all the shops. Great rooms and very cosy beats staying in a hotel. All the facilities of home.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin N
Oxford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Great Base for Exploring the Peak District”
Reviewed 2 December 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed in Blackberry Cottage for three nights as part of a Peak District vacation; I remained a few more nights to attend a conference in Sheffield. We had a wonderful experience staying in this clean, beautifully renovated, and well-equipped cottage. Rob was lovely to work with in setting up our stay and very kindly refunded us some of our tariff when some work had to be done in the house during our stay.

This cottage is beautifully situated on a quiet country lane and looks out over the Rivelin Valley. The Rivelin itself has great walking paths and can be reached by walking down one of the nearby footpaths. There's a Cooperative Food store up the hill in the nearby suburb of Stannington, about a twenty-minute walk away.

Transit connections in the area aren't great, so a car is recommended; however, we did take a local bus to and from Peveril Castle from the bus stop on the Manchester Road.

If you would like to see the Peak District or visit Sheffield, I highly recommend Blackberry Cottage.

P.S. If you are tall, watch your head while in the kitchen and pantry. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The period features; the view across the valley
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Dec 2012
Thanks for your review Erin, really pleased you enjoyed your stay.
And! You're the first person to do a review for Blackberry Cottage
Hope you can stay another time,

Rob & Jo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$101
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing