We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely holiday cottage”

Review of Blackberry Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Sheffield, South Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Maps62526...
1 review
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed 20 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

This is a great cottage and the location is perfect for exploring the Peak District and also near enough to easily visit Sheffield city centre. A really great city.
We have family living in the area and it makes a great base to visit them and also have time to relax in the very comfortable cottage. Thanks Rob.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
3
people found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Condition and attention to detail by owners to property. Responsiveness of owners to complaints
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Scotslass...
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabby Cottage with priceless views”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Blackberry Cottage was as lovely as we hoped it would be - with plenty character and all the mod cons you need to have a very relaxing holiday. Waking up to a stunning view across the valley each morning and a cow mooing was exactly what we needed - we will be back:)

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noriko B
Greater Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Being able to see the beautiful pastures and trees with varying shades of green was a real treat for a family from Sydney, Austr”
Reviewed 23 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The opportunity to stay in such a lovely cottage with great views was a real pleasure. We would love to go back one day.
Make sure the owner gives you exact details about the location of the cottage though. We followed google map which showed us that we were at the cottage but there was no sign which said Blackberry Cottage. There are four units in the building which we didn't know in advance and no way to tell which one we were supposed to be in. We phoned the owner but couldn't get in touch for a couple of hours which wasn't pleasant especially as the weather wasn't the best.
I was a bit annoyed that there was no dish washing liquid or toilet paper. Other holiday units we've stayed in have at least one roll of toilet paper and a small amount of dish liquid to get you started.

It was an idyllic place for a relaxed holiday though.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crofts201...
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Cottage fabulous location”
Reviewed 7 February 2014 for a stay in May 2013

My wife and young child stayed here for 3 weeks when we travelled back from Australia to get married in Derbyshire. The cottage really is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures. It is furnished simply but elegantly with everything you may need. The views are of typical English country side as it is set in the middle of the valley. We had pheasants and birds visit us in the garden and felt it was safe enough for our 3 year old to explore.
We had a small problem with the washing machine but as the owners live next door it was soon resolved and they even gave us access to their laundry whilst the issue was fixed.
I would say it is ideal for a couple, or a couple with one child.
Note, the ceiling in the kitchen is quite low but unless you are over 6ft 4 this shouldn't be an issue.
Highly recommended and would stay again on our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailGarbu...
Mere
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great little cottage”
Reviewed 30 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We stayed here for three nights, a couple and our two adult sons. We understood that things would be tight for four of us but we managed well. Great being 10 minutes from Sheffield and close to the Peak District too. We ate outside using the Webber barbecue, lovely views and walks nearby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlanC007
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking view”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

we stayed at the cottage in may 2013. Was a great quite location. The views from the back are stunning. Rob and his wife jo were very helpful. You need a car to get around but the cottage is only a few minutes from busy Hillsborough the tram and all the shops. Great rooms and very cosy beats staying in a hotel. All the facilities of home.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing